Maybelline • Volume Seduction Lipstick • Lipstick

rated 3.7(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 kabanger on 3/29/2012 1:57:00 AM more reviews by kabanger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The product leaves a weird cooling feel on your lips that kind of tingles. It did plump my lips though. The main problem I have is the color-berry desirable more like berry disposable piece of crap. The color was bad and very obnoxious. It's hard for me to find a lipstick that looks good b/c of the strong tones on my fair skin. This one didn't do the trick and made me look washed-out. Still in search of a decent lipstick color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweet_like_honey on 6/24/2011 9:18:00 PM more reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this lipstick! I can't believe it got some negative reviews. Yes, your lips will sting but that's because it's a plumping formula and contains cinnamon oil. It definitely plumps up my lips and I love how it goes on like a gloss but is pigmented like a lipstick. It gives my lips that "wet" and juicy look and my lip creases don't show after I wear this. (Give it about 15 min to reach its plumping potential.) I bought "Peach Plump", which is more of a medium rose than peach but still looks really pretty. I just ordered "In the Nude" too and LOVE IT! It goes on lighter than it looks in the tube and is a perfect beige nude for my NC37-40 skin. Overall I am very happy that I found this product and it's definitely worth trying if you want juicy, plumped up lips!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JustCee on 5/7/2011 11:06:00 PM more reviews by JustCee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this in 'born with it' and HATED IT! The fragrance was nice, but the color was way off! On the sticker it looked like a dark nudey color, but when i applied it, it was a dark pink / rose color. It's supposed to tingle a bit, but my lips tingled for at least 5 minutes, didn't find it that plumping either. Definitely won't buy this lipstick again - waste of money :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Saucygirl on 2/23/2010 2:03:00 PM more reviews by Saucygirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick. I just got it in Berry Desirable, a lovely berryish pink.

Like others have said, it is a bit tingly, but it's not that bad. And it plumps! Oh how it plumps! Not so much that you feel ridiculous and can't talk properly (ask me how I know) but just enough to notice. I only have one of these, but I'm thinking I'll buy another when Maybelline goes back on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PaisleyPrincess on 2/12/2010 11:13:00 AM more reviews by PaisleyPrincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This by far is one of the worst lipsticks I have ever bought, so much so that I ran... not walked straight to Makeup Alley to tell you all not to purchase this product. I bought this at CVS where they have it marked 50% off and for good reason. I have the receipt in front of me now to make sure I take it back! First I mistakenly bought a lip plumper which I don't need, this lipstick has a burning sensation that will make you think you dipped your lips in hot fish grease..i waited and waited for the sensation to wear off and when it did my lips had a numbing feeling like I had been to the dentist office. If there was a silver lining in all of this it had to be that the color was pretty and smooth, but still not enoughs pros to outweigh the cons. I highly recommend that you do not by this product and even that Maybelline discontinues it as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GoddessLaura on 11/24/2009 5:19:00 AM more reviews by GoddessLaura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand why people love these lipsticks so much. I recently purchased four of them (Peach, Toffee, Nude, Born With It) and was really let down by all of them. I saw no plumping action and felt almost nothing (certainly no burning, tingling of the lips). Additionally the consistency/color was really poor. This was like a bad mixture of lipstick and lip gloss, with a majority of the pigment settling into the lines of my lips... creating a very funky look.
I can understand why these things are being discontinued. Thank goodness I could return them!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ksells5 on 11/11/2009 12:02:00 AM more reviews by ksells5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought it at walgreens because it was a really good price on sale and at first it stung really bad but after other applications it died down! Luckily cuz I was about to toss it if I had to feel that burning again! I did one swipe on my lip and it got a really good color pay off, I was on my 2nd swipe on both bottom & top before I relized It was too dark on my lips! So im very impressed with the color pay off, Im not sure about the plumping part, I dont really notice a difference but it has a good color payoff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gialluna on 11/10/2009 9:28:00 PM more reviews by Gialluna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This is a wonderful product. Initially, I was concerned about the warning located on the side of the product and don't ever remember a lip plumping product with such a label. This is quite a bit more tingly than other lip plumping products that I've used (and believe me, I've tried quite a few). It did actually make my entire forearm that I used for the swatch (see above) extremely red and tingly as well, but went away after 20 minutes. The colors are gorgeous and it definitely delivers in the lip plumping department. The staying power is minimal as is the coverage, but the shimmer is nice. I purchased the (From Left to Right on the swatch above);
140- Petal Attraction : would designate this as a nude color
320- Passionate Plum : My favorite color. Absolutely gorgeous. It looks scary dark in the tube, but offers a beautiful shimmery plum color.
520- Crimson Crush : Okay, but almost like a lighter plum color, not so much crimson/red.
640- Tantalizing Toffee : Beautiful color that resembles a dusty rose type shade.
I purchased these on clearance at Walgreens for $2.19 so I really got a steal on a really great product.. Overall, I would recommend this product for anyone looking for a more inexpensive, but nice lip plumping product. Like the warning says though, be careful. It seems like more people are sensitive to this product that others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cejgeorgia on 11/7/2009 10:12:00 PM more reviews by cejgeorgia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this color in Born with it. For some reason it is a better shade than the other Born with It shades in Maybelline's other collections. Favorite color to wear over a lip balm and applied with a lipbrush looks beautiful and only slightly pink. I really like it, however, staying power isn't that great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* horkusone on 11/5/2009 11:19:00 PM more reviews by horkusone

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Yay! I am in LOVE! I have such a hard time finding lipstick that I like that I am absolutely thrilled to have one that I LOVE!

I bought this on clearance at Walgreens. There were not a whole lot of colors left and I got the last tube of Petal Attraction. I am a PPP with cool/neutral undertones and this color is perfection for my skin. Something funny here: I never buy plumping lipsticks or glosses b/c I have never heard good reviews about them. When I purchased this I had no idea that it was a plumper. So the next morning when I put it on, I thought I might be having a reaction to it. Haha. I finally looked at the sticker on the bottom and realized what normal people would have known all along. Oh and the plumping works! I noticed a difference within just a few minutes and felt a bit sexier as a result. : )

In addition to the working plump factor, the color stays put all day and is completely comfortable. It is not drying at all - most long-lasting lipsticks make my lips feel really dry and icky - and the color looks fresh well into the day. I worked for about 4 hours and then dropped by my house to freshen up and YAY... it was still there.

I am really hoping that the clearance at Walgreens is not an indication that Maybelline has discontinued this lipstick. Oh I will be so, so sad!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products