Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof

3.7

507 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, cera microcristallina/microcrystalline wax, cera alba/beeswax, c8-9 isoparaffin, disteardimonium hectorite, cera carnauba/carnauba wax, aqua/water, propylene carbonate, allyl stearate/va copolymer, lecithin, silica, sodium polymethacrylate, hydrogenated jojoba oil, phenoxyethonal, peg/ppg-17/18 dimethicone, ethylenediamine/stearyl dimer dilinoleate copolymer, ethylparaben, polyvinyl laurate, polyquaternium-10, souluble collagen, pathenol, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, methylparaben, butylparaben, oryza sativa starch/rice starch. [ /- may contain: ci 77499, ci 77492, ci 77491/iron oxides. ci 77007/ultramarines, ci77891/titanium dioxide, ci 77288/chromium oxide greens, ci77289/chromium hydroxide green, ci 77742/ maganese violet, ci 77510/ferric ferrocyanide, mica] F.I.L. d34889/1 U.S. patents: 5,462, 798; 6,099,183; 6,222,735; 6,296,411; 6,305,862; 6,309,123; 6,325,562; 6,331,086; 6,345,923


on 7/23/2015 6:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This was very dry and it took a lot of brushing to get much on. I usually like natural brushes but this one didn't apply the product well. Not much volume, flakes a little, perfumed product irritates my eyes. On the plus side it holds a slight curl and is waterproof.



on 7/5/2015 9:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

My lashes are straight, even kind of pointing down, but otherwise pretty average. They're not thick and they're not very long. Even with a lash curler, it's a pain to get them to curl and stay that way, so I'm constantly on the hunt for my HG mascara.

That said, this isn't my HG, but it's pretty great and definitely one I might purchase again. Next time, I'll probably try the regular instead of waterproof, though, because waterproof mascaras dry out my lashes horribly.

This mascara could sometimes make my lashes curl without me curling them first, it held a curl most of the day when I did curl them, it added a ton of volume and quite a bit of length. And the product wasn't too wet or dry.

As for being waterproof, I've only been in the rain and humidity with it on, but it held up very well. I tend to get some flaking after a few hours, but not too bad. It dries pretty quickly, but it doesn't feel super dry and flaky like a lot of waterproofs do. It has an almost tacky feel, even at the end of the day, but I never had any smudging unless I squeezed my eyes shut too hard right after applying (I use a makeup setting spray and did that a couple of times)

I've heard it compared to Badgal, and I almost agree. It's probably the closest drugstore dupe you'll find. Badgal (for me) held a curl better and clumped less, but I had no serious clumping issues with this one. Just be careful with more than one coat because two seems to be it's maximum, and if you try to add it too quickly or too slowly, you might get clumped lashes.


on 6/25/2015 10:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this mascara in hopes that I could have nice, plump lashes and that I wouldn't look like a raccoon after having watery eyes & being out in the heat & humidity. Well, it completely failed. It took forever to build any volume or length and after a few hours, it started coming off onto my eyelids without me rubbing my eyes or anything. This stuff was a major disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2015 10:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Not even remotely waterproof. It went on gunky and sticky and stayed that way. I had smears all over my undereye area after a few hours, and I didn't even have to use remover to wipe this off my lashes (NOT good if a mascara claims water-resistance). Additionally, this really made my eyes itch, not a good thing if part of my eye makeup is smeary and sticky - it was maddening not to be able to rub my eye. Also, I personally found the wand too big to be easy to use.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this. It gives volume to my lashes as said on the packaging. If you want lengthening go with the falsies !


on 4/12/2015 1:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Not going to lie, this mascara is a daily must for me. My eyelashes are completely clear and I look super tired without any mascara on (or so I'm told). I do not leave the house without it. I have used Too Faced, UD, Dior, and various drugstore brands over the last 10 years and I have used this almost exclusively for about 5 years.

Before I offend any die-hard high-end mascara fans, let me put my opinion in perspective: after 3 months you have to throw away your mascara. Sorry folks, its a painful truth. I'm a nurse, I've seen the eye problems that can come with trying to get every last drop of mascara in that $40 tube you feel like you JUST bought. With that in mind, this little $6 tube may be your new best friend.

I'm blonde and wear mostly browns over harsh blacks, so I wear this color in brown. I use both waterproof and regular and I prefer regular. It layers very nicely, not too thick, not too thin. It doesn't get too cake-y around the tips, it has a nice natural tapered look... unless you keep the tube too long. After two months the product gets thicker and dries a little more unevenly. I tend to apply this in 3 coats spaced 30 seconds apart. A tip I swear by is holding the wand gently at the base of your lashes, almost touching the lid, and gently rocking the wand in a left to right fashion 4 or 5 times before extending the wand up the last to the tip. This provides a very nice base, your lashes with be spaced nicely apart. It is not tacky or sticky the way most high-end mascaras are, like Too Faced mascaras.

You can find this product almost anywhere, from CVS to Target to Ulta. That is one of the reasons I love it- its no big deal if I run out, I don't have to go to a specialty store or order it online. I can grab it at my local supermarket or pharmacy.

Try it, its only $6, $7 max and goes a surprisingly long way. See?


0
Full Size Image




In this pic I am wearing UD Naked 1 and a light application of Anastasia Brow Duo powder in Ash Blonde.

Pros:
-Super cheap
-Easy to find
-Easy to layer
-Not sticky, eyelashes won't clump together

Cons:
-Product gets thicker with usage as eyeshadow coats the brush
-Can flake off over the course of a few hours, not noticeable to anyone but you


on 3/31/2015 11:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A comme ci comme ša mascara. I have yet to be wowed by a mascara. This did the job, but is pretty forgettable.

The waterproof formula helped to keep my eyelashes curled throughout the day.

I liked the standard-style application brush. It was easy to apply without clumping.

Not a huge fan of the packaging style aesthetically.

Won't repurchase - too many mascara fish in the sea to return to this one.


on 3/30/2015 10:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

So far so good! This mascara applies really easily. Just a couple swipes and I'm good to go. No clumping and the wand dispenses enough product to not look too fake or heavy. I can't comment on it being waterproof until I go on holidays, but judging by how hard it was to wash off I think it should work well in humid weather and maybe swimming. For the price I will repurchase!


on 2/24/2015 12:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One of the very best mascaras I've found so far. I use this on a daily basis and although it's not HG status, it's the best drugstore mascara I have found that will hold a curl + give me full volume; it's like having false lashes! The only downside to this for me is that it smears/smudges at the bottom of my eyes (underneath my bottom lashes) by the end of the day and does flake a bit. If it weren't for those issues, this mascara would be flawless. Ive been through various brands/models of mascara and I still can't find a mascara that can hold my curl and give me this much volume aside from the colossal. I definitely recommend it and have repurchased multiple times. And although it smudges at the end of the day, it is cry-proof.


on 2/5/2015 12:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

NOT a good waterproof. Made my eyelashes tangle and get clumpy.


Back to Top