MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1078 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatDan on 2/10/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by KatDan

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

General: This is MAC's newest foundation that they have supposedly been developing for the last two years. It retails for $28 (US) and comes in a convenient squeeze tube.


Shade: My skin is light with yellow undertones. In other MAC fdtn, I am an NC25. In this formula, I bought NC20. It looked much more natural. I tried NC25 as well but it ended up setting darker + oranger.
I am not saying that all of the Studio Scuplt shades are a shade darker... But for me, for NC25 it was :)


Product: The product feels like a light-weight liquid. I wouldn't necessarily say it is gel-like or like MUFE Face and Body. It dries quickly but not super-quick. The MAC MA recommended applying primer before so you have more time to blend. I have used it with and without primer and didn't notice a difference.


Coverage: I have used it as medium to full... you can definitely make this whatever you want it to be. Also, it is excellent to use as a concealor on areas of discoloration.


FInish: The product sets to a satin finish... somewhere between matte and dewy. Oily gals will definitely need powder over this. I have dry skin so it is perfect alone. Speaking of dry skin: this did not accentuate flakiness!! I used retinoids and have flakies so this was important to me!

Studio Sculpt Concealor: I purchased this as well and love it! I got it in NC20 as well.


Overall, I have tried many foundations: MAC Studio Fix liquid and powder, Mineral Satinfinish liquid, Mineral loose powder, pressed powder, Select 15. MUFE Face and Body, MUFE HD liquid, Diorskin Nude (the new one), Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer, silk creme, Lancome Photogenic, Tarte Smooth Operator, every Bobbi Brown foundation... and the list goes on!!!!
This is the best I have ever tried. It looks the most natural will providing the best coverage. This is the first foundation I have ever worn that I got a compliment on.


Photo's: Just a final note... I hate when foundations make your face look weird/white in photo's... This does not!!


Conclusion: I would highly recommend getting a sample next time you are the MAC counter. I am sure this foundation isn't for everyone but I think it warrants a test run!
To add... I am break-out prone and will update with further use if it breaks me out.

UPDATE 3-9-2009: No break-out's. Still love this product!

UPDATE 4-9-2009: With continued use, I have loved this less and less. The application is super tricky... every morning I have to re-do it at least once. I have tried fingers, brush, and sponge and I have found that a moist sponge works best. My main complaint is that it doesn't wear well. I think this may be more of a function of my dry skin.

UPDATE 4-19-2009: I have actually stopped using this because 1) I started breaking out but don't *think* it was from this, but wanted to be safe. 2) The application is too tricky to get it to look natural and get coverage.

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Krylyn on 12/31/2008 8:55:00 PM more reviews by Krylyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I bought this from an eBay seller (I think I paid less than $30 including S&H) before it was officially released. I was a little apprehensive (I mean, MAC does not have a reputation for producing skin-friendly foundations). Nontheless, I was excited to try it.


This product is packaged in a jumbo-sized lip gelee-style tube. The cap is made out of the same soft-ish plastic/rubber than NARS favors for their eyeshadows and blushes (thus, stuff sticks to it).


The product itself is a pleasant surprise - it's nice! I actually like it! And, it doesn't oxidize (like Mineralize Satinfinish), and I haven't experienced any cakey-ness (Studio Stick can get a little heavy). The coverage is medium, but buildable. I have classic combo-skin (oily T-zone and dry cheeks) and this doesn't have a problem with sliding off my face (but, I do use P+P50spf & set with BE Hydrating Mineral Veil). I use NC15 (same shade as Studio Stick and Mineralize, Chanel Mat Lumiere Porcelaine, BE Light).


Overall: yes, I'd buy this again (assuming I need another foundation at the time that this runs out). I like the coverage, the wear, the shade suits me, etc. I have no complaints!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SusanMary on 10/15/2010 1:04:00 PM more reviews by SusanMary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am very particular about my foundation. First, it has to look natural, like skin, and I check it with a magnifying mirror to make sure.

Second, it has to last and have minimal rub off. There is nothing I hate worse than makeup on my shirt from pulling it over my head.

Third, it has to feel weightless. I loathe feeling like I have a heavy mask on my face.

Fourth, it has to be able to smooth over some nose pores and minimize some spots on my face. I don't need complete coverage, but enough.

