Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer

3.2

123 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Beeswax, Silica, Boron Nitride, Quaternium-90 Bentonite, Talc, Microcrystalline Wax, Propylene Carbonate, Cetyl PEG/PPG10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Phenoxyethanol, PEG-12 Glyceryl DiMyristate, Water, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Betaine, Glycerin, Potassium Sorbate, Tremella Fuciformis Sporocarp Extract. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron oxide


on 7/23/2015 12:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually use the Nars eye primer but in comparison this one worked just as well. It's a little thicker and tackier than the Nars primer and I could see it being a little drying but it kept my eye shadow from creasing and kept it in one place so I can't ask for much more



on 7/19/2015 1:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had been using UDPP in Eden which I loved for it's tinted formula, but as I have gotten older I found it too drying. NARS has a great formula, but it only comes in clear. I have dark/discolored lids so a tinted primer is a must. This really helps correct and cover any discoloration or darkness on the lids. I like that this applies smoothly and best of all it isn't drying. This works well with both matte and shimmer eyeshadow shades.


on 7/6/2015 3:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Deluxe sample from a Sephora Favorites kit. At first, I thought it was just a really dry formula, and it may be, but my bottle was so dry that I had to give up and toss it. Not worth the priming if you're being rough on your delicate eye area to blend it in.


on 5/8/2015 10:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews on this product because it is awesome!! I have used many eyelid primers before (Urban Decay/MAC). The difference here is that this has this awesome creamy texture that basically acts like glue. It will hold on to anything you put on your lid!! My friend didn't understand what the use of an eyelid primer was until I did a demo on my hand. I swatched the primer and put some sheer eyeshadow on top of it. Then swatched it without the primer & the results were undeniable! Love it!


on 2/3/2015 4:15:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have super challenging eyelids for eye makeup - very hooded (similar to Charlotte Rampling at age 50) plus dry and crepey. I have to use a primer under any liner or powder or I end up with the liner on my upper eyelid.

This is not the primer for me. The beige color really increases the look of lid wrinkles and dryness. I'm pale and this color shows up too peachy for the look I'm going for.


on 9/26/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I prefer a natural look and I have dark eye lids (olive skin tones). I am trying to brighten up my eyes. I use the primer with eye shadow dusted on top and it lasts exactly the way I applied it until bed time when I wash it off. The eye shadow I use is Bobbi Brown Ivory. Oh and also I am using Smashbox Full Exposure mascara.

I have been using this primer for a couple of months. I have tried two other primers: Too Faced and Urban Decay. This is the best of all. I apply it with a long handled small flat brush - I don't use their applicator. I can control the coverage better with my brush.

Super good product and this is the first time I've ever bought Smashbox cosmetics - I'm impressed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2014 12:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I really enjoyed this product! In the past eye lid primers have dried out my eyelids, but this was not the case! It went on very well and was neither thick nor heavy. However I use the product sparingly, after all there is no need to cake on primer! I was worried the colour of the primer would show through, but I did not at all! Also this primer can be used as a good cover up, so it acts as a two in one product!


on 9/6/2014 10:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It's a good product. It does what it's supposed to- hold your eye make up in place. But I must admit, I don't wear heavy eye-shadow on a regular basis, and mostly just use it to keep my eyeliner in place. I like it. I haven't tried any other eye primers so I can't really compare. I didn't pay a lot of money for it because I got it at Winners, so I have no complaints. It applies with a peachy colour, but that fades after it dries.


on 8/31/2014 6:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am quite surprised by the negative reviews on this. I bought the Try Me kit that included a sample of this lid primer, and after I had used it a few times, I went out and bought a full size of it! I have the UDPP as well, in Eden, but I prefer the consistency and finish that the Smashbox primer has. No creasing and no shimmer :) It makes my eyeshadows stay put all day. I may not repurchase the Urban Decay primer, but I will definitely repurchase the Smashbox primer again and again. (PS. I have oily skin, if that helps)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2014 12:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I purchased a Smashbox Starter Kit at Sephora as I figured for $20CDN, you received quite a nice sample set of Smashboxs' best sellers.

In this set there was a sample of the Photo Finish Lid Primer. It came in a .02fl oz/.05ml container with a doe foot applicator. Similar to the previous Urban Decay PP bottles.

For the past few years I have been using UDPP and have been just content with it. So I was eager to try this new one.

First thing I noticed when I opened it was how similar the constancy was to UDPP. A nice thick and creamy mixture. Perhaps a tad thicker than UDPP. The colour was a dark beige which dries quite matte. No shimmer or anything scented happening.

As for holding power, I am quite impressed! My shadow lasted all day. No creasing, nothing. As for colour vibrancy? Pretty impressive. My shadow appeared to be vibrant and stood out.

But my biggest peeve with this stuff? It dries out super quick. I had the sample for not even a month before everything dried out and I couldn't use it. So it lost a lippie due to that issue. I think if Smashbox followed suit of UDPP and put it in a squeeze tube, it would fair much better.

I am impressed by how well this performed and I am surprised that it does not get a better rep. Perhaps it is the issue of drying out that turns a lot of people away, but to be honest, I would go out and purchase a full size bottle once my current stash of UDPP runs out.

Happy Shopping!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 11 by fionaman



Top Rated Smashbox Products

Back to Top