Clinique • High Impact Curling Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(151 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katwalker on 3/26/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by katwalker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First, I did not realize this was a tubing mascara when I bought it, so one lippie off for that - the promotional materials should make that clearer. I hate tubing mascaras and never would have bought it had I known. Second, I have flaking problems some days. I don't know what I'm doing differently those days (perhaps applying too much at once instead of in layers?), but it is annoying. Minus another lippie.Third, even with using a curler first, I don't notice a curling effect, and since this purports to be a curling mascara, another lippie off for that. Finally, I have long lashes, but after a week of using this mascara, they seem shorter (even when the mascara is off). I think the mascara or how the mascara is removed is breaking off the ends of my lashes. Minus two lippies for lash damage! I'm moving back to a traditional mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Doody999 on 1/20/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by Doody999

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is what I would term a "wet" mascara. Apply 2 coats & allow to dry then add a third and you will have amazing lashes; I'm frequently asked if I'm wearing false lashes! This mascara does not move - no smears, smudges, black eyes. However removing it is weird; even waterproof eye make up remover will not take this stuff off. You must wash your eyes with warm/hot water to "melt" it off; it then peels off like plastic - a little disconcerting but worth it for the effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ZannaSut on 1/10/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by ZannaSut

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this mascara in Brown, and it is literally the worst (and therefore fully the most overpriced) mascara I have ever used. As soon as it dries, it crumbles off, and that is no exaggeration. Secondly, and my biggest peeve with this mascara, the wiper is far too big and thus the brush comes out with so much product on it is impossible even to see the bristles any more. I have to scrape and scrape it to get it less goopy and disgusting. It's clumpy too once on. For a mid to high end mascara this is just embarrassing. If I can be bothered I scrape it loads and put it on my (quite dark) brows but mostly I can be bothered to mess with it, waste of time...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 demiller on 11/3/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by demiller

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Very easy to remove. Doesn't smudge or clump. Adds volume but takes time to dry

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CanadaGirlToo on 10/21/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by CanadaGirlToo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this mascara. It goes on really nicely and does not clump. I find that it stays on really well without flaking. It is not a waterproof mascara, but holds up really well even in humid conditions; I can even wear it to the gym.

I usually find mascara tough to remove. But not this one. It is super easy to remove. All you need is warm water, and then it comes off of the lashes in little tubes. A number of reviewers have complained that makeup removers don't work, but they aren't supposed to. I have never had an issue removing tbsp when following the directions. All it takes is a bit of warm water, and then gentle pressure to pull off the mascara.

Love this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 10/12/2013 1:04:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Another stellar mascara offering from Clinique.

I was given this as a Christmas gift from my friend who knows a thing or two about great mascaras but I would buy it myself after a very positive experience with the gifted one!

My tube lasted me a good 5 months of everyday use (I try to have only one mascara open at a time) - I think I would be able still use it for next couple of weeks as it was just very slightly dried up but still able to achieve good results but I am itching to try some other brand of mascaras - last two years of mascaras were strictly Clinique oriented (my other favourite is Lash Power which I have repurchased about 8 times already), so it would be a good time for some pastures new after finishing with this one.

As to this product, there are many pluses here:

+ thickened and elongated really BLACK lashes (shade 01 black of course)
+ lashes that are enhanced but not fake looking - it is NOT a subtle, natural lashes look by any means - it just gives this beautiful fanned out fringe of lashes visibly framing the eye
+ NO RACOON eyes!
This is my main worry with mascaras. My oily sunscreen that I apply underneath the eyes must dissolve waterproof mascaras or something because I always end with a blackened bottom lid - not a very good look in my case (I never put makeup on my lower lid). Not with this one. It survives showers, sudden downpours and lasts 12 hours easily, with no smudging. Yay!
+ easy to take off with a biphase makeup remover (I use Garnier one)
+ reasonably priced especially in comparison with high-end mascaras which sometimes are not of a good quality (hello Chanel Inimitable...)