Fifth, I need a shade that matches. Not one I can make work, but matches perfectly. I have not found this to be an easy task. In some lines the lightest is too dark, even though there are many people much lighter than me. Some are too yellow. Some turn darker as I wear them a while.

Most importantly, it cannot irritate or break me out. I have rather sensitive, acne-prone skin.

I have had all of my criteria met with this foundation. It can be used straight from the tube, which I like since you can control how much comes out, and get full coverage. You can use it with a brush and buff it in and get a medium coverage or you can use a dampened sponge to get a lighter coverage.

I use various techniques on different parts of my face - heavier under the eyes with a concealer brush to cover circles and a sponge with Fix+ sprayed on it for a more sheer finish on the rest of my face and use the sponge to stipple parts that need more coverage.

I can use powder or not, it still stays on. In the summer, I powder, and as my skin gets more dry in the fall and winter, I leave it off. At any rate, when I use this it looks like I have great skin, not great makeup.

I use NC 20 and NC 15 under my eyes and sometimes as a lighter contour when I am feeling energetic. When I get paler in the winter, I blend the two together for a perfect match.

As I get down to the end of the plastic tube, I will be able to cut it open and scoop out all of it which I cannot easily do with foundation in a pump, especially one in a glass bottle.

A little goes a long way so overall, I think this is a good deal. It works for me and I am quite persnickity.

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ninet9 on 12/8/2009 11:29:00 PM more reviews by ninet9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this foundation. the gel texture is nice to apply and the finish looks totally like skin - not too matte or cakey - just like real skin. The coverage is also very good. i have eczema, so i often get really red dry patches on my face. with studio sculpt, i just look like i have really flawless glowy skin. it is truly amazing. my skin is extra dry from the eczema, so extra care exfoliating & moisturizing beforehand is totally key. I've tried applying it a few ways. the MUA at MAC recommended patting it in with the 190 brush. i thought this was a little heavy and it would clump a little on my dry patches. so i also tried stipling with the 187 brush with pretty good results, but by far the best for me is to apply it with a damp sponge - again, patting it & not so much smearing it. it looks & feels really sheer & even that way, even though it is seriously covering up my red patches. i use the MAC mineralize skinfinish natural with my 150 powder brush to set it. it feels like i'm not wearing anything & random people who don't even know i have bad eczema have commented on my really great looking glowy skin. a little goes a long way - i just use a little pea sized amount. i actually think the more you put on, the worse it gets, so minimal is good. the coverage is so good that i rarely have to use the studio sculpt concealer. I find that if i need to remoisturize my dry patches later in the day, a little dab of olay age defying revitalizing eye gel is magic. it moisturizes without disturbing my foundation at all...not sure why i even tried this, but for some reason i just had an idea that a gel would be good since this foundation is a gel. NC42 with the medium plus Mineralize Skinfinish Natural is such a ridiculously good match for my skin tone that if i'm not covering up a red eczema patch, i have to really look hard to make sure i've applied this to my whole face. this foundation has seriously completely changed my life after struggling with the embarassment of eczema for so long.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smiley07 on 2/11/2009 4:59:00 AM more reviews by smiley07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

MAC - says that studio sculp was developed in response to a growing demand from backstage makeup artists for a base that really took care of skin during fashion week while providing quick buildible coverage.

The Formula - Ingredients inlude yeast extracts, sodium hyaluronate , shea butter to boost moisture, soft focus powders, Quercus suber bark, and a PCA that combined with a polymer helps the complexion look tighter and smoother.

Performance - it as a modern cream gel formulation, highly malleable and very natural looking. It can be layered for extra coverage, but it wonít build unsightly texture. It is sweat and water-resistant, has an SPF of 15,Best for all those people whose skin is lacking radiance.



im adding some Q&A by Gordon Espinet who is Vice President Global Makeup Artistry MAC Worldwide.You can find this on google but i have added here to help you undersand benefits of this new foundation.
Q: How does this formula perform differently from other foundations in the M∑A∑C line?
Studio Sculpt is incredibly versatile, which makes it unique for many reasons, since its texture is silky and creamy, gliding effortlessly onto skin while providing a natural, velvety finish thatís both modern and natural. It can be blended with moisturizer for a more sheer finish thatís never streaky, or combined with concealer for more full coverage. Create a matte finish by applying powder afterwards, or use Studio Sculpt alone to emphasize skinís natural sheen and highlights.

