MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1097 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 12/12/2014 1:07:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

SELECTED SHADE: NC37
APPLICATION METHOD: flat-top kabuki

PROS

- satin finish
- easy to blend
- medium to full coverage
- lightweight
- does not accentuate dry spots
- little goes a long way
- packaging
- long wearing

CONS

- price

COMMENTS: This was love at first application. The consistency is on the thick side, but it's easy to blend and feels light on the skin. I love the finish - looks very natural. It's definitely a satin finish and offers medium to full coverage. This is definitely suited for normal to dry skin types as it doesn't control oil much, but it didn't look bad on my combination skin either. A little goes a long way with this stuff, which helps to justify the price tag. I didn't find this accentuated my dry spots. My pores look blurred, as well. I also like the packaging because you'll be able to use up every last bit of it; plus you get a little more than your standard 30ml amount. This is worth checking out if you're not among the many who breakout from MAC foundations.

Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AbiPres on 12/7/2014 5:31:00 AM more reviews by AbiPres

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm really gutted I don't like this foundation as I really wanted to, I love mac foundations having used prolongwear and studio fix before although I was getting fed up with the "full coverage" and "made up" look I wanted something with more of a satin or dewy finish and I found this, as it sates it has a satin finish but with medium / buildable coverage which sounds awesome but honestly this just doesn't work, as it's gel based it sets very fast so you have to work quickly. If you only want to use a small amount for a lighter coverage it's difficult as it sets and is so hard to blend out. I have really easy skin to work with I can pretty much use anything without any oiliness or dry patches but after an hour or two of wear my t zone is glowing I found myself having to powder constantly. It sets into fine lines terribly underneath the eyes making the skin look dry and cakey (ew) and on the forehead making me look old and I'm only 23!!! I didn't even notice I had lines on my forehead until this foundation highlighted them for me lol! Some people really love this though so maybe it's just not what I wanted as I said before I wanted to come away from the cakey full coverage appearance and with this I feel like you have to use a lot of product for it to blend.

On a positive I really like the smell of this it doesn't seem to have that paint scent like studio fix does, and the packaging is really good as it's a squeeze tube you will get most of the product out of it. But for me that's as far as the positives go! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 krystaljohnston on 12/3/2014 12:52:00 AM more reviews by krystaljohnston

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i am so obsessed with this foundation! i bought it with high expectations because of my fellow youtubers recommendations and i am blown away. it has a semi matte finish and DOES NOT BUDGE! lasts all day on me even without setting it :) would highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sophhh on 12/1/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by sophhh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have a lot of mixed feelings about this foundation. I had really high expectations for Studio Sculpt because one of my favorite youtubers had shown a clip of her wearing it and it was absolutely stunning on her. I had gotten a sample from MAC in NC42 not too long ago. I used the RT Buffing Brush to apply this and I must say it took some time to blend. After it was thorougly blended in, the finish was gorgeous: beautifully dewey & healthy. If you're not into the whole glowing skin trend, this is not for you. Despite the beautiful finish, I felt obligated to set it with powder which I don't usually do all over my face, but this foundation was SO sticky. I wore this for 12 hours, but by the third hour my face looked like it came out of the McDonalds deep frier. The lasting power was not all that great either. Loved it at first, but I just hated walking around with that sticky feeling and on top of that I looked like a grease-ball. Therefore, I wouldn't recommend this to my oily skin girls out there. Maybe dry?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* csquared14 on 11/22/2014 10:29:00 PM more reviews by csquared14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this! I thought that I was set for awhile with my MAC Studio Fix Powder + Foundation, but then the freezing cold winds of New York's winter started blowing in, and I realized that there was no way my face, which turns into a desiccated tundra during the cold months, was going to make it through the winter on a powder foundation. I really adore MAC for skin makeup, so I started looking at their options and settled on Studio Sculpt because of its creamy consistency and hydrating properties. I'm so happy that I did.

I purchased this in NC40 (same shade I was in Studio Fix, and I'm NC42 in my Pro Longwear concealer). I always appreciate MAC's division of the cool and warm skintones - one of my issues with other brands is finding the correct undertones. I ALWAYS moisturize and prime underneath (I've been using Laura Geller's Spackle), which I think is important because this does have a dewy finish and would probably disappear pretty quickly sans primer.

