MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1088 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 bridgetcowles on 10/2/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by bridgetcowles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first Mac foundation that I ever bought and at the time I thought I loved it, but after trying different brands/types I've come to the conclusion that I really don't like it at all.

I find the gel-like formula harder to blend than liquid foundations and it doesn't leave a nice finish and feels thick/heavy on my skin.

However I do like the dewy finish, and it also doesn't tend to dry out my skin like some other foundations do. The colour selection is also good, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BexyBeatdown on 9/27/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by BexyBeatdown

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product a few months ago as I'd heard so many rave reviews about it.
At first I wasn't too sure about it, I've always used powdered foundations in the past as I've always dreaded that 'shine' that can occur within a few hours of liquid foundation application but nevertheless I was willing to give it a chance.

At first I thought I'd made a mistake and wasted money on a foundation that was impossible to work with. No matter how much I blended it just wouldn't 'melt' into my skin, it was quite streaky and obvious I was wearing a 'mask' of makeup. I mixed it with moisturisers, tried adding some studio fix + but it just wasn't working. Not one to give up I did some research and decided to purchase a beauty blender sponge to help with the application process and WOW! What a difference it made. The foundation blended into my skin effortlessly and looked so dewy and natural. If you're going to purchase this foundation I highly recommend you invest in a Beauty Blender sponge, it really does make all the difference.

Agreeing with some other reviews that after awhile this foundation can turn a little shiny and if you're not careful, applying setting powder can turn it into a cakey mess. The bare minimal powder is needed and the brush you use to apply the powder can make all the difference. I use quite a fluffy brush and tap off any excess powder and just apply over my T Zone, if the brush is quite dense then it's extremely easy to go a little OTT with the powder.

I also avoid using this foundation under my eyes as it can settle into fine lines and be quite drying. I usually use my concealer alone under my eyes then just blend this foundation around it to match it in.

Overall this is a pretty good foundation for getting full coverage and a great finish but to get the best results it'll cost you a pretty penny as the results really do rely on the proper application which means purchasing the right sponges and brushes.

But at the moment I'm pretty happy with the results and will most likely repurchase again now that I have the know-how and right tools to get the finish I'm after.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsNancy on 9/25/2014 4:59:00 AM more reviews by MsNancy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this for 2 years and this is my HG foundie. I have a dry skin (sometimes combination) and this product goes well on my face. And when my skin is very very dry i use it on top of clinique moisture surge and found out that my skin is so plumped and glowy. It gives a full coverage but doesn't give you a heavy looks. It stays all day on me (i don't wear any powder ontop of it) After 7 hours my T zone started to get oily but not in frustrated situation. Even you only need to dab your face with a tissue and it's fixed.
And i found out that this foundation works best if you use beauty blender to apply. I tried to apply it with finger and brush and it was so horrible. It doesnt break me out so i use it as my daily make up routine.
You only need a little amount of the product. And dab it as concealer on the spot that you want more of coverage. It would give you a cakey and fake look if you put on too much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pebbles88 on 9/18/2014 8:57:00 AM more reviews by pebbles88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

had this for a long time - years and barely used it.
deciding to use it again and give it another go....

the first time around i HAD to use my fix+ spray after applying this foundation to give my skin a glow and some moisture otherwise it wud go grey and dry!! NOT GOOD.

getting bored of using studio tech now so gna try this again and update the review.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 missvanessaraab on 9/4/2014 5:05:00 PM more reviews by missvanessaraab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was so Excited to get this Foundation for my dry skin, but theres something about it I just don't like. Mainly the consistency its hard to blend and I've just been using it as a concealer. So bummed about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Makeup8910 on 9/2/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by Makeup8910

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I went to my local MAC counter expecting to try out Studio Fluid. However, the woman suggested I try Studio Sculpt instead as she says it's fuller coverage and is more suitable for normal/dry skin like mine.

The MA covered my whole face in the foundation and added mineralised powder and blusher.

I was quite impressed with the coverage the foundation. I was quite skeptical about my colour match (NC15) as i've previously been matched as NC15 in Pro Longwear and it was too dark. However it must be lighter in this range as it seemed to suit me better.

Unfortunately this foundation was way, way too dewey for my liking. It was also highly transferrable and I was scared of touching my face as I felt like it would have slid off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thenewjess on 8/24/2014 4:39:00 AM more reviews by thenewjess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am onto my second tube of Studio Sculpt foundation and it is an amazing foundation for dry skins who have trouble with other liquid foundations. Typically, powder of liquid foundations tend to go patchy over my dry skin, making me looked rolled in cornflake crumbs. Studio Sculpt however is not like that. It glides on and is so creamy and build-able. I have seem some reviews saying that the cover is way to heavy for them, but for me, I use a 10 cent piece (Australian) sized amount, and this covers my whole face. This amount gives me a medium coverage, but still looks really natural. It makes my skin glow , but not look shiny at all. I have read that sometimes it needs to "dry" before moving onto blush/bronzer, but I don't feel that is true for me personally. I tend to powder my face, but I find the lasting power is still quite good without powdering.

