Smashbox • Photo Finish Lid Primer • Eye Primer

rated 3.1(111 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Sweetheart7 on 7/22/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by Sweetheart7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have used the Too Faced Eye Shadow primer (one in the light blue tube) since I started doing my makeup but decided to try this. For this primer, I like the feel and application of this. Compared to the Too Faced primer, it blends easier and my lids don't feel tight/dry when I apply eye shadow.
I think the packaging is nice and good for travel. But I am all about keeping things hygienic and I would prefer not having to dip into the product each time I use it. I didn't notice any creasing of my shadow which was on for a few hours, but my shadow didn't seem as bright I guess after a few hours. But I don't see it as a problem, I am more worried about it creasing instead.
I do think that this is a good primer and worth trying out if you don't wear a lot of eye makeup, need something for oily eyelids, very basic eye looks and etc. But personally I won't repurchase this right now because I feel that the Too Faced one is better for long periods of time where as the Smashbox is good for a couple hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 7/11/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this from Sephora, and I'm glad I didn't spend the money on this primer. While it's not terrible, there are much better primers out there for the same price or even less. My biggest issue with this primer is how dry it is. If I use too little it's very difficult to blend evenly onto the lid, and if I use too much it flakes and gives my lids a dry, cracked look. It's hard to get just the right amount onto each lid, and to blend it quickly before it starts setting and becoming even more dry. Although this looks and feels very dry, it's actually pretty easy to blend any products on top of. I've used shimmery shadows, matte shadows, and cream shadows over this, and they all blend very nicely (unless you used too much primer; then it will look flakey). This does keep my shadows from creasing pretty much all day, but I find that when I use this my shadows tend to fade and become less vibrant throughout the day. I'm also not huge on the packaging -- I'd prefer a squeeze tube because it's easier to control the amount and to get out the last of the product. I would pass on this primer -- I've found better ones for a fraction of the price at the drugstore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 foxkid on 6/27/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by foxkid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Bought a primer trial kit as I wanted to try out the Photofinish foundation primer.
Find the formula quite rough on the skin, feels like there's tiny tiny grains in it scratching the thin skin around my eyes and it also feels quite heavy (kind of aware that it's on your face type of feeling)

For the price I would buy this again, if you are undecided about this I would recommend ordering the try-kit off their website :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Fark222 on 4/24/2014 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Fark222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My review is going to look a little out of place, since I actually had a positive experience with this eye-primer.
My mom initially got it in a starter package from Smashbox, and she bequeathed it to me after she decided she didn't need the extra step in her make-up routine (her loss!).

I have struggled with greasy, translucent eye-lids (complete with purple-y veins- oh, the problems that come with being pale) so I can really appreciate the thick formula and the yellow undertones. I don't even wear the primer with eyeshadow on most days, I just use it to cancel out any discolouration and control the greasiness. I like to set it with my Physicians Formula mineral correcting powder just to soak up any other grease and clear up any additional discolouration.

The price is steep, but since this primer is a staple in my everyday routine, I don't mind couching up the cash about once every year and a half or so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ohh2pretty on 4/6/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by Ohh2pretty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product goes on thick and chalky. I found if I used my finger it was better than applying it with the brush. It dries chalky too. It does keep your shadow fresh and crease free through out the day. When I used it on the 2nd day I noticed a hard, painful zit under my brow area! I have never had this happen before-ever. This is the only new product I've used, so I'm sure this caused it. I would not buy this and will stick to Two Faced or Urban Decay primers which work great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 3/27/2014 8:52:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Got a free sample packet of this (easily 3 or even 4 uses) and it it OK. My lids are relatively smooth and even-toned to begin with - and the shade is too dark (I am very fair) to use under the eye - so i stick to the lid and brow bone.

I like it - but i don;t love it. BeautiControl's "natural" (or "taupe") shadow control creme are better and cheaper - but they may be d/c'ed by now.

In any case, I will not be purchasing this as I really do not need it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Denisedd on 2/27/2014 12:05:00 AM more reviews by Denisedd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Doesn't change ur shadow colour and makes it last. I love this and will be buying again when I run out . I do prefer a squeeze tube but doesn't make a huge diffrence to me. I like that it has a colour and isn't clear I find you get a more true shadow colour . Lasts all day without crease or wear

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 parisianwalkways on 2/26/2014 11:30:00 AM more reviews by parisianwalkways

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

lasts forever, shadows look bolder and last longer, can be used on its own for a nice nude lid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fertom on 2/11/2014 1:26:00 AM more reviews by fertom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received this in a sample pack. I tried it as a lid primer. I was not impressed. Since I did not want to waste it, I started using it for my dark under eye circles. It was great for that purpose. I apply it before my regular canceler. Its looks smoother and I get better coverage, plus it wears all day.

Not so great as a lid primer, but for my dark circles… I can't live without it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanhal on 1/25/2014 6:14:00 AM more reviews by shanhal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I REALLY wanted to like this, but I just couldn't. First off it's not clear. blended out it leaves a darker orange colour on my lids and I found it changed the colour of some of my shadows. Also it's very thick, and I found it hard to spread and blend. And it made my shadows harder to blend, and oddly enough, it made my shadows/liner crease within an hour. I don't have super oily lids, but they are oily. I do not recommend this for anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Eye Primer products