MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

E.L.F. • Studio Line Eyeshadow 'C' Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.4(173 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thewomanwarrior on 12/29/2008 8:26:00 PM more reviews by thewomanwarrior

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the new Studio Eyeshadow "C" Brush. If you're wondering why they call it the "C" brush, please feel free to read the description on the ELF website. Like the other new ELF studio makeup brushes (I've purchased a few others), the bristles are made of synthetic taklon fibers. The Studio brushes are packaged in a shiny ziploc case (the front part is a clear plastic and the back is silver..it looks like it is foil material). You tear the top portion of the case and open it to get the brush out. The ELF Studio makeup brushes also have a chemical scent but don't worry. All you need to do is wash the brush once and the smell automatically goes away. There is no bleeding or shedding with the new studio makeup brush. Basically, this Studio Eyeshadow C Brush works the same as the ELF regular eyeshadow brush. They're both soft and multipurpose eyeshadow brushes (applying color on eyelid, crease, browbone, and blending). If you're already a fan of the regular eyeshadow brush, you will love the C brush. The main differences between the two are color, size and bristles material. The C Brush is completely black, longer and the bristles are synthetic. Since it is synthetic, the C brush is excellent for usage of applying wet eyeshadows or cream eyeshadows. The regular eyeshadow brush, in my opinion, doesn't perform as well when applying wet eyeshadow or cream eyeshadow. However, the regular ELF eyeshadow brush is better for applying dry eyeshadow and blending than the C brush. In addition, since the C brush is synthetic, it doesn't pick up a lot of eyeshadow (dry) like non-synthetic brushes. I've noticed this with most synthetic eyeshadow brushes. Despite that, I still give it 5 lippies. Go ahead and try the "C" Brush. It's only 3 bucks. You won't be disappointed!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trillium13 on 6/7/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by trillium13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I had this brush for a long time, and hardly ever used it, because I found it too dense to apply powder shadows. Recently I've been getting into cream shadows, and this brush is PERFECT for applying them! It picks up the perfect amount of shadow. You can use one side to place the shadow on your lid, then flip the brush over to blend the edges. Voila, perfectly applied cream shadow! Love this brush now!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melissamberry on 5/27/2013 3:37:00 PM more reviews by melissamberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

This is a synthetic eye brush so it works better with cream/liquid products than powder. B/c of this, it's softer and more comfortable on your eye than the $1 one. With powder products, it's okay, nothing to write home about. It does the job, but not better than a natural bristled brush. This brush is awesome for cream eyeshadows, though. I use it with my color tattoo, and you could use this with a primer/base. Would recommend!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cinnamin2 on 9/4/2009 1:24:00 AM more reviews by cinnamin2

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

HG status!! picks up lots of color... no fallout...blends nice and evenly...Favorite Brush.... it does everything that i want it to do and i have amazing results everytime. i have actually had to revamp my whole look for this brush. i used to not wear shadow much and if i did it was one wash of color on my lid until this brush transformed the chore of applying into a relaxing experience. i have mastered new techniques... i kno im gushing but i do think its amazing

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 11/8/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a great eyeshadow brush. Use it flat against the lid and it works really well for applying shadow all over, or turn it on its side and use the tip of the brush to fill in color in the crease. The brush head is dense enough to pick up color well and smooth enough to blend it in beautifully. The bristles are synthetic but soft and have minimal fallout. This brush costs $3 and I think it's a must have for any eye shadow kit. My only issue with it is that the bristles really stiffen up and become less pliable after a couple washes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 8/1/2012 2:02:00 AM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm with the last reviewer who stated that she bought multiples of this brush; I just bought my second one so I can use them over and over. It's soft as a feather and the bristles are packed densely but not too tightly, allowing it to pick up just the right amount of shadow. There are some shadows that just give you fallout no matter what, but this has definitely given me more control over those glittery ones. I love this brush so much I just can't stand that people are paying so much for brushes when this one's $3.00!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mjadams92 on 5/26/2012 8:23:00 PM more reviews by mjadams92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Considering I am a broke college student, I didn't want to drop too much money on a brush and not have it work. I was pleasantly surprised! The brush picks up a good amount of pigment and I have noticed minimal to no shedding. Overall it is a great value for its price. I should be getting my second one in the mail soon so I don't have to wash brushes so often.