Q: Why was this product key for you and your team during fashion week? Has Studio Sculpt been used in any photo shoots?
We have anxiously wanted to offer a foundation that leaves skin looking well-hydrated and completely nourished, and can stand up to being used in various ways. Studio Sculpt can be sheered out or used with powder; it always looks flawless, which is a backstage dream. It is the perfect formula for both film and digital photography, in black and white or color. Itís extremely user-friendly, and the finish remains true and consistent in both color and texture.

Q: In your experience, what skin benefits have been shown with continued use?
Skin becomes more plump and hydrated, it give a youthful look.

Q: Some people can be wary of a product labeled medium-coverage, so who would you say is the ideal person for this foundation? What are their needs?
Studio Sculpt is ideal for anyone wanting to look flawless, but without seeming like they are wearing anything. In essence, this formula is for everyone. It can be easily sheered down to create a light veil of coverage, mixed with luminescent products to create glowing effects or layered to conceal any imperfections. Studio Sculpt will make your complexion look perfect, whether youíre dealing with dehydrated skin, unwanted oily areas, fine lines or discoloration.

Q: You always say we can judge how well something will sell based on how many products are stolen by models backstage, where does Studio Sculpt rate on this scale?
By far, this was the product we most had to keep track of backstage. Makeup artists and models alike fell in love with this formula, and didnít want to wait for it to be launched to get their hands on it. Studio Sculpt was definitely the number-one product that fell victim to ďsticky fingers.Ē

Its taken Mac 2 years to develop this foundation and to me personally having used so many foundations seems like the best so far.Have used Dior/chanel/Armani and many more ...Out of all the Mac range i feel this one has worked best for me.I use shade NC42/NC40 STUDIO FIX Satin finish and studio tech & NC42 was the shade i bought in this new product a it blends perfectly with my yellow undertones.The coverage is something you can play with you can apply sheer medium and full coverage but the result is always flawless looking skin.Have been using since last week and its not reacted with my skin or anything i have combinatio skin oily t zone when i use this i dont need to use any powder on top it lasts all day and my skin appears more plumper to me.Really think its best so farfrom their range. I am shade naturel in chanel vitalumiere shade natural in bobbi brown foundation nc42 in most mac ones except studio tech(nc40) in this Shade nude in maybelline .The packaging is great for me because you dont waste any with the tube and it is very concentrated a little goes a long way.
update.... the foundation seems o be working fine for me normally wearing foundation can cause alot of breakouts on me but been fine only thing its cold weather right now and my t zone does go bit oily so i will be curious how this works in warm weather. will update then.
UPDATE I NO LONGER USE THIS FOUNDATION OVER THE WEEKS I HAVE STARTED BREAKEAKING OUT ALOT AND AS ITS GETTING WARMER IT DOESNT LAST LONG ON MY SKIN SHAME








13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilMizz on 4/12/2010 9:27:00 AM more reviews by LilMizz

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a very tan/olive-golden complexion and have always had trouble with MAC foundations in the past as they always came out orange on me. I used to be NC42 (apparently) and hated the shade, but this time I got matched to NW35 - which is pretty much perfect. This confuses me as NW was, as far as I know, for shades with pink tones. However I have deduced that NC are simply too orange and I guess TOO warm on me, and I suggest that those who found the foundation too orange to really try the other side. The MA seemed to understand my skintone in a flash and knew what products would and would not work for me.


I don't know what's in this product, but this was my first venture back into MAC foundations for YEARS because I swore I hated them so much.... anyway I reluctantly and desperately ran to the MAC store on the night of my 21st birthday party in a panic over my crazy hormone wrecked skin. I was intent on buying the Studio Fix powder foundation but the MA kept advising me against it. I kept telling her I had oily skin but she told me I didn't.... THEN she took me to the mirrors there and showed me my face.. I saw such an horrible sight! From the facial I had previously, my skin - rather than being spotty or oily in the slightest - now had developed huge dry SCALY patches of skin all along my chin/jaw which I had been completely unaware of all day, I dont know when/how that came about. I was totally embarassed once I realised I had walked into this store looking like that. In the shock of this I willingly took in every recommendation the MA gave me, one of them being that my olive skin requires an NW foundation (still dont understand this, but it works!) and the second - that I should use this STUDIO SCULPT *THING* which I never read the reviews on here for, so was completely unsure of what I was getting into!


