By Terry Touche Veloutee Highlighting Concealer


33 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$


on 9/7/2015 10:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm OBSESSED WITH CONCEALER. I have the Nars Creamy one, La Prairie, Estee Lauder Double Wear, La Mer's cream compact one, the Cle de Peau stick and Mac Pro Longwear.
I purchased this after I saw an immaculately made up lady in my hairdresser's in London applying it in a mirror. It's regarded as the best hair salon in London so I always like to snoop around at other ladies fashion etc in there! Her makeup was exactly what I like- polished, groomed, flawless coverage yet still natural and glowy, so I was sold! I got it in shade #2 and for comparison I am an NC15-20 in Mac. I also love Nars' Creamy Concealer in Vanilla but that photographs quite white.
This is very very good but irritates my skin which is such a shame! So if you have sensitive skin/rash prone/breakout prone try any of the others I have mentioned in this review.
This one looks great in photos as well as real life and is no doubt one of the best on the market in concealers. Applies like a dream and stays well, doesn't crease in my opinion.
Negatives- strongly fragranced in a typical powdery-perfume-makeup smell, you know the one. Also it gives me breakouts if i wear it too long or in consecutive days - but that means it's probably great for drier skins. My HG is still my La Praire concealer, the La Mer and Estee Lauder. Not sure if I'll repurchase because of the skin irritation...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/14/2015 12:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

i always knew i liked this concealer a lot but never enough to rave about it until i tried to live without it and now i will always repurchase this! i've never been into highlighter and concealer pens, such as the ysl touche eclat (which was actually created by terry de gunzberg, who now has the line by terry) as they give too little coverage for me. however, after being so impressed with another concealer in the range, by terry touch expert concealer, i decided to try touche veloutee and have been addicted ever since! this click pen concealer has the capability to cover and highlight while still being subtle and 'photo ready' - aka not having any camera flashback, the reverse panda effect. what i absolutely loved about this concealer was the really soft creamy texture of touche veloutee that doesn't even need blending as its that good it blends itself - literally! the brush is very handy when you need to apply on the go but if i have a bit more time i squeeze a little bit out and use a blending brush such as mac 217, to work it into the skin. something i found to be such a miracle was no matter how much you apply it just doesn't go cakey which is excellent for those who want more coverage! i do like to set this with a light layer of benefit hello flawless powder for an overall flawless finish. i usually get bored of products easily or either think something better is available but this is slowly becoming a serious favourite!

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I went to the Space.NK department at my local Bloomingdales to purchase another By Terry product. I heard a great deal about their concealers and on a whim, I just happened to apply the Touche Veloutee concealer in Cream under my eyes. I just used my fingers to quickly blend it in and then went on with my other purchase. A few minutes later I happened to glance in the mirror and did a double take. I was surprised to see that the puffiness and red discoloration under my eyes was gone. It seemed like the concealer lightened the area and almost airbrushed it. I have grown increasingly skeptical of makeup products that promise too much and never seem to live up to their promises. But in this case, seeing is believing.

This product definitely gave me coverage as well as some highlighting. I have used YSL's Touche Éclat in the past when I was quite a bit younger. As I got older I had to stop using it because it simply did not give me enough coverage. I think the By Terry Touche Veloutee does much more. They are not that far apart in price right now. At my age I definitely need some coverage. However, full coverage concealers are far too heavy and seem to only emphasize the areas that I want to hide. The shade was perfect for my NW25 skin. The application is quite easy. I had no problem with the big brush. I find with one click you can get the right amount of product and just sweep it under the eye area. Then I blend it out with my Sephora Pro Airbrush Concealer Brush. The staying power is excellent.

I never thought that I would pay this price for a concealer, but the results are there. Nothing gets rid of under eye bags. However, I do find the whole under eye area softer and lines are diminished and even the appearance of my eye bags isn't as obvious. That's why I bought this product. I have combined it with my current concealer, Maybelline Age Rewind and the results are very good.