One thing I will say is that I've tried applying this with my fingers, and it just didn't work out that well - it was difficult to blend and streaky. While I sort of hate to say this, this is definitely a product made for the Beauty Blender (I didn't have much luck with a foundation brush either). Once I used that, it became easy to apply and get a nice, even finish. I have some pretty bad acne scarring, and this goes a long way in covering it up (I still need some concealer on the very dark areas and under my eyes). I really just need one squeeze for my face. It doesn't feel caked on at all, which is lovely. I would say this gives medium to high coverage, depending on if you layer it a bit - if you are looking for a sheer tint, this definitely isn't it, and while it doesn't look incredibly natural or anything, the dewy finish means that it doesn't give you that matte dollface (which may or may not be your thing).

I sort of hate MAC's pumps - I always end up having issues with them (looking at you Pro Longwear Concealer pump) - so I was super happy to see that this came in a tube. It also has SPF, which is a happy bonus as it eliminates a step in my routine. For $31 at Macy's, this was absolutely worth the buy (a foundation of this quality from another prestige brand will easily cost you $10/$20 more). I don't have issues with breakouts, but I also religiously remove my makeup as soon as I get home and am on prescription acne meds, so I might not be the best person to speak to that because I'm medically obliterating everything in my pores each night :).

Bottom line: highly, highly recommend. Will definitely repurchase. I anticipate going back to Studio Fix Powder + Foundation in the humid summer, but I think that this is my winter foundation moving forward.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brenda0Thmsn on 10/28/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by brenda0Thmsn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect foundation gives you a perfect complexion

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 acorsaut on 10/28/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by acorsaut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a lover of pretty much all things MAC, and this is no exception - except in the summer time. During the year, I switch between this foundation and Studio Fix Fluid; the shade of my skin is somewhere between an NW 15 and an NW 20, so I'm always mixing the foundations.

This foundation I really like because in the winter is seems to set way better than in the summer and it keeps my skin from drying out. I don't have dry skin all the time, just the winter months where I live tend to dry things out. I love that in the winter this will go on smoothly and will set quickly (probably due to the dryness of the air) and it's buildable, meaning I can cover my redness without any issue although the foundation itself usually does a really good job. What I will say is that I have to totally let it set (and I usually do this with Fix + from MAC) or else when I put on powder/blush the foundation will lift.

I get how some users find this isn't great for them after using a product like Studio Fix Fluid but I find for the winter, this is pretty much my go to unless I have an event where I know I will be inside with lots of people and it's probably going to be hot. However, for every day (and I wear full make up every day) this is awesome and I have no regrets about buying it. The only issue is I wish MAC would make a shade between NW 15 and NW20 so I don't have to keep buying 2 foundations to mix.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kharris5 on 10/14/2014 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Kharris5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I recently picked this up, and overall I am happy with it. I wish it was thicker coverage. I have acne though, so most would like this as is. I use concealer with it. I wish I could eliminate the second step of concealer, and have this work all by itself. However, acne makes everything more difficult.
My skin used to be combination but now it is dry and almost flaky due to acne medicine, but this foundation is not cakey or flaky. I will say if you have oily skin I don't know if it would work for you.
It smells weird, but you don't notice once it is on.
Unless my skin changes, I will continue to buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angelseleena on 10/4/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by Angelseleena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was extremely hesitant to buy this because I haven't seen that many good reviews on it but I went along and bought it because I heard that the finish is nice and dewy which I like. I use face & body as well as this, and this give a nice natural finish but is more full coverage. :) long lasting, and has a variety of color matches. I'm NC30 in this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bridgetcowles on 10/2/2014 6:20:00 AM more reviews by bridgetcowles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first Mac foundation that I ever bought and at the time I thought I loved it, but after trying different brands/types I've come to the conclusion that I really don't like it at all.

I find the gel-like formula harder to blend than liquid foundations and it doesn't leave a nice finish and feels thick/heavy on my skin.

However I do like the dewy finish, and it also doesn't tend to dry out my skin like some other foundations do. The colour selection is also good, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products