Nubar • Diamont Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.9(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redeyelinerjunkie on 11/26/2012 6:40:00 PM more reviews by redeyelinerjunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an average topcoat -- and I mean the "good formula".



The consistency is very thick, even when brand-new, and that means two things: 1) you have to apply it with a heavy hand
and 2) it wells up at the edge of the nail, like any polish does when it's too thick

Also, it applies more like a regular nail polish than a smooth, self-leveling topcoat.



Application problems aside, the dry time isn't particularly impressive. Like most topcoats, it dries to the touch quickly but takes a few minutes to fully cure. It's not a bad topcoat, it's just not exceptional either.


I would recommend both Seche Vite AND Essie Good to Go over this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 8/18/2012 11:26:00 AM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I originally tried and then reviewed Diamont in late 2010. I heard that Diamont had been reformulated, which made complete sense because the Diamont I had was nothing close to the Diamont I had heard about. It was watery and did not ever dry. I finally threw out my Diamont after several disastrous manicures that never dried. I remember waking up with sheet marks all over my nails despite letting my manicure dry for 4 hours before I went to bed.


Fast forward to summer 2012 when I repurchased Diamont on hearing that it had been reformulated again. This time, Diamont was exactly what I thought it would be. If not for the bottle, I would have sworn it was Deborah Lippmann Addicted to Speed. It even smells like Addicted to Speed! Diamont is one of my favorite topcoats of all time now, although I don't use it exclusively. It dries super quick and shiny without any shrinkage. My only complaint is that it's a little too thick and I'm not always on the mood to work with such a thick topcoat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wtfiholly on 7/25/2012 11:42:00 PM more reviews by wtfiholly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have never, ever, bought a top coat that has ever done what it promised to do and this one has!!!
I have used it over my HG polish DL and it lasted me 5 days un-chipped. I got a new polish so I changed it. I used it over my Dior polish and it lasted just as long! It makes my polish shiney and bright! My natural nails look fantastic! It does not shrink even with dish washing, who would've thunk???
It's thick and I like that more than a thin top coat. it dries fast too! What a great combination!
I can only buy it online but that's ok, it's cheap even with the shipping. Nubar's polish remover is great too, so I'll get that if I need it too.
I am thrilled that this does not shrink so the tips of my nails stay covered and look good up until I take it off unless I do something to make my polish chip, then that's a different story.
It's worth the try on one's nails. I think it will give that other one a run for the money! LOL.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AndryaAndroid on 4/18/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by AndryaAndroid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm totally baffled that this could get negative reviews from anyone. Diamont is THE best topcoat I've ever used!
Seche Vite doesn't work for me; it did dry super quickly, but it gives me bad shrinkage and my manis just don't last with it.
So I gave Diamont a go and can't believe how crazy awesome it is. It's very shiny, but the amazing part is how FAST it makes my polish dry. The first nails I paint with it are dry to the touch by the time I'm done painting my last nails, and all of my nails are *completely* dry and set within about 15 minutes. Like, you could knock into something and they wouldn't dent dry. I always take the tip of my nail and press it slightly into the side of one of my nails to test how dry it is, and I'm always so impressed that no marks are left when I use the Diamont.
The other thing that totally rules about it is that my polish lasts SO long when I use it. No chips, up to the point that I get tired of the polish after several days and remove it.
For gritty glitters and such, I throw down a coat of Gelous followed by Diamont and it seriously gives me bulletproof manis.
My one and ONLY qualm with this is that I have to buy it online. I go through bottles of it *crazy* fast, so I hate to constantly be ordering and paying shipping, etc.. (An awesome NBer made me aware of the fact that they do sell giant refill bottles that are actually a huge value when you do the math, so one day I may order one of those.)
I've been trying different quick-dry top coats that I can purchase in person for ease - I'm currently trying Poshe and it doesn't give me shrinkage but does not dry nearly as fast as Diamont.
So Diamont is definitely my favorite, of all time, hands-down, I worship at its top coat throne.
If you're frustrated with Seche Vite or QDTCs in general, definitely get it!
I just really wish I didn't have to order online!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tinaesq on 4/18/2012 8:48:00 PM more reviews by tinaesq