ANYWAY to the point, its been a few days since and Ive worn this everyday and I have grown to love it so so so SO MUCH. I dont know why this bland looking foundation seems to work so well on my *combination* skin. My oily t-zone always seems matte, not overly matte... just entirely normal under this, while my cheeks and jaw and everywhere else seem completely hydrated. I havent changed my skincare, only this. At work I actually had someone approach me and ask "Who DID your face?" and I was like huh? I work at Boots so she must have assumed one of the Chanel or Lancome beauty consultants did a makeover for me or something before my shift lol... I was slightly offended at the thought that people think my makeup is usually a crap job but yet flattered that she thought I looked that great.


I dont know what the hell is in this stuff, or why it works for me so well, but all I can say is - a foundation has never looked so natural, so radiant and so flawless on me. I thought MUFE HD was my HG but I've already given that away! I dont know what the secret in this is or why there are so many negative reviews, but what I do know is this is PERFECT for my combo skin, it has great staying power (zero touch ups required!) and I suggest anyone reading this to really give Studio Sculpt a try if you get a chance. Ive finally been converted back to MAC foundations.


Onto the foundation itself, I bought it in conjunction with the Select Cover Up concealer (NW35) and also the new Prep+Prime Brightening Serum, Prep+Prime SPF50 primer and Prep+Prime Finishing Powder. At first, the coverage did wear off a little but then I started applying it differently, using my fingers instead and patting extra coverage where needed. It feels so soft and smooth on my skin. After adding blusher etc I used the Prep+Prime Finishing Powder lightly straight after to set all my make up. THEN - this is key - 15 mins later, before I left the house I reapplied another round of powder - since then my foundation seems to stay put all day and I dont need to touch up. There wasnt even the slightest hint of shine on my nose after 5hrs. Without powder, it has an unusual consistency which leaves a soft/dewy feel on the skin which is nice for dry skintypes, but for me, my skin needs some powder. Also, this foundation always looks natural on me! It never looks cakey or blotchy and it did not ball up or wear off in patches. I know a lady who works at a middle range make up department who swears by Estee Lauder DoubleWear and I don't want to be mean but her make up always looks really cakey! Like layered on or something, and EL always looked maskey on me too, so having a foundation that looks and feels natural on the skin is so important to me and is why I love this so much more. Also liked how you can work this in many ways, from sheerest tinted moisturiser coverage, to full flawless skin coverage. **It is ALL in the application**. You just need to play around with it more. And also, I would not dream of using it with another primer, or even another finishing powder, I think this combination of MAC products works best for me (no Im not affiliated with MAC!). I could skip the serum (which I have no opinion on atm), but the primer and powder are awesome for a long lasting flawless look!

UPDATE:
Been using Lancome's Oil Cleanser (this foundation is supposed to be waterproof!) and follow up with my usual La Roche Posay foaming gel cleanser and my skin - so far - has been spot free. But I'm seriously acne prone (diet/hormone related) and usually give products at least 14 days of use before I see if they break me out, so I will update if that does indeed happen, otherwise assume the best!


Sorry for the long review!

UPDATE: Its so sad to say this :-( but I've started breaking out. Little sore whiteheads in random places of my face, couple on forehead/cheeks/etc - not used it as my acne is usually only on my jaw/chin area. Can't say 100% it was this, could have been the primer or powder, or the fact I came off BC, who knows.. you never know if this will work for you until you try it. Going back to MUFE :-(

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattyngeorge on 3/25/2009 1:39:00 PM more reviews by nattyngeorge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am horrified to see that this product has a rating of only 59%!

I have been through so many foundations. I've tried them all, believe me. My HG foundations include: MAC Studio Fix Fluid, MUFE Face & Body and MUFE Mat Velvet. I have dry to normal skin. I ran across buying this actually, because I was at the MAC counter to buy another studio fix, or to try their face and body foundation. I asked what the coverage was like, and the lady told me its heavier than fix fluid. I'm always up to try med-full coverage make-up so I bought a tube, and the concealer as well. I purchased NC37. And NW25 in the concealer.

