Hourglass • Illusion Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free SPF 15 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.5(70 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 enolan119 on 1/5/2015 2:53:00 PM more reviews by enolan119

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received this as a sample in Ivory with a recent (December 2014) Sephora order, so I cannot comment on what the packaging or amount looks like for a full-size of this product.

I have mostly OK skin (combo, some blackheads, some redness and a few zits, some aging) and I just usually wear a BB cream or TM or primer with sunscreen. I used this to even everything out, applied over moisturizer with SS.

PRICE / Repurchase: You're joking, right? The full size version of this product is $55 USD. I usually use the Ponds BB cream that costs about $11 USD. I get more product and better results. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO WAY I WOULD EVER SHELL OUT THIS MUCH FOR A PRODUCT LIKE THIS.

Consistency: This is very thick so A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY. I ended up having to wash off my second application due to using too much product. I started again with just a dab over the middle of my face and blended with fingers.

Finish: Dried to a natural finish, maybe slightly dewy. Shade was slightly too dark for me but I am fair.

Coverage: Evened everything out. I did not have much to cover. It did not settle into any lines or pill up.

Endurance: I would say this lasted about 7-8 hours and then I started to get shinier.

Fragrance: None that i could detect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 12/23/2014 5:11:00 PM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Some of you, who aren't overly interested in Hourglass' foundations but have spontaneously decided to try them out (ahem), started searching online and ended up being confused with the 'tint' title. Is it a tinted moisturizer? A foundation? No one knows it really, but it doesn't matter anyway. It's makeup and that should be enough.

The box, again, is spot-on perfect. It looks fine and high quality. While opening the box you are illuminated with its heart: the Illusion foundation. The foundation comes in a squeeze tube, which is, among everything else, travel friendly - light, easy and practical. In order to make it look less cheap, Hourglass engraved their name with gold and made cap in the pearl-shine black.

I was rather disappointed with the size of the tube. Hell, I paid $55 + tax and it should look like that! But it doesn't. The heaviest part of the foundation is concentrated around the cap. I checked twice if the amount is really 30 ml, because it looks like 25 ml at most. Don't judge a book by its cover, eh?

One squeeze is enough for my whole face - depending on the pressure! Honestly, a pea-size is enough to cover all the imperfections: from redness to basic acne. The foundation is extremely creamy making it a good option for those suffering with (high) dehydration. It doesn't cling to any dry patches and makes the skin look natural. It is not invisible, but if you find your perfect shade, you can imagine it being!

They claim it is oily free. Or they claimed. It went along with my oily skin quite good. I got 10+ hr of great wear before it started to fade around nose (it's winter season, anyway) and forehead. I haven't expect the foundation would last so long as I noticed (too late) with my second Sephora Hourglass sample that the foundation separates after few hours. I did set it with MUFE HD loose powder and Inglot Mattifying powder, and powder-blotted every three hours. The trouble I have with my skin ATM is following: my skin is oily and I use once a day AHA, but when there is a major breakout I use benzoyl peroxide on evenings which highly dehydrates my skin. There is no cure to bring the sweet skin on my chin back. Nothing works to make the dryness go temporary away. Fast forward: I applied Clinique yellow moistruizer gel, Clinique City Block SPF25 (due benzoyl peroxide) and The Body Shop Vitamin C primer. The foundation is very thick and creamy hence applied with FINGERS! I never ever did that before. And trust me, you'll be fine! It works perfectly.

I think this is Hourglass take on the (Korean) BB creams, but they don't know it yet! The foundation feels light, nourishing and soothing. It smoothed my complexion really well. Whatever they put in the formulation it is good to my skin. Very good.
The Shell in Illusion is not exactly the same as in Immaculate, being the first slightly darker. If ordering blind, Shell do correspond well one to another.

TO SUM: Originally housed in a very luxurious cylinder bottle and than changed into a not so luxurious squeeze tube, this easy bendable 'skin tint' offers medium coverage with only one layer applied with fingers, SPF 15 protection and a great wear on oily skinned (10+). It is highly hydrating and soothing making it a good option for those struggling with dehydrated or 'hungry' skin. There is nothing much that should be added only to try it for yourself - you'll feel pampered!

