Kenzo • Ca Sent Beau • Fragrances

rated 4.1(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Lilybelle911 on 5/17/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Lilybelle911

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Oh dear, this really is a chemical blast, a well done one, actually, but I have a low tolerance for chemical blasts like this these days. :-( I took two small spritzes and my eyes are watering, I'm sneezing, and...scrub time. Other than that (lol!), I love the combination of bitter orange, white florals and slightly dirty animalic base. There must be a way to tone this down -- maybe by adding some to an oil carrier to dilute the overall effect. I think I'll try that before I give up. I love this citrus floral. I just can't wear it as is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 11/30/2012 2:35:00 AM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I do feel sorry that I am going to bring this one a few points down, but the point of reviewing on MUA is to tell "truth and nothing but the truth", and my truth about this scent is that it failed to work with my nose and my chemistry, and I am saying that after having used up 2 bottles: that's how much I wanted to like it! I absolutely love the bottle, and I was looking for such a long time for a crispy white/yellow/green summer scent that would make me feel like a nymph in an afternoon forest. Perhaps it all has to do with expectations set too high. I bought both bottles unsniffed because I had never ever disliked a Kenzo scent before - all of them appealed to me in different ways somehow. But the 1st sniff I took had me breaking into sweat: oh no, this has gone BAD! Or is it a fake?!! Or is it so old that I. living in a new century, simply don't get it? It was like a cologne-soaked elderly woman's undies! So chemical and so artificially pungent!! I, wanting to get my money#s worth out of it anyway, still wore it for month, starting each day with the thought:" Ok, maybe I will like it now" and being let down again and again. Since I was staying in the countryside that summer I didn't really care how I smelled, and wanted to wear basically anything that was more than just skinscent. Alas, I did end up with my own scent, because this perfume evaporated after half an hour and never, not once, did it leave a trail of ever being sprayed! The 2nd bottle I have used up as an air freshener: the angry acid did seem to eat up any bad smell around, so still grateful for that. I will repurchase a small sample of perfume/eau de perfume if I find it, because eau de toilette was money thrown out in the air, literally!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marypap on 1/12/2011 8:55:00 AM more reviews by marypap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love kenzo parfums!I love their floral,light scent.I also love this particular perfume,its smell,the packaging which has a flower on the top and the reasonable price!I have offered it as a gift and they also loved it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maggiequinn on 10/16/2010 3:22:00 PM more reviews by maggiequinn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

It does, as the name says, smell beautiful. The list of notes is long and includes magnolia, gardenia, tuberose, ylang-ylang, rose, jasmine, plum, peach, citrus fruits, cardamom, coriander, cedar, sandalwood, moss, musk and vanilla. It is difficult for me however to really detect any of them with maybe the exception of citrus fruits, woods and musk, because they are all perfectly blended into one beautiful totally unique abstract composition. Ca Sent Beau smells very synthetic but some reviewers actually value the fact that it does not pretend to be natural (Comme des Garcons successfully does synthetic abstract compositions either). But, for me here is the problem: as much as I adore the scent and love revisiting it to sample, I absolutely cannot wear it on a regular basis because all I can think of is: I am smelling chemicals! It is so synthetic that I just donít like having it on my skin. If you try it, let it develop, because the opening is quite sharp (I donít like it at all), all the beauty comes out when the fragrance settles. It lasts all day Ė there is definitely enough time to enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 7/11/2010 6:59:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Ca Sent Beau is the perfume that has taught me that fragrances tell stories. I can't even say that I readily love all the chapters, indeed the top notes are pretty difficult for me; but I have learnt what it means to be transported to some other places through this perfume. And the story it tells changes so much from the beginning to the end. To me, love starts when top notes start to fade and my nose witnesses one of the most impressive transformations in smell as I know it. Then there is a fairy tale drydown where everything floral is washed thru and thru with the rays of sun. The intense opening is almost too sweet, sultry and floral for me - 2 out of 4 times I find it almost cloying. I'm not a tuberose lover, neither do I like patchouli that much. These and the orange blossom make it a bit too heavy for me. Yet, give it ten minutes, things are tamed and balanced, and there is a chance to come across the most beautiful smell with an unmistakeable character. It reminds of ponds and heat, sunshine and shadows, and perhaps most importantly a friendly, adult innocence.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittyc on 7/8/2010 4:42:00 AM more reviews by kittyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really appreciate the review (below) by ca_sent_beau (great name!). When I fist tested Ca Sent Beau in a shop I too was a bit taken aback to find what is obviously a first rate fragrance being sold so cheaply, but perhaps I was a bit further in my perfume journey than ca_sent_beau because I had learned by then to trust my nose, and my nose told me it is beautiful.

No-one should be fooled by this fragrance being relatively inexpensive and not much commented upon. But it is very hard to describe, and a lot of people find it smells of nothing they have smelled before. I've seen it described as sweet but it doesn't seem sweet to me. But nor is it bitter or sour, or musty. Even to say it is dry is going too far, but I would describe it as 'airy'. Airy but not ethereal (see the problem!?). It has too much presence to be ethereal. I find it both intriguing and companionable (like a great friend). It is certainly the right fragrance for lingering in a cafe and watching the world go by!