Disclaimer: I have not used any high end brushes, so I haven't been spoiled :P

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 5/8/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this brush, as with most of the Elf Studio brush.. now my review may be biased considering i am poor & on a tight budget so i only use affordable/cheap brushes but really i dont feel like i need to spend a fortune bc my brushes work & this one is a MUST HAVE!
~~PRICE/AVAILABILITY~~
The Elf Studio single brushes or sets can be found on the eyeslipsface website as well as some Target, Kmart, Sears Grand stores. The availability will vary depending on your location. The price is amazing on the brushes, each brush is only $3 or even less if you wait to get a good sale on the elf site or use retailmenot website for coupon codes. Either way, these brushes are well worth the $3 price tag. They are def better quality then the Elf $1 brushes.
~~PERFORMANCE/USES~~
The Elf Studio line Eyeshadow C Brush according to the Elf site: "This anti bacterial, synthetic haired Taklon brush is softer and more absorbent and can be used with wet or dry products. Be a professional makeup artist and create a flawless look with this e.l.f. Studio brush!
Creates the perfect smokey eye
The medium size brush gives more control for more specific blending needs
Use with any powder eyeshadow product for color blending."
This brush is your standard shader but a bit more dense & fuller. This brush can be used for so many things so id suggests picking up two since i use it daily & like to wash & alternate. This brush can apply, pack and blend out shadows amazing! It resembles the $1 eyeshadow brush thats amazing but this one is more fuller & a tad less flexible. The sturdiness allows packing & good blending. If you use the very tip, you can def smoke out any shadow. or use the base side, it will pack on shadows while blending out the edges! its truly an amazing brush. I didnt know if it was worth it since i love the $1 brush but they serve different purposes. This brush is well worth it & its synthetic so it also can place & blend out cream or liquid products with ease.
~~PACKAGING/UPKEEP~~
The Elf Studio brushes are very simple but sleek and pretty. They def look better than the $1 brushes. But id rather a brush perform better than look better. But all the Elf Studio brushes are a matte black handle & ferrule as well as black synthetic bristles. The Elf logo as well as brush name is located on the handle in white stamping/paint. It makes it nice to see which brush is which. (if you dont want the letters to fade over time, applying a thin layer of a clear nail polish over it will help store it longer but its up to you) The bristles on all of these brushes are synthetic but nice & soft. Very soft & perform very well. This makes it nice since you can use wet or dry products on brush w/out fears of ruining them. I have not had a single bristle shed on any of my brushes thus far & ive owned these all for at least 2 years with at least once a month deep cleaning plus daily cleansing. The ferrule has came loose on one of my brushes but nothing super glue wouldnt fix. Its fine with me. It was probably from washing when it become loose. These wash very easily as well as dry time is not super long as say natural hair brushes would be. I like that i can wash them today & by tomorrow i can use them. The bristles have not changed since washing my brushes & have remained intact & shaped since day one. I think its amazing that a $3 brush has had help up better than one that i spent at least 3x as much for.
Overall, the Eyeshadow C brush is an amazing brush & id highly suggests to everyone. I have two of these & plan on picking up one more for cream shadows. They apply and blend eyeshadows with ease & have made looks so easy and look professional- when im far from it! Theyre a valuable brush and def would repurchase over & over if i had to!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sbgitana on 9/26/2011 2:31:00 AM more reviews by sbgitana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

E.L.F. Studio Line Eyeshadow 'C' Brush
I bought at Target.

I've been wanting to add more brushes to my collection. I've only used MAC brushes and heard there were some great quality low cost drugstore brands. So I dove in and tried E.L.F.

Quality of bristles:
The hair and bristles are soft but have structure to them. This is not a flimsy brush, they are tightly packed which helps to pick up and deposit color easily.

Design of brush:
This brush is designed in a way that allows you to either 1. Sweep color onto the entire lid area or 2. Pack it on in sections. I love that it can do both.

Performance over time:
I've deep cleaned my brush on more than one occasion: no fall out or changing of bristles.

Cost: Inexpensive.
My rating scale is: EXCELLENT, GOOD, FAIR AND POOR
My rating is EXCELLENT for this product.
This gets a thumbs up from me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sgoosie on 4/30/2014 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Sgoosie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I luv this brush I swear it feels high end I use it for my naked palettes works better then the brushs that come with it and I've noticed most ELF brushs can take a beaten I've had a fe that last a few years and that's with every day use !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Makeup Brushes products