Olay • Regenerist UV Defense Regenerating Lotion SPF 50 • Moisturizers

rated 2.9(37 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ssullivan173 on 3/24/2014 1:20:00 PM more reviews by ssullivan173

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This isn't a moisturizing cream, its a sunscreen with a lotion texture & skincare benefits! it is designed to be used when you need a high SPF (ie: when its summer and our skin is more oily). the "greasy" texture people mentioned is caused by the high spf & you'll be hard pressed to find a product that doesn't have some level of that, but this product is comparitively minimal with those side effects. also, anyone saying the fragrence is causing irritation, that is possible but it is MUCH more likely your experiencing sensitivity to the chemical sunscreen which is common even in unfragrenced products. be careful around eyes or switch to a mineral/physical sunscreen!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ClaireF24 on 4/10/2013 5:37:00 PM more reviews by ClaireF24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I used the entire pump and thought about re-buying it because it has such a high SPF. But then I realized that there is almost nothing I like about it's texture or finish or fragrance or what it does for my skin.

This, although high in SPF, is a very oily moisturizer that doesn't play well with my foundations and other skin care products. It is highly fragranced, so much so, it burns my skin and eyes. I really didn't like it AT ALL the entire time I was using it, but I stuck with it because I wanted a higher SPF. Not a re-purchase, and I only gave it an extra lippie for the SPF 50, which I think more companies should go for. Good try Olay, better luck next time!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CamiBell on 2/2/2013 12:13:00 AM more reviews by CamiBell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product not only makes my face feel like it's burning, but it also alters the wear of my foundation. I personally find the scent to be inoffensive, which matches how ineffective the product is. Please believe me when I say that there is no amount of primer or powder that will offset the oily appearance that this gives you, and I'm saying that after trying everything in my arsenal. This provides barely enough moisture, and you need to use quite a bit to cover your entire face. I have normal, clear skin, and for some reason this brings out redness in it that I didn't even know existed, yet ceases to exist when I don't use this. I wanted to like this so much, but for the price and quality, I just can't justify it. I can't wait until it's gone, which hopefully will be soon.


Also, I wholeheartedly agree with the reviewer that said this is more like a serum than a lotion - there are virtually no moisturizing qualities akin to lotion and if you are even remotely sensitive to high SPF, you're in for a nightmarish experience with this,


UPDATE: I just put this in storage because I couldn't take it anymore - I tried using it up because it was expensive, but it just felt too bad on my skin. I switched to MAC Mineralized Charged Water Moisture Gel, and it is absolutely phenomenal. Don't waste your money or your skin cells with this crap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cboylove on 10/19/2012 5:07:00 PM more reviews by cboylove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Peptides, antioxidants, SPF 50, niacin, and a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blackberrygal on 10/12/2012 3:26:00 AM more reviews by blackberrygal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is not a good product. I have combo oily skin and although this does not feel too greasy, it makes my skin itch and I have more redness. I guess this is not suitable for sensitive skin. I also feel my skin peels with this moisturizer alone. Since it is somewhat on the pricier side I have decided to use it up by mixing it with another moisturizer such as my body shop aloe soothing lotion SPF 15. Now I do not get any redness or itchiness but I would never repurchase this product. Also I bought it on the recommendation of Paula begoun but I guess this does not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 madamemaquillage on 7/17/2012 10:44:00 AM more reviews by madamemaquillage

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ugh, the smell of this stuff is simply a deal-breaker for me. It is so strong, and it lingers for hours on my skin and for even longer on my clothes. It's too bad because the lotion is pretty good stuff, though it does occasionally burn my face. Olay also tests on animals, which only adds to my disgust with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 meliae on 4/26/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by meliae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for 2 days in place of my normal SPF, with no other change to my routine. It made me break out with tiny whiteheads all over my face and neck, and blotchy bumps all over. Normally my skin in clear, so I'm sure it's this. I've never had this kind of reaction to any product before, silicones, or fragrances, so I'm not sure what it is about this that causes the problems.

In addition, the product itself has a strong smell, and it balls up and sloughs off your skin super easily if you touch your skin or try to apply anything on top.

Total fail for Olay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 4/22/2012 3:25:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this based on the recommendation of Paula Begoun as I was looking for a high SPF moisturizer that contained beneficial ingredients for my skin. This one fit the bill and I eagerly purchased it. Unfortunately this doesn`t work for my combination skin as I find it too emollient and kind of greasy. I find as the day progresses my makeup starts to look and feel gross and oily, even on the drier areas of my face. I tried using this in conjunction with different primers and foundations, but always had the same results. I even thought this could be an option as an eye cream, but just made my concealer crease and fade horribly. I plan on using this product up as a moisturizer for my neck and chest, but not intentions of repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sharee20 on 4/17/2012 6:43:00 PM more reviews by sharee20

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

love love love this stuff, been using it over an year, doesnt break me out, great ingredients for my skin and has spf 50, very light and thin, easy to blend, doesnt make my makeup run or crease, excellent product

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 allyson85 on 1/15/2012 10:33:00 PM more reviews by allyson85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this moisturizer after I read all the great reviews on it and some of my friends were using it and loved it. I purchased both the spf 50 and spf 15 I don't like to put on extra sunscreen because I have oily skin so I figured what the hey might as well go for the gusto and get the spf 50. I hated it. The smell was way to overwhelming and it felt greasy on my skin.

I gave it to my Mom who really likes it. Since I purchased the spf 15 I decided to give it a try and I much prefer it. I find that it doesn't smell as strong and it isn't nearly as greasy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Moisturizers products