And speaking of presence, I have the EDT (if there is an EDP I have not seen it) and one spritz lasts me ALL day, especially if it gets transferred to my clothes. Truly it is the best value for my perfume dollar that I have ever spent. I paid $AUD42 for it. I could have got it a bit cheaper online but with the over-the-counter purchase of Ca Sent Beau, I got another FB of fragrance as a GWP. It was a VERY happy day!

The bottle: 'a plug in night light from the dime store' is how Tania Sanchez has described it. Very apt. Still, I have a sneaking affection for it, funny little thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 estoyer on 7/2/2009 2:46:00 AM more reviews by estoyer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At the beginning of graduate school, a new fragrance seemed like an appropriate celebration of a new chapter in my life. Until then I stuck to thin, timid things when I wore fragrance at all, but I had a good idea of what I wanted. No overwhelming individual notes -- I did not want to smell like a lime or a sprig of lavender or the inside of a car. None of the ubiquitous fruity florals. Something sensible and self-assuredly feminine, without surrendering to stodgy pinstriped power suits.

It took some digging -- the shop girl was my own age and kept presenting me with fruity florals or, to shake things up a bit, floral fruits -- but Ca Sent Beau was just right. It smells like nothing else, and yes, it does smell beautiful.

I wear it only occasionally, school being what it is. Still, I can't imagine being without it. When I need to get off campus, get out of the apartment, and feel like a whole person again, Ca Sent Beau is always happy to accompany me out to the city. We can enjoy an elegant dinner or just linger in a coffee shop and watch cars go by -- it's an easy fragrance to love. Other perfumes have accumulated since then, and each of them is agreeable in its own way, but when the occasion calls for Ca Sent Beau -- and you will know when it does -- nothing else will do.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 4/23/2009 5:04:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The (perfume) world would be a lot better if Guerlain had not gone idiotically PC and reformulated Mitsouko. I wrote a terse letter to the company, and refuse to forgive them for tampering with such a masterpiece. Ca Sent Beau was one of the many, many fragrances I wore in the course of my life. I loved it. Just as long as they don't reformulate that, too! (rolleyes)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ca_sent_beau on 4/23/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by ca_sent_beau

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Years ago, before the boom of fragrance blogs I was wearing Kenzo's Ca Sent Beau exclusively. I had smelled it on a friend (not a very close one), had to ask her what it is and get a bottle myself. I have emptied several bottles of this and got countless compliments and questions regarding my fragrance - both from family/friends and complete strangers. They would always tell me that "it smells beautiful" and it was funny because "Ca sent beau" just means that.
When I discovered MUA and the fragrance blogs I dismissed my little unassuming Kenzo that I purchased cheaply at online discounters. I even gave my unused stock away. I was experimenting with all the greats and niche: Guerlain Mitsouko, L'Heure Bleue, Vol de Nuit, Chanel Bois des Isles, Cuir de Russie, Caron, Serge Lutens, Frederic Malle, Hermessence etc. I have actually purchased several full bottles of these along with countless decants (eBay had not banned decants yet) and have dropped easily several hundreds/thousands of dollars on fragrance (we're talking several Guerlain pure parfums). Yet never has anyone commented on my fragrance during all those years. I would think that people do not get it, that it is easier to appreciate a mainstream fragrance than a 80 year old classic.
Slowly, my obsession with fragrance grew week. Fragrance once again became a means of smelling nice rather than an artistic pursuit (by others, not by me) of the meaning of life. Most of my perfume collection got sold at eBay (got at least some of my frivolously spent money back) and I started wearing nothing at all (fragrance-wise). As a token of my old interest I still picked up Turin and Sanchez' book "Perfumes: The Guide" and there is my "Ca Sent Beau" rated a masterpiece along with the Guerlains and Chanels and Lutens and also Tommy Girl and others. It reads "Kenzo is trim, chic, and reminds you of nothing on earth" - exactly what I loved about it, that it smells beautiful without smelling of flowers or peaches or spices.
Anyway, I am not telling this to show off my good taste, but rather to emphasize my blindness. It is true that I felt somewhat flattered that my tastes were acknowledged, but then it was not only my taste, but also of all those people who complimented me. As such there is a similar capacity in everyone to appreciate openly accessible beauty. I cannot claim to be more capable then anyone else.
But even all this is besides the point. I should not even be referring to Turin and his book. I truly admire his knowledge and writing, but what matters at the end is my little nose and what I like. I am open to trying new fragrances and taking a few hints (from MUA and Turin and others) along the way, but what's the point in trying to like a fragrance that I cannot even stand because someone deems it a masterpiece (hello Tommy Girl). Or likewise, why should I stop using a fragrance that I have loved for years because I fear it does not measure up with the greats. Only now do I realize that the world would be worse, and not better, if everyone wore Mitsouko.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Kenzo products

More Fragrances products