Revlon • Matte lipstick in Mauve It Over • Lipstick

rated 4.3(221 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ang_c on 9/10/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by ang_c

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If MAC's Kinda Sexy and Velvet Teddy had a baby, it would be Mauve It Over. It's more toned down than Kinda Sexy but less brown than Velvet Teddy. It's also a thinner and more moisurising texture than the MAC mattes (although I do love the matte in Chili). Apparently it has been discontinued so I picked up a couple on ebay. It's not my everyday lippie (MAC's Modesty for that) as it's a bit too orange, but it's a great nude for nighttime when you need a little more warmth in the darker light. I think the two tubes will last me a while so I have said no repurchase.

edited - too orange for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eveana on 9/2/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by eveana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i am not the type of girl who cant live without their lipsticks. mostly I feel tacky whenever i put my lipstick on :( but I think this Mauve It Over from Revlon is the best shade for me because the color doesn't make my face become "too much". I've tried several bold lipstick color such as red and pink and also the very nude one but they were BIG NO for me. Try not to over swipe this lipstick or your lip might end up looking cakey and not natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jelloobeans on 9/2/2014 5:18:00 AM more reviews by jelloobeans

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was first wary of the color because I always pictured "mauve" as having purple, lilac or violet tones. This is actually kind of a neutral taupe - a pink-peach brown with warm undertones. It looks darker in the tube than on your skin or swatched. Considering this is a light and nude shade, you actually get good pigmentation, plus this applies smooth and not too drying. Love this shade, a perfect lips-but-better for me. Here's my in-depth review if anyone is interested:

http://www.jellobeans.com/2014/07/revlon-matte-lipstick-in-mauve-it-over-review.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Doodleses on 8/13/2014 6:44:00 PM more reviews by Doodleses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has GOT to be one of the hardest matte shades to find locally so thank Heavens for online shopping! I tenaciously waited for the mailman to deliver this into my mailbox so the Texas sun wouldn't melt it, cause it to spontaneously combust, turn to ashes and whathaveyou. My favorite lipstick bullets are the ones that are still intact and in pristine shape.

The manila package was ripped into, and as I burrowed my hand in to grab the tube of lipstick, I was shocked to see a dark lipstick. Mauve It Over physically doesn't look like what it does on camera. We're talking a dark, honey-black shade in the tube that a punker would've worn in the 90s -- or one of the many shades of brownbrownbrown that Hollywood was obsessed with back then. There's also a slight glitter to mine (isn't this matte?!). It got me skittish.

Anyhow, upon application it came out the wonderful peachy-nude/pink brown shade that so many women have fallen head over heels over. This'll definitely be a regular in my beauty arsenal (perhaps a daily lippie?!). But what's weird is just that my bullet is 3-4 shades darker than what comes on, and it's just your run-of-the-mill matte lipstick (you usually expect that effect from a gloss).

In person, in stores, I probably would've never reached for this. But I'm so glad beauty bloggers posted their rave reviews and swatches for choosy customers like me to make up their minds!

Mauve It Over is easily a noteworthy MLBB shade, as well as a trendy 60s mod color with some peachy rouge (which is what I've been pairing together)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bubblepowerflower on 8/1/2014 2:07:00 AM more reviews by bubblepowerflower

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I seriously believe this is a lipstick everyone can wear. I don't know anybody that couldnt pull this off. All skin colors and ages should have this lippy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Artyui on 7/31/2014 11:51:00 PM more reviews by Artyui

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Nice matte lipstick i ve ever use, very smooth and moisture my lips, yet stay matte looked although you could see a bit shiny from near. Nice shade on me, perfect with my olive skin tone. If you want to stay matte but still moisturize your lips i think this product will work on your lips also on your pocket since the price is standard for a lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cristinas16 on 7/1/2014 4:40:00 PM more reviews by cristinas16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I looove this product! I bought it a while ago.. it's the perfect natural lip color, it doesnt wash you out so... overall a really great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mushimeow on 6/25/2014 7:35:00 PM more reviews by mushimeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this colour! An everyday wear. It's a dupe for MAC kinda sexy. Must have to the collection 💄

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jinxybells on 6/23/2014 4:39:00 PM more reviews by jinxybells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an MLBB which wouldn't cost me too much money, so when I was running around the Internet, I saw pictures of people wearing Mauve It Over and it looked so perfect! And it is! It's the perfect MLBB for me. I would tell you my MAC skintone, but I've never been matched, so I'll just say that I have Asian skin with rather yellow undertones, and am not very fair.

It glides on very well and doesn't highlight any dryness on your lips. Lasts several hours but will come off if you swipe your lips with a tissue paper. Even then, it still leaves a soft stain. I would say it's a coral-pink nude that's just great for every day use. Doesn't stand out too much, but is very flattering. Another bonus is you don't have to worry about it slipping all over your lips, and it isn't drying either!

Have I mentioned it's very inexpensive? I bought it here for about 5 Euro on sale, regular price should be around 7+ Euro.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tjh246 on 4/21/2014 4:19:00 AM more reviews by tjh246

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nude lipsticks make me look pale because of my Asian skin tone, but the darker colour of this one gives a really classy nude look that doesn't make me look sick. It goes on creamy and smooth but sets matte without drying out my lips too much. Every time I wear it I find something else I like about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products