The one thing about this foundation, and a lot of Mac foundations is the colour match. This foundation tends to dry darker than it applies. I first got matched to NC30, which looked great in the store. I walked out of the store and about 30 minutes later my face was soooo much darker than it had been. So yeah the foundation does oxidise a lot. I then went back with my un used purchase and explained my predicament. The girl was great and gave me two samples of, one of NC25 and one of NC20. I then ended up exchanging for NC25 and it is the perfect colour.

Perfect foundation, will continue to use and purchase. One of two of my holy grail foundations (second being Nars Sheer Glow).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genarod on 8/19/2014 10:41:00 AM more reviews by genarod

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think I've ever put so much effort into trying to love a foundation. I really reallllly tried to make this one work--

As I'm getting closer to 30 I notice my skin is changing. And the full cover matte look (ie old school revlon CS) just doesn't seem to suite my skin anymore.

Since I still have a lot of textural issues from acne scarring, I was afraid to forgo the heavier coverage, but it's very difficult to find a lot of coverage *without* a matte or even powdery finish. In comes mac studio sculpt.

At first glance being a gel based foundation it is deliciously thick coverage. Sort of like a cream foundation such as revlon CS whipped, just not matte. I'd call the finish a solid natural-- not dewy nor matte. And it wears more *natural* as the day goes on and the product blends w the skin.

I usually prefer fingers to blend foundation bc I personally find it to be the most hygienic when working on myself. But that's impossible with studio sculpt. The product is so thick, there is NO way you can use fingers in a way that's affective enough at getting the product to meld into the skin and not look masky.

I found the best method is to use a very dense brush like shi foundation or elf flat top...

You have to use SUCH a tiny bit of this bc a little goes a longgg way.

Pros:
Color does not oxidize (unlike PLW and SFF that oxidize like crazy)
No flashback from what I can tell and looks nice photographed
Hygienic and travel friendly packaging
Generous amount of product

Cons:
If you are not insanely meticulous in applying this just right, it looks like an awkward mask
I feel like this makes me look a bit pale (nc15) and the jump bw nc15 and nc20 is huge.
Creases under eyes like none other. I have to just apply concealer and make sure this foundation is NOWHERE near undereye
IMPOSSIBLE to apply with fingers or in a hurry-- won't look right.
Breaks up around the nose in only a couple of hours
I noticed small clogs/blemishes around nose and cheeks after a few days of consecutive wear
This product NEEDS to be set with powder YET- looks cakey immediately unless a minuscule amount of powder is used (in other words, I reiterate it is difficult to work with...)

I got a sample jar at mac and was able to sample this for an entire month with that alone. THEN a few months later I went back to that same sample (gross I know-- and that might have attributed to the breakouts more than the actual product itself)-- and I sampled the foundation another 3 days again before finally tossing the remainder-- Which I guess is another plus for studio sculpt is that it will last forever bc of how little you need for full coverage.

I really wanted to buy this bc I thought it would be a great winter foundation (very pale shade, heavy coverage, not matte). Unfortunately in the end it's just wayy to temperamental of a product to work with. And honestly most times really doesn't look that great.

The last day I sampled it I was with my husband walking around an outlet (outdoors) and I found myself feeling very self conscious like I was wearing very heavy obvious makeup. I knew it was time to toss.

Oh! And I find this doesn't do any service for lines and pores-- it seems to accentuate mine a great deal. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Viesha on 8/6/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Viesha

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for about a year now, and I can't believe I haven't reviewed it yet. My skin is dry. This is a creamy foundation that provides medium-to-heavy coverage, while still supplying moisture to drier complexions. It also has an SPF of 15, and that's a must for me. The MAC rep matched me to an NW25, which is what I've stuck with. A little goes a long way, and one tube will last you several months. I apply with my fingers. I always feel polished and put together when I'm wearing it. It dries quickly to a somewhat matte finish, but it's not totally flat. I apply light powder over it, being careful not to overdo it with the powder, or else it will take on mask-like qualities. The coverage is amazing, so whether you have blemishes or not, this is the perfect daily base. The tube is hygenic. The only thing I would suggest is a flip-top cap. I highly recommend to those who want or need a full coverage foundation. I just purchased my 3rd tube today.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sashsvjet on 8/6/2014 8:34:00 AM more reviews by sashsvjet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Over all really good coverage; the consistency was too thick for me. But overall one of the better MAC foundations. I would purchase again. ...Only Con left me oily even though i have dry skin.

I would have liked the colour more if the mixed NC and NW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products