The only minus I could find was:
- it does not keep the curl too well but I am not a curled eyelashes maniac (my eyelashes are delicate and thin and pin straight even after a serious squeezing session with Shu Uemura curlers), so this is making me to drop just one star.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lirong on 9/11/2013 8:00:00 PM more reviews by Lirong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It was a good mascara but made my eyes tear. It also dried very fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anachronism227 on 9/8/2013 12:49:00 PM more reviews by anachronism227

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the first high end mascara I have ever bought full price ($16). I made the leap from drug store mascaras because I have short, stick straight, almost downturned, Asian lashes and no drug store waterproof mascara has managed give me the length or volume I want. I had to pile on 2 drug store mascaras, which made putting on makeup take forever. In addition, since I have REALLY oily skin, all drug store waterproof/smudgeproof mascara give me the dreaded raccoon eyes after only a couple hours, and if I smiled a lot, forget about it- I became a raccoon. Clinique was having a gift promotion with a $25 purchase, so I decided to give this mascara a try.

What's good:
-Wow the length! My sister was there the first time I tried this and she immediately went, "Wow! I can see your lashes." I have used this for about a week now and NO RACCOON EYES! So happy.
- Without curling my lashes, this mascara does give a very natural looking slight curl.
- This comes off with soap and warm water! I watched a sad movie and teared up a little. I was careful not to rub my eyes and I have to say, it is indeed water resistant. Not sure how it would fare after a lot of crying, though.

What's not so good:
- It flakes. It's not super noticeable, but even now, I have a couple specks of mascara in my eye, which is a little irritating. The first time I tried taking this off with make up remover, it was raining flakes everywhere. I think oil based eye makeup removers don't do the job well, which might explain why this mascara doesn't smudge on my oily skin.

- Since this is only water resistant and not waterproof, it doesn't keep the curl to save my life. Like is said, it does create a very natural looking slight curl even when I don't curl my lashes, but when I do curl them, you can't tell I even spent the time curling.

- This isn't really a volumizing mascara. The name is "high impact", but I think it really should be called "high impact length". The volume isn't bad enough to make me dislike this mascara, though

Overall:
I'm very happy with this mascara. I think I'll never go back to drug store brands. Since I was using 2 mascaras before, the overall price was about what I paid for this Clinique one. I don't mind this mascara not holding curl because the length it gives me is worth it. It has cut down my makeup time by half! Considering that my lashes kind of turn downwards, any curl this mascara gives me that counteracts my lashes' natural downwardness is a miracle! I lovelovelove how it doesn't smudge all day. Only thing that would maybe make think twice about buying this again is the flakes. I would definitely recommend this for people to try! It reminds me of They're Real by Benefit, but this one is cheaper and I think I saw a more of a natural curl with this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fpih on 8/27/2013 6:03:00 AM more reviews by fpih

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Worst mascara ever for me. In fact it's the only mascara I threw away before it was finished, so I would not be tempted to use it again.

Well, it holds for hours without smudging, but no extra curl for me. But my worst problem is removal. No amount of warm water or waterproof eye makeup remover can take it off completely, and I've bought at least 3 different ones just for this. None works sadly:( And don't let me get started on the warm water; it leaves me with raccoon eyes and tiny residue all around my eyes, and I then have to use makeup remover to get rid of them. The tiny bits if left, irritate my sensitive eyes and I wake up with red eyes after using it (and having failed to completely remove it). My only option is to catch my lashes with my own fingers and peel the remaining stuff away, which yesterday ended with 3 lashes less for me, hence I had to finally drop it in the waste basket. Let me repeat again: worst mascara ever and if you have sensitive eyes like me, don't get near it!

The simple High Impact is much better IMO, but High Lengths is my HG and the only mascara I've re-bought 3 times already.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Oooooo on 8/17/2013 6:57:00 AM more reviews by Oooooo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the best mascara I have ever use! I had a hard time finding a mascara that actually worked for me, I finally decided that I would spend a little extra and get a more quality brand at sephora. I tried both the curling mascara and the non curling mascara, and the curling mascara worked the best. It lasts all day and night without flaking or smudging. I even swam with it once and it hardly came off. In my opinion this is one of the best high-end brands, especially for the price. The only downside is you can only take it off by sort of massaging your lashes with warm water, it takes a couple extra minutes but it's worth it for beautiful lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Mascara products