LUSH • Vanillary • Fragrances

rated 3.5(90 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MuppetGirl on 1/17/2015 12:21:00 PM more reviews by MuppetGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am absolutely in love with this scent. I can only describe it as a very intoxicating vanilla scent that is more like a rich, warm vanilla smell and is not too sweet (sometimes I do find vanilla scented anything too sickly sweet, but this perfume certainly isn't). I first tried this in a Lush store and had sprayed a mist of their tester bottle onto the sleeve of my coat. I thought it was okay but left the store soon afterward, without buying it. I then realized that I couldn't stop smelling the sleeve of my coat throughout the rest of the day, because I liked the smell so much. (I didn't like it nearly as much when I first sprayed it as I did a few minutes later. So if you try this in the store, be sure to wait a few minutes before deciding how much you do or do not like it). And as an added bonus, I once read a study that found that men find the scent of vanilla to be the sexiest scent on a woman. ;) In my opinion, this perfume truly is intoxicating and is most certainly my new favorite!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkpeppered on 1/6/2015 8:14:00 AM more reviews by pinkpeppered

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

On me it smells like a salty, savoury, buttery vanilla. It's a little unusual but pleasant. Overpriced.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oubliette on 8/14/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by oubliette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was an instant favourite for me since it came out in 2009. At the time, I was working at LUSH and had a chance to sample it before it hit the shops. I cringed when I heard the name, but as soon as I sniffed it I knew it would be an instant hit. With its natural vanilla scent and smokey caramelly undertones, it's the perfect mix of gourmand but not-too-foody vanilla, and affordable to boot! The LUSH staff and I sprayed it on our work uniforms and catalogues, and were constantly asked what the smell was.

I'm not too crazy about the packaging, but that's a quibble because it's functional. I've got one of the glass half-moon bottles with a label tied on with ribbon. I've seen past bottles where it's rectangular with a candy-store type of graphic on the label, newer black bottles, the newest bottles online are similar to the oldest bottles but with a cartoony vanilla flower graphic. IMO they're all a bit generic and/or cheap looking which completely deceives the quality of the juice within.

5 years later I'm still using Vanillary and honestly find it to be one of the best vanilla scents on the market. My other vanilla fave is L'Artisan Vanilia, which has long been discontinued. So until I discover the next great vanilla frag, Vanillary is it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rustybag on 7/22/2014 11:20:00 PM more reviews by rustybag

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The Vanillary solid perfume is lovely & goes nicely with the vanilla powder from this company. It smells like real vanilla, jasmine and a touch incense. The solid is convenient to use & I prefer it over the sprays. Very sweet and pretty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatherineSolo on 5/27/2014 10:31:00 PM more reviews by CatherineSolo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this scent. It's almost a powdery vanilla on me, with a hint of something deeper, so it's not child-like or candy-like. It's sophisticated and a little bohemian, if that makes sense. I buy the smallest spray of this, and after I dropped it once, the bottle broke. At least the room smelled like Vanillary for a while, but it was still annoying. That's why the lippies are only at 3 for packaging (it's also a little flimsy and leaks, so watch if the tube you buy is sturdy or not). Anyway other than that, this is one of my favourite perfumes (and I only wear about 3).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lydiaie on 5/17/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by lydiaie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

now this...this is special!
it's vanilla at it's purest sort of form. it doesn't smell childlike. it smells of baked cakes, of an old fashioned bakery. it lasts so long on your skin and people always compliment me when i wear it. it smells just...delicious. i've used a lot of it and i definitely want to keep on purchasing it.
i have the solid form - it's amazing it literally looks like expensive icecream with real vanilla pods inside.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 4/26/2014 8:08:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I received a little sample vial of this, and loved the way it smelled when sprayed in the air. A very musky vanilla that wasn't so chemically sweet it made your face pucker in disgust. It smelled very light and slightly sweet, but very natural. Very much like vanilla extract. However, if anyone saw my review on Vanilla Dee-Lite, you know how this is gonna go. The same exact fragrance is used in Vanilla Dee-Lite, and it literally made me smell like a pair of tires on a new car! I guess my body chemistry didn't react well with this. I'd recommend this to someone that doesn't smell unpleasant after it's been worn around for a while though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmarrs on 4/1/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by mmarrs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow fantastic and I usually don't like vanilla. Usually they grow way too strong on me. This one is just perfect. Lasts a long time

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jossiz on 10/22/2013 5:59:00 AM more reviews by jossiz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My hopes were pinned on this fragrance considering the difficulty I am having locating a cookie dough vanilla perfume in a bricks and mortar store so I do not have to buy blind. Pure vanilla. I read reviews and all arrows pointed to this being the one.. I went to lush and tried it and all I can smell is jasmine, peppery floral offensive jasmine with a touch of vanilla. I do not just dislike it.. I hate it.. I have returned to my classic hypnotic poison whilst I search again for a clean summer time day wearing vanilla. Let me know if you have one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliawilson22 on 10/21/2013 7:18:00 PM more reviews by juliawilson22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this scent!! I always get compliments when I wear it. It has a true vanilla smell with a touch of musk. Fantastic

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Fragrances products