Let me tell you what I really like about this product. For one, I like that it's in a squeeze tube, it is so much more convenient carrying around in your purse, AND i can't tell you how many times my bottle of fix fluid fell from my hands and shattered on the ground. Plus, there is more product. It is 1.3 oz compared to the typical 1 oz. The consistency is very creamy, moussy or gel-like. I really like it, it is very light. I just squirt a little in my palm and use my stipple brush. And BAM. My face is completely flawless. I then brush my face with a little bronzer and translucent powder. You will need to set it with a powder. It does give a dewy effect. (Which i like in this warm weather now, i look so healthy and revived) I find that the staying power is amazing, and it covers every impurity without looking cakey. You really do not need a lot of product. I typically use a lot of product because I like to pack on my makeup, but this spreads so well and covers so well.. you don't need a lot. Start out with a tiny bit on your hand and use your stipple brush and stipple it all over your face until well blended. repeat for extra coverage. What I also like is, I exercise indoors and out every single day, twice a day. I wear this sometimes, and my make-up still stays great. Also, if you need to reapply in a certain area (if you blew your nose or something), and you put more product on your face, it doesn't get muddy. It blends perfectly. I wore this every day on my trip last month, and my vacation pictures came out great.

If you didn't find it to work for you, my advice is to give it another try, try it with a stipple brush with not a lot of product, and make sure your face is moisturized. And set it with a powder. Not too much powder. I just take my powder brush and dust my face with a tiny bit of powder. Ask for a tester before you buy the tube if you're skeptical!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 flipper5577 on 2/10/2009 2:53:00 PM more reviews by flipper5577

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used a couple MAC foundations and this is how Studio Sculpt compares.


STUDIO SCULPT FOUNDATION [40 ml / 1.3 US FL OZ]: (NC25) I would say this foundation is more light to medium coverage. I applied a light coat with the 190 foundation brush and it evens out my skin but you can still see some discoloration from acne scars and sun spots. You can always add a little more to areas that need it. It is very light and feels like you are not wearing makeup. I usually set the foundation with a natual MSF (medium plus). The MA said that this foundation sets a bit dark so I got one shade lighter than I usually do in the Studio Tech. A good natural everyday foundation. Might even be able to mix it with you sunscreen to create a tinted moisturizer.


STUDIO FIX FLUID SPF 15 [30 ml / 1.0 fl oz]: (NC 25) If you want flawless matte coverage go for Studio Fix. It would be ideal for photos. I love how flawless my skin looks with one layer of Studio Fix and the foundation does not feel heavy. I use the 187 brush and then buff with a 181/182 brush. The only thing is that Studio Fix settles in the fine lines on your face and can look powdery in the sun. I like to care around an extra kabuki brush in my purse in case I need to buff. I've also heard that studio fix helps but I have not tried it.


STUDIO TECH [10 g / 0.35 US OZ ]: (NC 32) This feels a lot heavier than the Studio Sculpt and a little harder to blend. If you were debating between the two I would go with the Studio Sculpt. The coverage is about the same. Tech is a creme and Sculpt is a gel.


MINERALIZE SATIN FINISH SPF 15 [30 ml / 1 fl oz]: (NC 30) This is my least favorite of all the MAC foundations I have used. It feels sticky on and the coverage is light to medium. I am trying to finish up what I have so that I can Back to Mac the bottle. I would not repurchase this item. But I do love the mineral skin finish natural powders and highlights.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 poppy606 on 7/17/2011 10:52:00 PM more reviews by poppy606

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation can give a beautiful finish if applied correctly. Firstly a good moisturizer and/or primer to ensure your skin is silky smooth will help this foundation spread evenly over your skin. I also apply with a slightly damp sponge and work the foundation section by section. This foundation definitely needs a setting agent, I use a powder by day, or a touch of studio fix powder plus by night.

The best thing about this foundation is that I find the look of it improves as the day goes on. It last beautifully, and sometimes when I have been out all day, or caught out in some bad weather or heat, I expect to look in the mirror and find my "just left home" face gone. However, I am always pleasantly surprised that my entire face of makeup is still still looking fresh and fab.

I use NW15. After a short time when my natural oils have come through this actually looks even better than when first applied. I have combination skin, and I don't think this foundation would last without a good powder to set it. However it works well with the powder and does not separate like some foundations and powders that split during the day.

