Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzer


431 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$


Chocolate Soleil Bronzer Ingredients: Talc, Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Boron Nitride, Sodium Saccharin, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Silica, Benzyl Benzoate, Flavor (Aroma), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Benzyl Alcohol. ( /-): Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742)

on 10/10/2015 3:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I'm usually a fan of very slightly shimmery bronzers but I actually really liked this one. I have the medium/deep shade (I'm NC20 but I thought it looked okay after swatching it on my hand) and it's a bit of a cooler shade. That said, I'm not sure how "deep" this actually is. It looks fine on me (although I would prefer that it were slightly warmer), but I can't imagine it would do a whole lot for someone with a deeper skintone.

It's pretty pigmented (although light to be "medium/deep" like I said) so I've started using a skunk brush to apply it instead of the angled blush brush (that I was using with my Lorac bronzer.) I know part of the appeal of this product is that it "smells like chocolate" -- personally, I find that it smells more like play-doh, although it's not necessarily detectable while you're wearing it.

on 10/2/2015 6:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

Light to medium skin, neutral to warm, NW25/NC25, combination, sensitive skin

I've tried many bronzers that look pink, orange,red, or shimmery on my skin. I prefer matte bronzers. I decided to try Chocolate Soleil and was hooked. It gives me a natural healthy bronze look, and isn't orange, red, or pink on my skin.

I apply it in a 3 shape ( temple, cheek, jaw) with a Quo bronzing brush.

I bought the travel size when Sephora sold them. When I'm done I'm buying the full size. A definite repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/18/2015 5:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sephora had a deluxe clamshell of this as a 100 point perk this week and it's exactly what I was looking for. Tons of bronzers run very warm which tend to look a little olive or orange-yellow, almost like curry or henna. These tend to wash me out! - or it looks like really dark orange blush in the hollows of my cheekbones. Not a very refined look.

The only shade available was medium/dark and has a neutral, almost cool tone to it. When I swatched it before purchase in-store, it looked like a dark brownish-grey on my hand. It compliments my skintone very well and has a faint scent of sweetened cocoa which is really nice. (Obviously, I love chocolate enough to put it on my face as makeup. Sarcasm aside, I really do like chocolate.)
It's very pigmented, however I think the medium/deep shade isn't all that "deep" ... I run on the fairer side, and with summer tanning I'm still around NC30-37 and the bronzer looks only a shade or two darker than my face/my hands.

At $30 retail price, I'd be hesitant to head to the store without warning to pick it up. There are only a few niche and luxury brands that I'd dole out some good money for. I heard some drugstore face powders from L'Oreal could be used as contouring powder as well (I'm eying the TrueMatch N7 compact which might be a dupe for this).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/17/2015 3:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this bronzer for contouring and it does a brilliant job. I accidentally bought the dark chocolate soleil when I meant to buy a lighter colour but I'm glad I made the mistake because it's a perfect colour for a good contour; although you need to be careful about how much you apply because a little goes a very long way. It's extremely pigmented and I only use the bare minimum on my brush, but I think you could get away with using more if you had darker skin than mine.
Other than that, I love how easy it is to blend this product and I think it's really nice how it smells like chocolate. Overall I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a bronzer for contouring.

on 9/16/2015 12:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a gift in Medium Deep and I'm quite fair so I was a little hesitant. But I have to say I'm impressed so far. I was previously using Benefit Hoola as a bronzer and I liked that because it's subtle but I used a lot more of it and it was still very light. So when I tried this, I told myself to go easy but of course I automatically used more than I should have just from habit. I have to retrain myself but it honestly looks quite flattering when it's applied light handedly and blended out.

I really love how it blends, like that's definitely my favorite thing so far. If it's dusty because of it's supper blendability then I don't mind at all. Plus I don't notice any dustyness or wearing off once it's on, just in the pan. Also picking up less product might make it less dusty, but at least it's not caked in there and too hard to get on the brush like some bronzers are. Plus it's not like the dust is wasted, I just pick it up the next time I apply this.

I'm glad this has that lovely chocolate smell (and taste, apparently when you get the dust in your mouth lol). I love that about their chocolate line. I don't usually care too much about packaging but it's cute and secure. Love Too Faced! <3

on 9/15/2015 10:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Best bronzer I've used!♡!♡
How I use this is when I apply foundation it washes out the color on my I add blush, which looks like two stripes on my I add this below the blush, not a true sharp contour, but adding a soft shadow below where I apply my blush. Then I blend the living heck out of it. And suddenly my face looks natural, and just so healthy. Excellent formula. And it really doesn't hurt that it smells like chocolate yummmmm!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my HG bronzer--it translates to a natural tan, it doesn't look orange at all, and it smells really delicious. I like Guerlain bronzers too but this one is imo better. The formula also lasts a super-long (I feel Rimmel's bronzer goes bad for example).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/12/2015 1:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Absolutely my HG bronzer. The thing that sets this apart from other matte bronzers is the fact that this one blends so well! It also smells nice and doesn't look orange. I highly recommend this! Blends much better than tartes park ave princess and benefits hoola.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/10/2015 6:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had really high hopes for this bronzer. It has good pigmentation but the shade is just too yellow-orange to look natural. It also kicks up a lot of dust.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a good product… just not for me. I use Too Faced Soleil Matte Bronzer in a color Dark Chocolate; it's deep to tan. I don't know how I feel about it since I can't use it for its intended purpose—as a matte bronzer. I have oily skin & was excited to find a bronzer that's matte instead of containing their usual shimmer & glitter. If you have my skin type, y0u know that sparkles can make you look dirty & muddy since the oils are already there. Though this is the darkest shade, it's not dark enough for me to tan. I'll have to use $30 bronzer as an allover face powder. I know I'd be able to do more with this if it was a shade or two darker!

I wear this both alone (on my bare face) & over foundation makeup. I apply it with a kabuki brush as I would any other pressed powder. The finish is smooth & really pretty; actually covers & evens out the red that's in my face. For it to neutralize redness & be as lightweight as it is really impressed me. It's amazing chocolatey smell comes from the real cocoa powder in its formula. As much as I enjoy this as a finishing powder, I personally won't go out of my way to purchase another simply because it's $30 & I can't use it to bronze/contour. For those who can work with the shades, however, I do recommend this product.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzing Powder- Review and Comparison to NARS Laguna by Lindsey Rose

Back to Top