I would recommend it to ANYONE and will repurchase if I have the chance!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Flightgirl on 12/11/2014 8:39:00 AM more reviews by Flightgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Was put onto this by the girls at Mecca and stunned at the results when I saw how great my skin looked. I purchased this as a FOUNDATION it's quite a medium to heavy type tinted moisturiser and I think it's actually a bit wrong to sell it as a tinted moisturiser when it works better as a foundation. I use ivory.
The secret is to use the hourglass brush (I orig purchased without brush and went back the next day and bought brush- don't regret it one bit) if yo don't use the round type foundation brush with this it won't go on properly hence all the reviews of it being too heavy and not sitting right on the face. Pump a bit on your hand, dip brush in and whip it into the skin in circular motion making sure you get the bits around the nose/eyes etc. you can do a light cover for everyday wear or a bit heavier for a more covered look.
I am a flight attendant- no word of a lie I can wear this for 16 hours and it still looks amazing after I finish work and has brilliant coverage but doesn't feel at all heavy.
I set it with the hourglass ambient light trio palette and I use a concealer under my eyes with it too.
It's pricey but I was paying the same for my old foundation so would def repurchase. The hourglass foundation brush is essential to making this work. If I had of bought this online and not been shown how to use it by the MUA at Mecca I would of been disappointed too as it's def too thick to apply with fingers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 10/9/2014 12:02:00 PM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't love this. It goes on caky and heavy on me, very medium coverage. It is very BB cream in nature and not tinted moisturizer as the name suggests.

The colors run dark. I wear nude in this but online fit me with beige which was super dark. You must try these in person.

Nice tube but price is high. I will be returning this as it makes my skin look as old as it is--it settles in lines and emphasizes all cragginess. Not a homerun for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Madera on 10/1/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by Madera

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Absolutely, this foundation/moisturizer will not settle into any large pores. I tested all Chanel foundations, La Mer, Paula's choice, Estee Lauder, Lancome, Jane Iredale, Dior, Mineral fusion, Clinique, Maybelline, Smashbox, Urban Decay, Stila, and Mac among many many others.

This will not cake into large pores and it will not settle into wrinkles in harsh operating room lights or outside. My shade is Nude.

Seriously elegant. Wish it had some antioxidants in it and a higher SPF.

Beats any liquid foundation out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ek1974 on 2/17/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by ek1974

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Living in Canada, our winters are super tough on my skin. I get really dry skin no matter how well I moisturize. I was looking for a product that I could wear that would not accentuate dry patches and flakey skin, or settle into fine line but give me a nice luminous coverage. The beauty advisor at Sephora tested out the Ivory shade on me which is the lightest shade they make. I admit it is a little dark for being called Ivory as I could never EVER in the past wear a color called Ivory or I would look 3 shades lighter but this is NOT light as Ivory. I like the coverage but I don't like the fact that it is really difficult to blend or spread. It is really like a thick cream foundation. There is nothing "tinted moisturizer" about this product. It is super expensive at $65 CDN and I have spent less on higher end foundation (Armani) before this Hourglass product. The packaging is ok because once you are running low, you can scrape out the last bits with a Qtip or another thin instrument. Try a sample at Sephora first, make sure they give you enough for a weeks worth and try to get 2 colors to see which one is best.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 joeykeen on 1/27/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by joeykeen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

- My skin: NC25, combination
- I tried this in shade Ivory (seems to run dark, as I never wear anything that's called Ivory)
- Coverage - medium foundation level coverage, which is surprising given it's a TM.
- I tried this with: Paula's choice mattifying primer + MUFE HD powder to set
- Wear throughout the day: just a little shiny in my T zone (not bad), but getting patchy around my nose after 9 hours. Helped my bronzer stay on a bit longer. Rubs off easily.
- Summary: this is OK, but for the price ($65 cdn, I think), I want something a bit better performing.
I want to give this 3.5 stars.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 punkface on 12/29/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by punkface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for something with medium coverage that would be very moisturizing for my super dry skin. I bought this and tried it about 5 times now. I've applied it with 4 different kinds of brushes, used no primer under it, two other primers under it. It never looks good on me. Within 4 hours I look like a greasy mess and it starts wearing off my face and separating. I have to warm up the bottle before I use it so that the product actually comes out. It smells very much like sunscreen, I don't mind but others might. I'm returning this to sephora today.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Noi88 on 12/20/2013 2:33:00 PM more reviews by Noi88

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My mom recommended this and I don't understand why. It is a moisturizer that does not hydrate at all. I do not have dry skin but this made my skin look dry and fine lines were accentuated. The texture is tacky and does not blend well. The only thing I liked about it was the light-reflecting particles - only reason why I gave it an overall rating of 3 stars

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danadia85 on 12/16/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by danadia85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this tinted moisturizer. I set it with MUFE HD powder and it looks beautiful. I'm on my 6th bottle. I tried a lot of other foundations but they are either too cakey or too dry ( MUFE HD). So far this provides the best coverage while still looking natural, as long as I set it with powder. The color SAND is a good medium tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Tinted Moisturizer products