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

after getting this freefrom my nubar order i tested it againts seche. this is far less headache and performs great. not quite as shiny but very smooth, not goopy, doesnt shrink any of my polishes (seche was an utter fail for shrinkage) and lasts far longer than my interest in my manicure color. (about a week before chipping at the cuticle)

no headaches in application, self leveling even after bumbping it on a water bottle, dries pretty quick, dry to touch in 5 minutes on two coats of polish, washed dishes with a rough sponge in 4 hours with no problems. no peeling no chipping until a week. my current manicure is 4 days old and my tips are still wrapped with color!

only drawback is that this isnt as accessible as other top coats.

after my frustrating attempts at trying to MAKE seche work for me, this was refreshingly easy to deal with. will definitely purchace again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanel277 on 11/14/2011 3:17:00 PM more reviews by chanel277

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent top coat. I like it ever better than seche vite. Actually has all the seche vite"s advantages which are fast drying time and maximum glossy shine but without any of its huge disadvantages which are: super thick consistency and shrinking. This has quite thin consistency applies easily and effortless leaving a high shine finish and dries literally in seconds . I like it a lot but Im not going to repurchase just because i like CND"s speadey better

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nordavind on 11/7/2011 1:33:00 PM more reviews by nordavind

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

In my eternal search of the perfect top coat I was very excited to find a free mini bottle of this one in an order I made that included several Nubar polishes. I really love Nubar so I was very optimistic, but it didnít live up to my expectations. Application was not as smooth as I thought it would be. Maybe the brush of the full size polish is better, but the one I have is too small and scratchy. It drags the polish underneath very easily, so it is important to pack the brush with product to avoid brush strokes. The finish is shiny but gets dull the next day (I experience the same problem with Seche Vite). It doesn't chip easily and there is no shrinkage at all.

I know this top coat is not specifically marketed as fast drying, but I was hoping for a good surprise since other reviewers raved about the short drying time. It performs better than basic top coats (like OPI TC for instance), but it is not that good. Yes, it is dry to the touch after 5 minutes, but the layers underneath stays wet for quite a long time. I dented both thumb nails half an hour after application when I tied the button of my pants, and at the end of the day my nails were covered with light scratches on the surface.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 11/5/2011 3:07:00 PM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nubar's Diamont is a quick-dry top coat along the lines of Seche Vite and Poshe (in theory only!) This is suposed to dry your mani in a matter of minutes to a rock-hard finish. However, 1 hour later and this was still tacky. And to make matters worse, it bubbled on every nail. I have used this t/c for two different manis at different times of the year, in different weather (humid and not) and ended up with the same results both times. I've tried regular drugstore topcoats that dry quicker than this product and do not bubble. Therefore, this one gets two thumbs way down (if I could give this 0 lippies I would)and I will not be buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sensen on 8/14/2011 12:51:00 PM more reviews by sensen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got the Nubar Diamont Topcoat as part of a set before I read any of the bad reviews. I'm not sure what the formulation of it was before, but in any case it is the best topcoat I have. I have so far tried it over Nubar, Zoya, and Sinful Colors polishes, and it dries really quickly and leaves a nice glossy shine. I'm not sure how much it extends the wear time of a polish, since most polishes last a long time on my nails even without top coat, but I love how quickly I can get back to doing things after using this: I put it on, wait about five minutes, and get on with my life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JabberwockJess on 7/27/2011 9:46:00 AM more reviews by JabberwockJess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

There has been a lot of talk going round about how this product is no good since they changed the formula - I just want to confirm that they HAVE changed it back and this is EASILY the best topcoat I have used. This is pretty much HG for me and I am already considering buying several backups even though I've only used it a few times! This tc dries incredibly fast - to-the-touch in less than a minute, and safe to do light work with your hands after five.

Also this tc is thick and glossy and leaves my mani looking incredibly shiny. It seems to be self-settling meaning it's great over glitters; I swatched I Lily Love You and two coats of Diamont left it smooth to the touch.

If you can get hold of the good formula (and it shouldn't be too hard now I hope) this topcoat is spectacular. I recommend feelunique.com for UK/EU buyers (not affiliated) as they will replace any bad formula bottles with good and they are wonderfully priced too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nubar products

More Top/Base Coats products