There are great concealers that are reasonably priced. I cannot speak to how this product works on dark circles because I don't have that problem. I can only state how it met my needs. It's insanely expensive but every once in a while I will splurge on a product that gives me outstanding results. This is one of those products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 12/23/2014 8:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Green

Very disappointed with this product... Doesn't cover dark circles, settles into fine lines around the eyes... Its very very light.. And a very heavy price! I never use it it makes me look awful!

on 11/19/2014 4:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This isn't a full coverage concealer, so I don't use it on days when my undereye circles are especially prominent. I have bluish circles from allergies and insomnia and while they're not extremely dark they do stand out because I'm so pale (NW10). Usually I switch around between Cle de Peau in Ivory, and Armani High Precision Retouch but have also been using this for the last year. I love this for the silky, extremely smooth texture, lightweight consistency, and because it melts into skin so beautifully. My skin is normal but dryish sometimes, especially in winter, and this doesn't cling to the dry areas or look like it's sitting on top of my skin. I occasionally use it around my nose area when allergies turn my nostril area pink. It's as thin and liquid as a sheer foundation, so it spreads so well and is incredibly easy to blend out.

I have this in Porcelain and it's a perfect match. It's slightly brightening but in the most sophisticated, subtle way possible. I like that it doesn't shimmer or look typically light reflective like the Armani or Clinique's Airbrush Concealer. Honestly I think this has the best finish I've ever seen in a liquid concealer. Sets well and sinks in quickly and doesn't retain the original creamy texture once it's on skin, so if I set it with a little loose powder it doesn't cake up at all. Best of all I can build it up where needed without it pilling or looking unnatural. I dislike fragrance in any skincare/beauty products but I don't mind the light rose scent in this. It dissipates fast and doesn't irritate my sensitive skin.

I never use the attached brushes on these types of products for hygienic reasons. I dispense it on the back of my (clean) hand then use my fingers or a concealer brush to apply it to my skin. I wish this came in a pump bottle or with a doe foot applicator so I could control how much is dispensed. A full click is too much and I always end up wasting some.

This is amazing if you're a fan of lightweight concealers or if you aren't a fan of heavy products on your skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 7/31/2014 11:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I am mixed race (caucasian & south-east asian) and about NC30-35 with warm yellow undertones. My skin tends to be combination/oily but can experience surface dryness and my eye area is pretty dehydrated (with oily lids of course - awesome). I love undetectable makeup, like the kind you see in photoshopped magazine editorials, and I balk at the sight of obvious pigment creasing or mascara clumps!

My under-eye area is my primary beauty concern because I've had bags ever since I was a little girl (made more prominent by an epicanthic fold), and a couple of years ago I was in a car accident that left me with two black eyes for weeks, which have never completely gone away - the blood kind of pooled at the bottom of my eye bags. Sounds pretty, right!

I have trouble finding the right under-eye concealer because nothing can eradicate shadows caused by bags unless I have surgery or filler, and the worst of the darkness is not immediately under my eyes but low (level with half-way down my nose), which would make anyone look 20 years older or like a drug addict. Other concealers I've tried are Laura Mercier's Secret Concealer (looked obvious in photos, too cakey and gave me milia-like bumps on my skin, common with overly emollient eye products), NARS Radiant Concealer (good but a bit dry and cakey, and Ginger was too dark for me), Dermablend (pretty good but cakey), Revlon Age Rewind (dry, bad shade selection), Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage (not suitable for under-eyes at all), MAC Studio Finish (similar to Dermablend but too waxy and cakey, and wrong colour), Sephora Smoothing & Brightening Concealer (most similar to Touche Veloutee, but bad shade selection).

