China Glaze • Strong Adhesion Base Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imperiale on 6/24/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by imperiale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm very surprised to see so many negative reviews of this base coat as I had such a good experience with it!

I had been wanting to try out Orly's Rubberised Base Coat for sometime, but I couldn't find it anywhere and I actually ended up buying the CG for a completely different purpose - faking out the bottoms of my shoes. I needed to do my nails for a wedding however, so I figured I'd give it a try for it's intended purpose and see how I got on with it.

I have to say I really, really like this base coat! I found it applied and settled easily, was fast-drying, shiny, and actually looked fantastic just on it's own. As for it's merits as a base coat, it certainly didn't let me down - I've used Revlon, Maybelline, and MAC polishes over it, and it's been consistent each time in providing a flawless base and significantly extending the life of the varnish.

Definitely the most effective base coat I've used, and I will repurchase when the time comes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cernasite on 6/10/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Cernasite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Probably the worst base coat I've tried. The polish chips within a day or two, and sometimes makes all of the polish simply fall off, leaving a clean nail behind. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kristnn on 2/20/2014 9:28:00 AM more reviews by kristnn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

didn't work. my nails started chipping the next day. I wouldn't recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* squiggles37 on 2/4/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by squiggles37

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Does the job nicely and is also super affordable. I used to use CND's super stickey base coat until I realized the green tint of the CND base coat would actually show through my manis where I used sheer light colors. No good! Unfortunately for me, Strong Adhesion doesn't prevent yellow nails but I have yet to try a base coat that does (might just be my own nail chemistry). You can get this for uber cheap from multiple sellers on Amazon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nata779 on 1/16/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by nata779

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is great stuff. Like somebody recommended below, I use it after 1 layer of base, 2 layers of polish. It's my 4th layer. I use Sache Vite dryer on the top of it. The main trick here is to let CG Adhesion Base Coat sit and dry for 3-5 min before the dryer coat. The staying power of your manicure then is AMAZING.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IzzyGon on 12/27/2013 7:26:00 PM more reviews by IzzyGon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this base coat for quite some time. I am currently on my second bottle. When I first began to use it, I had read it was best to apply your color when the base coat was semi fresh. Well I tried it like that for the first time and I hated it. I now put the coat on all of my nails, then I apply my nail color (2coats) on top of it. I use this in combination of the gelous top coat I purchased at Sally's (green top) and I LOVE IT! I did my nails on Christmas Eve (Tuesday) it is now Friday and my nails have not chipped at all. This was after 2 showers and some light dish washing. I also use a cheaper color nail polish (ICE from Walmart). This coat definitely helps the polish stay on longer. By now I would have done my nails a second or maybe even third time. I recommended in combination with the Gelous top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 11/17/2013 9:34:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this because I generally like China Glaze, and I thought I might as well try it. The polish is reasonably thick, glossy, and shiny. It self-levels really well. It also looks pretty nice on its own. Unfortunately, as a base coat, this doesn't work well for me, and that's an understatement.

It took me a while to work out what was going on, but it seems almost as if this base coat either doesn't dry completely, or it fails to adhere to the surface of the nail properly, and that can lead to a weird kind of peeling and "wrinkling" of the polish on the nail.

What I mean is that I put on the base coat, let it dry completely (as far as I can tell), and then two coats of polish, then a quick dry top coat. What happens is that the polish layers appear to bind (as they do in response to a quick dry top coat), but the base coat is either not fully dry, or binds to the other layers but not to the nail, at least until it cures completely, which can take quite a while. So, in response to any sort of pressure (washing hands, for example), the polish is subject not to dents or smudges, but to wrinkling (which is, I guess, a kind of smudging). The entire thing, all the layers bound together, can get pushed some direction on my nail, like some sort of cellophane bunching up or something. Sometimes it pulls off the tips, sometimes from the sides. Sometimes it doesn't happen, sometimes it happens on several fingers.

This weirdness happened with several different top coats, and with speed drying drops, and with several different kinds of polish. I don't know, it's just weird, and it ONLY happens with this base coat. Something about it doesn't like to adhere to my nails or something (other base coats are fine). And when I stopped using this completely, the problem totally disappeared (I'd never had it before I tried this base coat).

So, while I'm happy that some people get good results from this, I really can't recommend it, except perhaps as a clear coat worn on its own. I'm pretty disappointed, actually. I really do like China Glaze, and this base coat had promise, being so nice, thick, and glossy. But, no. Just no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oceanbubbles on 11/2/2013 11:46:00 PM more reviews by oceanbubbles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Overall, this is a good base coat. It is a bit expensive considering other better options that cost the same or a tad more. It does prolong the life of my manicure by a 2 to 4 days, and it goes on smoothly, evenly, and it leaves a tacky finish, which will help "grip" the polish to the nail. The brush is easy to work with because it's width is just right, so application was quick, precise, and easy. However, the smell is really strong, and if you're looking to even out the ridges in your nails, look somewhere else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 8/25/2013 7:56:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This doesn't prolong the life of my manicure whatsoever. I notice my polish applies strangely when I use this. This almost acts like a magnet, sucking my polish onto the nail and making for a not so smooth application - making the brush skip. No go for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LaLa6699 on 8/25/2013 7:45:00 PM more reviews by LaLa6699

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I did love this product, it did the job and did it well. The only reason that I would not repurchase is becasue a little less than half way through the bottle, the product turned really jelly like and VERY difficult to use. I did not have the product for a super long time so the reason is not because it was old, it simply must have been the formula. The price I paid (I think $8 or$9) is a little much if half of the bottle is just going to gel up on you.
My new favorite product is "Bridge the ridge" from Sally's!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More China Glaze products

More Top/Base Coats products