I would give this 5 lippies but it is not a "stand alone" foundation and only works when coupled with a good powder or other setting agent. If you can find a good combination that works well for you, the end result is quite flawless. Like any foundation you have to work it to suit your complexion and oil level. So my tips...good moisturizer, damp sponge, work onto your face section by section, apply a good quality powder or setting agent.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crimrose on 5/25/2010 8:10:00 PM more reviews by crimrose

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So, this is my first ever MAC foundation. I had heard from a number of sources that this gel-based foundation was good for oily to combo skin. I have normal to combo skin, with some areas that get oily during the day in my T-zone, namely my forehead and chin and the inner parts of my cheeks around my nose. So, through a good connection at MAC, I decided to purchase this foundation at 40% off, so I paid around $21 CAN for it. A great price for what this foundation normally retails at (about $35, I think).

Unfortunately, when I went to get colour-matched at the booth, the MA there told me I was an NW20. This is not so; I do not have warm-toned skin. So, not knowing what is what, never having bought from MAC for foundation before, I take it home and it looks horrendously orange on me. Why she recommended it, I don't know, but I thought I'd share my poor customer service experience with you. If you think a certain shade will match you, chances are, it will! You know your skin best in most cases (I originally thought I was an NC20, and I was right!).

So, after returning my first purchase (I couldn't get past the colour enough to really review the foundation itself), and using my real match for a few weeks, I can safely give my review on it now.

WHAT I EXPECTED: I expected a lightweight foundation with light to medium coverage, that could stand up to oil reasonably well before becoming shiny.

PACKAGING: The packaging is convenient and simple, coming in a clear squeeze tube. You have to be careful when squeezing it though, simply because when the product is pretty full (as mine is, being only a few weeks old), it will squirt out way too much. Less is definitely more with this product, so that's not so good. I love the fact that it's not in a glass bottle though, easy to throw in a purse or a bag if you want to have it on the go.

COVERAGE: The coverage is pretty nice on me, very buildable. I would say that you could probably build this up to full coverage if you wanted to, but it's mostly meant for light to medium, and might look cakey if you try to build it up too much. I'm 18, so not like I need a ton of coverage anyway, but for an older woman or someone with a lot of facial imperfections (don't we all ;) ), you might want more.

DURABILITY: This foundation is decent when it comes to oil control. It does get shiny on me after a few hours, but I never expected it to be more than that because this is not an ultra-matte foundation. It's usually about 3 hours until I have to blot, which is fine for me, though those with very oily skin will not be pleased, most likely. This does tend to melt a little bit in extreme heat (when it feels like 30 degrees out). It stays on very well otherwise, it is always still there at the end of the day for the most part.

LOOK & FEEL: The finish on this, as I said, is not ultra-matte. This is good for me since I don't have oily skin. It dries to a semi-matte, slightly dewy finish, a sort of happy medium between the two, which I like. It feels quite silky, it sinks into the skin well, if you give it a minute or two to set before applying powder. It does not feel heavy on me at all, because I apply it quite sparingly.

APPLICATION: I have used my fingers, a foundation brush, and a sponge with this foundation. The brush was a bit streaky, and though my fingers were fine, they made the blending a little uneven. A sponge seems to work best with this formula. The key to this foundation is to be very sparing with it - dabbing it on with a makeup sponge is the best application for me, and the way to make sure I don't overapply, because then it goes oily and greasy. It is quite a thick foundation due to it being gel-based, and can be mask-like if you really overdo it.

COLOUR SELECTION: It's MAC, who are famous for having a wide range of colours - you can't really go wrong here (unless the MA gives you the wrong colour...not mentioning anyone here...). You're sure to find something that's at least acceptable and close enough that it's not extremely noticeable.

WHO WOULD LIKE THIS: People with normal, dry or combo skin who want light to medium coverage, with enough moisture for dry skin and enough oil control for combo skin.

WHO WOULD NOT LIKE THIS: People with oily to very oily skin, the oil control will not be enough for you. People who want full coverage without the cakey finish, this is not for you. People who want very thin coverage, also not for you, this foundation can be very thick and opaque, and has a bit of a learning curve when it comes to application because of this.

I really like the look and feel of this foundation, overall. I'm sure there are plenty of others out there that may be better, but I love this enough that I will at least use until it's gone, before continuing my search.

BOTTOM LINE: Less is DEFINITELY more with this foundation. If you need more, look elsewhere.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products