Anastasia Of Beverly Hills • Brow Pen • Brows

rated 3.0(13 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Nerds99 on 8/3/2012 2:29:00 AM more reviews by Nerds99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

As far as the universal shade goes...meh. I like the felt-tip, and the fact that the pen is easily carried around for touchups. However, I don't like that I needed to carry it around for touchups; brow products should not wear off the face. Brows are on the forehead, which means they're in a spot that tends to get oily, and should have some ingredient that gives it staying power. This products wore off if I started to sweat, had an "oily" day, or stayed up past 8 PM. Also, I noticed that there were times that, no matter what I did, I couldn't get it to "go" on certain spots on my brows, even when I layered it on. If I had any moisturizer even close to my brows, it was a bit more work to get it to work. However, my biggest complaint is that is actually turned a grayish-green on me! That is something that is just not acceptable, people. Who wants green brows? Not me. I recently purchased the MAC eyebrow pen and the color is a little better for me, but it contains bismuth oxychloride, which I am very sensitive to. I deal with it, because it's the only other eyebrow pen I can find. If I saw the Anastasia pen in the dark shade, I'd give it a try and see if it worked out better, color-wise, for me, and I'd be ecstatic if it did...but the universal shade? Nope, never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scs2dd on 2/27/2012 2:24:00 PM more reviews by scs2dd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a godsend for sparse brows. What makes this so great is that the pen tip is fine enough to make individual hair marks; with a little bit of artistry, you can't tell the difference between the pen and the actual brow even at very close range, and I have quite a lot of filling-in and drawing-out to do. It definitely wears longer than a pencil or powder, but the description doesn't promise it to be waterproof, just a heads up. Both the Universal Light and Universal Deep shades have a slight red cast with the Light being more red, so that's what I use to complement my hair. Unfortunately, neither shade works for extremely dark brown/black brows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 FAERYCHIC on 7/31/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by FAERYCHIC

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to like this product. I purchased the product in universal light and find that it is too red for my ash blonde hair. I also tried the universal dark at the stored as it was the only sample they had and found it was too red as well. Besides the color being off it does not apply well if you have any type of moisturizer/makeup around your eyebrow area. I will go back to using my Anastasia brow powder to fill in my sparse brows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Soo on 11/12/2010 7:25:00 PM more reviews by Soo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this pen because it seemed like a good idea. And it would work ok if you use it on dry skin like when you try it on the back of your hand in the store. It will barely make a mark if you have any moisturizer on your face, or my my case, tinted moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alexikiss on 7/19/2010 9:21:00 AM more reviews by alexikiss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is alright. If your brows are full, yet sparse, it's much better to use this brown pen than a powder or a regular eyebrow pencil. Found myself getting carried away with those over the years and I would have unnatural, too-dark, too-groomed brows. The brow pen lets you naturally fill in hairs. I use it at the end of my eyebrows to make them trail off in the way that I desire. It always looks natural, like I didn't even do anything to accentuate my brows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missthing303 on 4/12/2010 5:04:00 AM more reviews by missthing303

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love the concept of this product. While it is ok, it needs improving. That said I still use it often, though not all the time.
I have it in Universal Dark which is not nearly dark enough and is kind of reddish brown at best. A true dark or even medium BROWN would be what they should be giving us. I know they say you should go one shade lighter than your hair with your brows, but my hair is dark brown, and reddish brown is not one shade lighter, it's one shade REDDER.
The colors need to be improved. If I mix with a darker pencil applied lightly it looks fine though and does not smudge so I can live with that.
Fills in sparse brows nicely with fine-tipped felt-maker type precision. I found that once applied it does last all day and is pretty waterproof. It even stains the skin slightly, but not in a useful way. More like a shadow of what was there remains and is hard to get off.
I've had about 3 months and it has not dried out so it's lasted longer than I thought.
UPDATE
I DID notice that it changes color depending on what moisturizer I wear on my face. When I wear Cerave PM it turns PURPLE. Seriously grape juice purple and if I wear Avene Diacneal it turns DARK GREEN so this has switched me back to pencil. If they could improve the color situation it would be a great little product. Maybe it's gone "off" after 4 months but still...not cool. I might get a new one to see if it still happens. Will update with results

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aimeerose on 3/29/2010 4:49:00 PM more reviews by Aimeerose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I like this brow pen. Its like a sharpie for your eyebrows. I purchased the universal deep color to go with my medium brown skin and black hair and I agree with the other reviewers, that a "universal" color is not for everyone. At first the pen seemed to work just right and looked totally natural. But now the color tends to look a tad bit reddish on my eyebrows.

Overall, I'm not unhappy with the product and its lasting longer than I expected it to (3 months &counting), I thought it would have dried up by now.
I would probably keep buying it until I find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tagg on 8/2/2009 2:46:00 PM more reviews by tagg

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't understand why a cosmetics company, which should have a basic understanding of colours, insists that orange is a "universal" colour. Even he Universal Dark, which it says is for black or dark brown brows, is too orange.

That said, the IDEA of this product is great. It's easy to apply and if the colours were better, it would look very natural.

Don't wear it in the rain, or you'll get orange rivulets running down your face.

IF they improve the colours and make it more waterproof, I'd buy it again because I do like the ease of application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debabailey on 7/27/2009 3:59:00 PM more reviews by debabailey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Two problems: 1) the "universal" color is actually orange, and 2) the brush tip, while slim, is not stiff enough to deliver the product without pressing down so hard that you inevitably end up with a fat line/lines instead of brow "feathers." I even tried sticking a straight pin in all the way to shore up the tip, but that created it's own problems. Would not buy again ... have found a better product, Paula's Choice brow pen offers two shades (neither of them orange) and with a more functional tip. Long live brow pens! I think the Anastasia offering was the first ever; it's a grand idea, a great tool, and I hope it continues to be perfected.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ValleyGirl on 7/18/2009 3:51:00 PM more reviews by ValleyGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

While I found it to have great staying power, the "natural" shade was entirely too orange. It would probably be lovely on a very warm toned redhead, but I really need to stick with very ashy tones on my brows.

Why are ashy, cool tones SO hard to find in brow products? I'll stick with my Shu hard pencil in Seal Brown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Anastasia Of Beverly Hills products

More Brows products