For the record, I dislike YSL's Touche Eclat, just because it doesn't do anything for me and it's best to not add makeup when it has no benefit, and also because the shades are ashy. Touche Veloutee is very similar, however the formulation just seems more elegant and the coverage is much better. The texture is whisper thin and this is great for the inverted triangle method to brighten the centre of your face if your skin is good. The packaging is pretty and I think it works well - you just press the button once and immediately enough product comes out for both eyes, but I find it hard to open sometimes if my hands are sweaty. The problems I have are that the finish is semi-matte and slightly dry, so it can catch on the dry parts on the surface of my skin. It really isn't the worst offender out of all available base products though - my eyes have been very dry lately and when I smile they crinkle horribly, but this doesn't make them look as bad as the NARS Radiant concealer, for instance. It also doesn't exacerbate the little bumps under my eyes, but it does settle into fine lines a little (not as badly as Laura Mercier Secret Concealer). I use #03 Beige, and it's a little too light for me so I look "made-up" as opposed to natural, and as it dries to a semi-matte finish, it can just generally look dry and flat. The worst problem for me is that it doesn't provide sufficient coverage. It blurs the darkness a little, especially near my tear ducts, but I have to use Armani's corrector underneath and even then the darkness shows through. Because both are thin and watery, it doesn't look cakey but they both dry matte and cling to the skin so I just wish I didn't have to wear so much product!

I swatched Ellis Faas' concealer at Mecca Cosmetica and they're very similar, though Ellis Faas seems more of a satin finish and looks slightly sheerer in coverage.

I'm glad I own this but it's not totally right for me. I'm still searching and will try Armani Retouch, Cle de Peau or La Mer The Radiant Concealer next. I will report back!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

on 6/23/2014 10:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This highlighter/concealer is an excellent product in terms of coverage and value. For example, while the price is higher than YSL's Touche Eclat (which the Terry in By Terry originally designed), one gets a lot more product, costing much less per ounce. It covers my under eye circles well and I also use it to cover up any redness around my nose and mouth. The color I use is Porcelain, the lightest of the bunch, and it is a perfect match for my fair skin. I apply it before foundation, and it helps to use an eye cream first to reduce dryness and product creeping into fine lines.

My sole complaint is the brush. I don't use it. Rather, I only use the brush to place the product in the corner of each eye and I then use my Trish McEvoy Cream Blender brush #66 or my ring finger to blend the product because the attached brush is too large and imprecise. Also, a little goes a very long way, making it even more economical. Creasing is minimal, leaving a powdery matte finish behind instead. It definitely was an excellent purchase, a real problem-solver for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 4/19/2014 10:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am a concealer addict so I didn't hesitate to try this one out when recommende by the ladies at Mecca maxima - but boy am I soooo disappointed in this over hyped over priced supposed "best non creasing under eye" concealer. The brush is so stiff and I feel like it absorbs a lot of the product rather than applying it onto the skin. The product feels watery and then slightly oily when blending out with my finger. The Mecca lady matched me to the wrong colour (number 4) which turns out very pink and makes me look like I hve a rash when wearing. It creases pretty much immediately, even when setting with a powder (also without setting). Have tried it with eye cream, eye primers , other concealers and I have to say I actually hate this product. For $80 I could have bought my favourite revlon anti age eye concealer 5 times over. My favourite concealers this far would be nars creamy concealer, Estée Lauder double wear concealer and revlon anti aging eye concealer. This by terry one would be on my "never buy again" list- but majority of my opinion comes down to the ridiculous price for such a mediocre formular that dupes it's buyers into believing it's amazing from the over pretentious packaging. Would highly NOT recommend this

on 1/12/2014 2:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I had quite high expectations on this highlighting concealer but sadly I was disappointed.
The concealer is quite expensive however you get much product. I did not care for the packaging - the brush is useless both for distributing the product directly under the eye and just to pump out the product onto the hand. The pump on the pen get stuck after every pump. So everything just becomes a mess.

The color range was not that great for my skin color because I was between two shades. And the colors are unforgiving on your skin so you have to have the color-matching on point.

The concealer creased easily and you really have to work the product into the skin to get some what of a nice finish. I think the matte effect made it worse and I don't think that it had that much of a highlighting effect.

Overall I think it's not worth the price at all and I am not repurchasing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 10/27/2013 8:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My favourite concealer product. in fact my favourite make up product. perfect texture perfect finish perfect coverage i love love love this. i could cover and blend everything without a sign of make up. beautiful product. i use beige.

i couldn't recommend this enough

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top Rated By Terry Products



43 reviews
Back to Top