Lipstick Queen • Rose Sinner • Lipstick

rated 4.6(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 gingercurls on 3/13/2013 9:34:00 AM more reviews by gingercurls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love everything about this lipstick! The color is a great, electric coral pink that is bright and fun but not over the top. It is extremely pigmented, totally matte, and creamy. I love that it does not have any glitter or sparkles at all because that is a hard to find quality in a lipstick. Even though it was very pigmented, it was not at all drying and my lips even feel a little softer after I remove it at night. The color lasts for about 6 hours, through eating and drinking, and it fades very nicely into a subtle pink stain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yy302 on 10/29/2010 7:42:00 PM more reviews by yy302

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the best lipstick I have ever use-especially the colour- rose. Actually I bought three- wine, rose, coral. I thought wine berry coral are must have...but when I put it on...it's so gorgeous-rose!!! Creamy, not dry at all!!! AND STAY ON FOREVER!!!! I bought many lancome, nars, chanel, bobbi brown, mac lipsticks, but none of them are as good as lipstick queen! This sinner collection is you must have!!!!!!! Highly recommended!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SavvyChic on 2/18/2009 1:50:00 PM more reviews by SavvyChic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in a set of 3 at QVC that included the Saint version as well as a matching liner. The Sinner version is what I originally wanted as a true matte (no shine) opaque lipcolor without shimmer/sparkles is next to impossible to find anymore. I have some opaque colors but they have a sheen or shine to them, even if I blot. This is such a find for me! The color isn't what I expected though, but I do like it. It was described as "antique doll lips" but it looks more vivid cool pink than that. Not bright, but artificial looking. It has the 1940's solid look. I was hoping it would have been a dad darker, but will keep this as an evening color. It would also be good for work or shopping, but a day outdoors this will be out of place because it looks artificial. However, I don't like to look natural all the time and love the true matte rose on my lips. This does feel a bit dry, but I expected that as these matte are the types of lipsticks I prefer & it lasts a long time, too. I did try the sheer more moisturizing saint under the sinner (I exfoliated my lips and needed moisture that day) and it didn't work well. The shine came through and the 2 didn't seem to mix well. I want to buy more of the sinner versions like the rouge (QVC doesn't carry it yet) so I will post more reviews as I collect a few more because a true solid matte is so rare to find! Thank you Poppy!

UPDATE: I soon discovered this left bits of clumps on my lips. At first I thought I needed to exfoliate, but still it left clumps all over my lips. Back it went. I would try another color of Poppy's in hopes it was just that color that did this, but I read that the other color I wanted the review at that site said it pilled in her lips, too. If she could reformulate to take out the clumps & pills of lipstick, that would be great because I don't over apply it for it leave particals of chunks.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MizLiz211 on 11/20/2008 12:21:00 PM more reviews by MizLiz211

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I often have trouble with pink lipsticks. They can make me look chalky and washed-out, especially the pale, milky ones. Rose Sinner, from the wonderful Lipstick Queen line, is nothing like that. It's a deep, warm blush pink, almost red, but without the drama of a matte red lipstick. Rose Sinner looks more romantic than dramatic. On her website, Poppy King says that this shade was inspired by the rose-colored lips on antique dolls. I must agree with previous reviewers that the formula is quite drying - most long-lasting, highly-pigmented lipsticks are. I alternate it with the sheer Medieval lipstick to prevent my lips from drying out too much.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shesparkles on 11/8/2008 1:36:00 PM more reviews by shesparkles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this lipstick. I bought it for my wedding and have since worn it in my regular rotation. It is close to my natural pigmentation, although much more intense, obviously. It is a rich, matte, highly pigmented formula, but very comfortable to wear, particularly for a matte lipstick. I wore it all day at the wedding, with much eating and drinking, and only reapplied twice.

It retails for $18 and comes in a classy, slightly iridescent matte-black metal tube.

I took off one lippie because it is a bit drying after a full day of wear, but I have yet to find a lipstick that isn't, so please take that into account.

Pic wearing it (I'm the one in the lei):

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laratron on 10/15/2008 4:44:00 AM more reviews by laratron

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    



Lipstick Queen lipstick in Sinner Pink on unlined lips.
If the image above isn't working, it's mirrored at http://mac.larahill.com/swatch/displayimage.php?pos=-570


Rose Sinner is a creamy, warm-tinted rose opaque lipstick in a creamy satin-matte finish. It has no sparkles, shimmers or pearl finish. The finish is a slightly satiny matte with no dry feeling - applied straight from the tube it has a slight silicone feel but it's definitely not greasy or slippery.
Rose Sinner is a true rose with a slight warm undertone, but not so warm that it's unflattering on extremely cool-toned skin. It has no blue or fuchsia undertones even when blotted out sheerly. On me the colour is rich and succulent, the colour of blush pink rose petals. It makes my lips stand out against my pale skin but not in a stark, obvious way - the effect is more suggestive of a romantic, Renaissance-era portrait.

The lasting power of these lipsticks is unreal - I wore Pink Sinner (different colour from the same matte range) over Too Faced's Borderline invisible lipliner and topped with Lipstick Queen Shine gloss pot in Saint Opal and easily got 6 hours from it, coffee included. It wore down evenly rather than turning into a lipstick ring around the edge of my lips.

The packaging is charming; a deep indigo matte metal tube with a discreet Art Deco logo. It feels solid and sturdy and will survive rolling around in your handbag.

Rose Sinner is just a beautiful, pretty lipstick - it's not innocent, it's not sultry; it's just an elegant, adult shade of flushed pink that looks clean, fresh and a little bit romantic.

Would I buy it again? Absolutely. Consider me a Lipstick Queen convert.
Lipstick Queen lipsticks retail for AU$32 at Kit Cosmetics in Australia.


I am: Px B/R Camellia (palest pink-toned porcelain), black hair, blue eyes.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marsgaret on 8/29/2008 8:30:00 AM more reviews by marsgaret

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a gorgeous color--a perfect alternative for pale types who want a strong lip but have trouble with reds (reds go fuschia on me). It is a deep, deep, dark pink with a tinge of brown. This lasts for hours but does not dry out my lips. LOVE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 7/30/2008 9:54:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Poppy King is brilliant. I used her first line when growing up in Australia (started when she was only 18!) and am thrilled that she's back fronting her own brand again.
This colour is a gorgeous, rich rose - almost an antique pink. The thing to remember about Lipstick Queen is that the Saints are 10% pigment, while the Sinners are 90% pigment. I prefer the Sinners for their depth and almost-matte quality. No shimmer at all.
Wonderful, wonderful stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products