China Glaze Strong Adhesion Base Coat

4.0

63 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/14/2015 11:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I used this basecoat for awhile with all sorts of polish brands/types. Goes on smoothly, dries quickly. Leaves a nice soft sheen when worn alone and can be worn as a clearcoat as it does not feel tacky to the touch and it's not as glossy as some clearcoats. I don't have issues with nail polish peeling off when i use it. I do get some chipping at the tips of my nails with certain polishes, but I think that is more to do with the top coat and the fact that I am hard on manicures. I also don't keep the same mani for more than a couple days regardless of wear because I will get bored with the color.

I can't paint my nails as often anymore due to working in a living history museum but when I could wear nailpolish at work, I worked in retail, often in jewelry. Working clasps, changing watch batteries, cleaning jewelry is going to be hard on any manicure. Yesterday, I did some cooking/dish washing with my manicure. Since I now can only wear polish on my days off, I don't need my manicures to last a super long time. Even when I could wear polish at work, I would get bored after 2 or 3 days whether I had chips or not.

The only downside with this base coat that I personally have found is that deep, creamy reds and blues still stain my nails a little even when I do coat them with a generous layer of this basecoat. That kind of defeats the purpose of why I bought basecoat in the first place. It does help polish adhere to the nail for me, as the name implies, but it is not impervious to all pigments, even when I only wear the color for a day or two.

Will I repurchase this product, perhaps. It is a nice wear-alone product that I sometimes do for work when I want some protection for my nails. It does work well with most polishes. However, I would also consider keeping an alternative base coat if you like to wear deep colors on your fingernails. Pricing isn't horrid, bit is is on the pricier end of the "drug store" products.

Down side of the packaging, sometimes prone to leaking around the cap. I put mine in a basket with other toiletry products for a road trip, I made sure the lid was closed and when I arrived there was product all over the bottom of the basket (solid bottom). It wasn't until I went to do my nails that I realized what had leaked, there was dried product all around the ridge between lid and bottle. Evidently either the lid was not as tightly closed as I thought or it somehow loosened during transport. Glad I did not put it in my suitcase as initially intended. Luckily it was an old bottle as well.

I purchased mine at Sally Beauty Supply.



on 6/24/2014 10:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm very surprised to see so many negative reviews of this base coat as I had such a good experience with it!

I had been wanting to try out Orly's Rubberised Base Coat for sometime, but I couldn't find it anywhere and I actually ended up buying the CG for a completely different purpose - faking out the bottoms of my shoes. I needed to do my nails for a wedding however, so I figured I'd give it a try for it's intended purpose and see how I got on with it.

I have to say I really, really like this base coat! I found it applied and settled easily, was fast-drying, shiny, and actually looked fantastic just on it's own. As for it's merits as a base coat, it certainly didn't let me down - I've used Revlon, Maybelline, and MAC polishes over it, and it's been consistent each time in providing a flawless base and significantly extending the life of the varnish.

Definitely the most effective base coat I've used, and I will repurchase when the time comes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/10/2014 12:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

Probably the worst base coat I've tried. The polish chips within a day or two, and sometimes makes all of the polish simply fall off, leaving a clean nail behind. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.


on 2/20/2014 9:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

didn't work. my nails started chipping the next day. I wouldn't recommend this!


on 2/4/2014 5:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Does the job nicely and is also super affordable. I used to use CND's super stickey base coat until I realized the green tint of the CND base coat would actually show through my manis where I used sheer light colors. No good! Unfortunately for me, Strong Adhesion doesn't prevent yellow nails but I have yet to try a base coat that does (might just be my own nail chemistry). You can get this for uber cheap from multiple sellers on Amazon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2014 4:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is great stuff. Like somebody recommended below, I use it after 1 layer of base, 2 layers of polish. It's my 4th layer. I use Sache Vite dryer on the top of it. The main trick here is to let CG Adhesion Base Coat sit and dry for 3-5 min before the dryer coat. The staying power of your manicure then is AMAZING.


on 12/27/2013 7:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this base coat for quite some time. I am currently on my second bottle. When I first began to use it, I had read it was best to apply your color when the base coat was semi fresh. Well I tried it like that for the first time and I hated it. I now put the coat on all of my nails, then I apply my nail color (2coats) on top of it. I use this in combination of the gelous top coat I purchased at Sally's (green top) and I LOVE IT! I did my nails on Christmas Eve (Tuesday) it is now Friday and my nails have not chipped at all. This was after 2 showers and some light dish washing. I also use a cheaper color nail polish (ICE from Walmart). This coat definitely helps the polish stay on longer. By now I would have done my nails a second or maybe even third time. I recommended in combination with the Gelous top coat.


on 11/17/2013 9:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got this because I generally like China Glaze, and I thought I might as well try it. The polish is reasonably thick, glossy, and shiny. It self-levels really well. It also looks pretty nice on its own. Unfortunately, as a base coat, this doesn't work well for me, and that's an understatement.

It took me a while to work out what was going on, but it seems almost as if this base coat either doesn't dry completely, or it fails to adhere to the surface of the nail properly, and that can lead to a weird kind of peeling and "wrinkling" of the polish on the nail.

What I mean is that I put on the base coat, let it dry completely (as far as I can tell), and then two coats of polish, then a quick dry top coat. What happens is that the polish layers appear to bind (as they do in response to a quick dry top coat), but the base coat is either not fully dry, or binds to the other layers but not to the nail, at least until it cures completely, which can take quite a while. So, in response to any sort of pressure (washing hands, for example), the polish is subject not to dents or smudges, but to wrinkling (which is, I guess, a kind of smudging). The entire thing, all the layers bound together, can get pushed some direction on my nail, like some sort of cellophane bunching up or something. Sometimes it pulls off the tips, sometimes from the sides. Sometimes it doesn't happen, sometimes it happens on several fingers.

This weirdness happened with several different top coats, and with speed drying drops, and with several different kinds of polish. I don't know, it's just weird, and it ONLY happens with this base coat. Something about it doesn't like to adhere to my nails or something (other base coats are fine). And when I stopped using this completely, the problem totally disappeared (I'd never had it before I tried this base coat).

So, while I'm happy that some people get good results from this, I really can't recommend it, except perhaps as a clear coat worn on its own. I'm pretty disappointed, actually. I really do like China Glaze, and this base coat had promise, being so nice, thick, and glossy. But, no. Just no.


on 11/2/2013 11:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Overall, this is a good base coat. It is a bit expensive considering other better options that cost the same or a tad more. It does prolong the life of my manicure by a 2 to 4 days, and it goes on smoothly, evenly, and it leaves a tacky finish, which will help "grip" the polish to the nail. The brush is easy to work with because it's width is just right, so application was quick, precise, and easy. However, the smell is really strong, and if you're looking to even out the ridges in your nails, look somewhere else.


on 8/25/2013 7:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This doesn't prolong the life of my manicure whatsoever. I notice my polish applies strangely when I use this. This almost acts like a magnet, sucking my polish onto the nail and making for a not so smooth application - making the brush skip. No go for me.




Top Rated China Glaze Products

image

Dorothy Who?

33 reviews
image

Ruby Pumps

386 reviews
image

Emerald Sparkle

67 reviews
image

Frostbite

69 reviews
image

Fairy Dust

91 reviews
Back to Top