DHC • Scalp Cleansing Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.3(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 knitsnbytes on 3/21/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by knitsnbytes

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a clarifying shampoo. Usually, I use the "Light and Smooth" but (this is stupid) I love the packaging on the Scalp Cleansing shampoo and the moist conditioner (a squared pyramidal pump.) I use a clarifying shampoo in between using Wen, which builds up on my hair. This works great and leaves my hair very soft as long as I use conditioner (use either Moist Conditioner or the Scalp Massage Pack, which is a deeper conditioner.)

I love the pump, the scent is unobtrusive and it works well. I love DHC in general and keep coming back to their products. The hair products are good and with loyalty discounts, quite reasonable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* faireyfantom on 4/11/2013 4:31:00 PM more reviews by faireyfantom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine hair. I have to wash every day or I look like a homeless person. This shampoo is okay once in a while to remove build up. I used it every day when I received it and it left my hair crunchier and crunchier. I have thick, shoulder length hair and literally used about a dime to nickel size amount for my entire head. Lots of lather. The smell is ok. Even using it daily for four months, I still have at least half the bottle. Regardless, I would not repurchase this because it is so drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catttt on 12/6/2011 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Catttt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Received a sample to try. Love the light, fresh, citrus smell! Usually shampoo scents don't get any notice from me but this one really wowed me!

I think the formula is a bit more clarifying than average ones, so it could be drying with overuse but is good for oily hair days (when I go just a little too long between shampoos).

I got some in my eyes and it stung. I don't know if I've just always been careful of avoiding shampoo in my eyes for every single shower I've ever taken before in my entire life (unlikely, right?), or if this one is actually more sting-y.

I'm not opposed to buying this but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to buy it. If I received another sample, I would be glad to use it rather than using it just to not waste product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Clalog on 7/13/2010 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Clalog

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Este shampoo es my HG, ningun shampoo ha tenido tanto impacto en mi cabello.
Lo deja suave, manejable y super brillante pero sobre todo super limpio. Normalmente yo lavo mi cabello a diario, pero con este shampoo al siguiente dia mi cuero cabelludo está sin pizca de grasa. Lo deja reluciente sin resecarlo. Lo malo es que es algo caro, pero vale la pena el lujo. Sería bueno que DHC sacara un refill, como lo ha hecho con los demas shampoos. Gracias DHC por hacer productos tan maravillosos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kddn on 9/26/2009 1:01:00 PM more reviews by kddn

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have found my HG shampoo. I love eveything about it. It gets my thick, coarse, wavy hair clean and leaves it with a bouncy feeling. I could tell before I even dried it that it was going to work perfectly for me. It's a bit expensive but comes in a large container. Please don't discontinue this DHC.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wiseowl on 9/14/2009 3:31:00 AM more reviews by wiseowl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

In great agreement w/general sentiments of Georgiasweety. I'm someone who always is dealing with gunky hair and scalp in warm weather in Alabama. This will get your hair clean, no gunky feeling. Had no problems w/irritated scalp when I tried it on a daily basis, but did find my hair was getting a little too straw-like. Their accompanying conditioner, Moist Conditioner is great, though, especially for my climate. What I'm doing w/both products is, wash my hair w/shampoo every two-three days, always with conditioner, stretching it out as long as possible before another washing to avoid stripping, and in the mean time, when my hair needs to be a bit "refreshed", I wet my hair in the bath and use a smidge of the conditioner and then rinse off. But, think this product would score a four or five for people doing an outdoor project or are subjecting their hair to pollution-riddled metro area for a few days.
Update: Am switching my rating of would you buy this again to a no, but am keeping the overall rating the same. I'm using up the remainder of my last bottle to clean makeup brushes (which it does a great job of), but won't buy again--too much straw hair action. I find Aveda does a better job for me now in terms of keeping oiliness at bay, but without the straw hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 9/6/2009 12:19:00 AM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I feel this does do a good job of cleaning the scalp, and acting as a clarifying type shampoo. Its not tingly or minty, but produces a gentle foamy lather. It rinses clean, but leaves my highlighted hair on the drier side. My scalp does not feel dry, tight or itchy, but my hair feels dry after using. Not for daily use in my opinion, but as a weekly clarifier, or on days your scalp and hair are extra oily. I have really oily roots, and dry ends, long hair type for reference. I dont know if I would purchase again yet. Will update more later as I see how this works out for me. I used with the moist conditioner which is fantastic for daily use, and provides perfect light conditioning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bvfish on 6/1/2009 5:08:00 PM more reviews by bvfish

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked the samples I had tried, so I bought the shampoo and conditioner. They do leave my hair really soft and silky. However, after using for a few days, I noticed that my scalp was very itchy and oily. I took a break and tried them again....same result. Definitely will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 haleygodess on 5/16/2009 5:00:00 PM more reviews by haleygodess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

well ladies i must say i found a product that works on thick coarse hai,r it leaves it soft and super detangled, got shampoo and conitioner on official DHC site. poo was $9 and conditioner $6.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minchia on 4/27/2009 3:35:00 AM more reviews by minchia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Another high quality product from DHC. I have an oily scalp and baby fine hair, and could never go a day without washing. When I use this shampoo, I can go 2-3 days without looking like a greasy hobo. At the same time, it's not too drying and doesn't cause flaking.

It lathers up nicely, haven't really noticed any scent, and though $19 is pricey for a shampoo, you get a really large bottle (cool shape) with a convenient pump.

I doesn't seem to affect my hair coloring, unlike some other clarifying shampoos, which sometimes are too harsh and strip hair dye.

I bought it with the matching Moist Conditioner. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to do much for me. It's not bad, but it doesn't do anything special either.

I'd definitely repurchase the shampoo, but will skip the conditioner next time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Shampoo products