Revlon • ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick in Iconic Iris • Lipstick

rated 3.6(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 spark1004 on 1/5/2014 7:34:00 AM more reviews by spark1004

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

beautiful color. very everyday mlbb wearable color. lasts and lasts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 veelui on 9/22/2013 7:52:00 PM more reviews by veelui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i love the the color, its so close to natural lip shade. theres not too much shimmer, which i like. it stays on for a really long time, somewhat sticky and a bit dry, but lip balm underneath takes care of it for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rebsays on 2/4/2013 12:45:00 AM more reviews by rebsays

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So dissapointed in this product. It goes on OK, but immediately dries lips out. They started out fine, and ended up cracked and lined. Worse than any lipstick or stain I've ever tried. Will not repurchase.
Nice colour, though...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gaijin on 11/3/2012 1:44:00 AM more reviews by Gaijin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This color is absolutely gorgeous on, however his dries the heck out of my lips and I don't like the dry finish. Even with balm or moisturizing gloss, it's just zaps the moisture from my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monicaandree on 8/14/2012 9:53:00 PM more reviews by monicaandree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this lipstick! This shade is a cool toned, plummy mauve with slight shimmer (though not frosty). I think the main reason I love it is because I blend it with my HG lipliner (Rimmel 1000 kisses in coffee bean), and the resulting shade is a deep, neutral to cool toned berry-nude that is flattering, subtle, office appropriate, and lasts all day. I put it on in the morning, have a cup of coffee, eat lunch, and drink from a water bottle all day and it does.not.budge. I don't think I would like it on its own without liner, as it is barely deeper than the natural shade of my lips. I think that's where a lot of the hate comes from - ladies who neglect to use this with lipliner, which imo is required in order to define the lip and look natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 littleann818 on 5/11/2012 7:03:00 PM more reviews by littleann818

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't prefer this lipstick as much. I have very dry lips and the colorstay formula for some reason just tends to dry out my lips even more (even when I put chapstick on first and then apply this lipstick). The color of the lipstick itself is very matte, which I do like. However, I just cannot wear this lipstick since it dries out my lips so much. If you tend to have dry/chapped lips, I would not recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sekhmet2003 on 12/6/2011 3:52:00 PM more reviews by sekhmet2003

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the second Revlon Liquid Lipstick I've purchased. It's definitely pink, but a much more autumn than spring pink. This is my new daily colour, with chapstick on top.

How I put it on to make it last is this:

1) Buff your lips a bit. I rub mine gently on a towel, just to remove any moisture and flaky skin.
2) Apply a SMALL amount to the middle of your bottom lip, and use your finger to smudge it all over. There shouldn't be any extra product. If I use too much, or apply it like a gloss, it will flake off and I'll get a bad ring around my lips.
3) Let it dry for a good 5 minutes. It'll feel tight and sticky, but just let it set.
4) After it's totally dry, put a good moisturizing lip balm on top.
5) Be careful with oily food. Oil will make the lipstick come off quicker.

This works for the same for a bright red Liquid Lipstick as well. If I want a more defined look, I'll put a real lipstick over this stain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aubel on 11/22/2011 9:33:00 PM more reviews by aubel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This color is to die for!! I have been searching and searching (and searching) for a color like this. I've tried so many lipsticks and this is the perfect pink with mauve undertones. In addition, I've been having problems with lipstick feathering on me and this one doesn't!! The lipstick also has great wear-time...it stays on for hours. The lipstick dries quickly but you do have enough time to work with it. I put it on and then put my lip liner on and it dries with the lipstick and stays on too. After about 3 minutes it is a little tacky and within 5 or so minutes it is dry. The first day I used it my lips felt dried out by the end of the day so I started putting a gloss or clear lip balm on once it dried and haven't had a problem with it since. It's perfect...I finally found what I was looking for so please don't discontinue it!!! :o)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 caitlinmccauley on 6/28/2010 8:40:00 AM more reviews by caitlinmccauley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

GREAT color, first of all! Absolutley a MLBB for me. I am still trying to decide how much I like the formula though. I would absolutely repurchase because of how great the color is, but I think I just need to get used to the longwearing formula. It is not creamy, and almost feels like bare lips once it has dried.
The color is a soft pinky/mauve that is cool. It is more purplish in the tube than on my lips, but has a night shimmer highlight to make your lips extra pouty. Got to love that. Perfect color overall.
Will repurchase for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syeung2 on 1/28/2010 10:36:00 PM more reviews by syeung2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Color - Dusty mauve-pink with lilac undertones and subtle shimmer. Neutral to cool toned. A very good everyday shade for me (AAB/NC25), just pink enough without being too girly. Gives me a nice polished look; also good on days when I don't want to wear much makeup.


Product - The directions say to apply in a very thin layer, and practice confirms this is the best method. You can always add another layer if needed. The lipcolor provides very dense coverage, so you don't need much to get the proper color effect. It dries slowly so you have plenty of time to work with it, which I appreciate. It is a little tacky during the 5 minutes or so it takes to dry; later on, if you smoosh your lips together, it still feels slightly tacky (but no more so than with regular lipstick, IMO). However, to the touch (i.e., kissing, etc) the lips feel satiny-dry and smooth and definitely not tacky. No weird feel or taste when I lick my lips during the day. Dries to a satin finish and true to the color in the tube. Excellent staying power, with no change in coverage or texture. Lasts through meals, much to my excitement. Requires oil-based makeup remover or cleanser to remove. Best of all, it doesn't dry out my lips!


Product Comparisons - The two-step (color plus topcoat) systems like MF Lipfinity and CG Outlast did not work well for me: the lipcolor dried way too fast and made my lips dry and peel horribly. Plus I don't like to be bothered with carrying around and touching up with a special top coat all day long.


Packaging - The cylindrical tube is transparent so you can see the shade inside (a good thing) and the black screw-top houses a flocked doe-foot wand. The overall size is bigger, thicker than I would have preferred, but since I don't have to take this with me to reapply, this is moot. Personally I would also prefer a squared shape, just so it won't roll around on the counter :)


Overall - Love this product and this is a HG everyday mauve-pink shade for me. Retails for $10.99, but sometimes they are BOGOF.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products