Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof

3.7

499 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, cera microcristallina/microcrystalline wax, cera alba/beeswax, c8-9 isoparaffin, disteardimonium hectorite, cera carnauba/carnauba wax, aqua/water, propylene carbonate, allyl stearate/va copolymer, lecithin, silica, sodium polymethacrylate, hydrogenated jojoba oil, phenoxyethonal, peg/ppg-17/18 dimethicone, ethylenediamine/stearyl dimer dilinoleate copolymer, ethylparaben, polyvinyl laurate, polyquaternium-10, souluble collagen, pathenol, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, methylparaben, butylparaben, oryza sativa starch/rice starch. [ /- may contain: ci 77499, ci 77492, ci 77491/iron oxides. ci 77007/ultramarines, ci77891/titanium dioxide, ci 77288/chromium oxide greens, ci77289/chromium hydroxide green, ci 77742/ maganese violet, ci 77510/ferric ferrocyanide, mica] F.I.L. d34889/1 U.S. patents: 5,462, 798; 6,099,183; 6,222,735; 6,296,411; 6,305,862; 6,309,123; 6,325,562; 6,331,086; 6,345,923


on 2/24/2015 12:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One of the very best mascaras I've found so far. I use this on a daily basis and although it's not HG status, it's the best drugstore mascara I have found that will hold a curl + give me full volume; it's like having false lashes! The only downside to this for me is that it smears/smudges at the bottom of my eyes (underneath my bottom lashes) by the end of the day and does flake a bit. If it weren't for those issues, this mascara would be flawless. Ive been through various brands/models of mascara and I still can't find a mascara that can hold my curl and give me this much volume aside from the colossal. I definitely recommend it and have repurchased multiple times. And although it smudges at the end of the day, it is cry-proof.



on 2/5/2015 12:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

NOT a good waterproof. Made my eyelashes tangle and get clumpy.


on 1/23/2015 11:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got this on sale for five dollars which is a steal for any mascara and the packaging is cute and with the bright pink colour I know i'll never lose it. The problem I had with this is that when I first bought it I loved it, the formula was great and it worked really well but after two weeks it dried out so much and becomes almost unusable for me (and I use my mascara properly, definitely no pumping) and for this reason I would not repurchase.


on 1/13/2015 10:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've tried so many (waterproof) mascaras over the last few years, but this is one of the few I've actually repurchased a couple of times. I tend to go back to it when I want to spend my money on a mascara that I know works for me, but I'm still on the hunt for the perfect mascara.

So my lashes are not super long, nor short. Just average. I do have Loads of lashes though, but they're almost pin staight so I always curl them before I apply mascara. My straight lashes is one of the reasons why I always choose Waterproof, - it tends to hold the curl better. Also I want my mascara to stay put in daily situations like rain or humidity.

The good things about this mascara is it doesn't clump too easily, it gives a fair amount of seperation to my lashes and you can build it to at least two coats. With two coats it holds my curl very well all day, and the formula is not too wet or too dry.

The cons about this mascara is it's not always waterproof enough. I've experienced smudging underneath the eyes and also tiny dots of mascara from my upper lashes underneath the eyebrow. This doesn't happend that often though, but when it does it's without obvious reason. The brush is also a Little bit too big to be the perfect size for me, and it doesn't quite hold the curl all day if I apply only one thin layer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2014 7:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

i came across this mascara on a whim, one of those things my mommers buys but never uses, y'know? now, i don't have short or thin lashes but they're not long and voluminous either. some lashes curl, some lashes seem longer but overall, it aint nothing to preach to the choir about. anyways, i think i was just fooling around when i tried it but wow, instantly it added length, volume & and a subtle curl to my lashes! at the time i was very familiar with more high end brands and definitely had favorites among those, but really, wow!

i'm a 400 swipes of mascara type a girl so i really appreciate being able to layer up without having to worry about clumping. and being able to go for a more natural look to something more intense with a few flick of the wrists has made this among my most used mascaras. i like the smell of it very much and with a 3-5x/week use i got about two months of usage out of it. also, the bristles are so wonderful and they do a great job and catching, separating and coating your lashes.

really, a must have in my book!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2014 6:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite, HG mascara. If you're in a rush, don't worry because the formula and the wand will separate and coat each lash without clumping. I use this mascara on a regular basis and it hasn't gone weird or anything like that. The wand itself is amazing and it gets to the roots of my lashes. Now let's talk about the waterproof part of it.... honestly it isn't the most waterproof formula out there but it still does the job. My curl holds all day and smudging is very minimal.

Would I recommend or repurchase this product... yes, yes and YES!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2014 3:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Bought this mascara last summer, since I was going to the beach for a few weeks. I'm not a fan of waterproof mascaras, but this one has been the worst I have ever used, it gave me no thickness or length at all, plus it made my eyelashes stick together in a terrible way... When I would get in the water, little black flakes started falling around my eyes. I really have nothing great to say about this.


on 11/23/2014 8:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my holy grail mascara; i wear this on a daily basis.

From the price to the longevity, the Colossal Volume Express Waterproof mascara is the best. I'm a high school student and I wake up at about 6:00 a.m. to do my makeup. I don't return from clubs/activities and school until about 5:00 p.m. My skin, also, isn't the best (it gets greasy really fast). With a little touch of translucent powder, this mascara stays all day and keeps my lashes perky (yes, ALL day).

Especially with my short, asian lashes, this mascara does a spectacular job of keeping my lashes full and voluminous.

I've purchased about 5 tubes of this mascara already and each one is consistently great. No irritation. Not a problem.

The only minor flaw with this mascara is that it isn't actually waterproof. Though it is difficult to remove, if you go swimming or get soaked in the rain with this mascara on, it will smudge a lot. However, as a daily mascara I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Thanks for reading! (:

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2014 3:41:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this mascara. The formula is really good- no clumping, flaking, or smudging, and it's really moisture proof. But the real star is the brush. The brush beautifully separates and coats each lash, and is very buildable without clumping. You can get some pretty impressive lashes with this brush. My lashes are medium length, not thick at all, and very straight (I do use an eyelash curler, tho). Depending on how much mascara I decide to apply, I can go from looking like I have really nice, full, long lashes all the way to creating lashes that can pass pretty closely for fakes. I use a cleansing oil to get off my mascara, and it works just fine to get everything off with no residue. All in all a great product, and I've been repurchasing for about a year now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Made my eyelashes fall out in clumps. Do I need to say more?




Back to Top