Unlisted Brand • Avanti- Silicon Mix • Treatments

rated 3.3(28 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 nanaknickers on 2/26/2014 11:04:00 PM more reviews by nanaknickers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

***This review is for the Silicon Bambu NOT the Original***

I love this stuff. It has great slip which makes detangling my afro-textured hair super easy. It smells pretty good (tropically) and it's not expensive. I finished my 16oz tub today and ordered the 60oz tub from amazon yesterday. I'm glad I didn't know about the mineral oil prior to purchase/use because I probably wouldn't have try it. But I'm glad I did and I'm definitely going to keep using it because I really like this product for its efficacy and economy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 southernbellatl on 12/11/2013 3:44:00 PM more reviews by southernbellatl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

U have to use it with a conditiiner of your choice I used it with kanechom once and creame of nature moisturizing conditioner both with excellent results i have very thick dry hair and so does my 6yr old i couldnt afford to keep getting her hair silk pressed every 2 weeks n i refuse to use any relaxer in her hair so i tried it on my hair 1st right after a protein treatment and OMG my dry thick hair was like silk i couldnt stop swinging it my 6yr old wouldnt stay out of the mirror so yea its that good our concoction is 1cup silicon 1cup conditioner sit under dryer 4 15-20 mins rinse use heat protectant blow dry flat iron and awwww hair for the gods.MUST USE CONDITIONER WITH SILICON MIX or your hair will be dry and hard and we do it every 2weeks n protein treatment every 4mths my hair is shoulder length and my 6yr old mid back when its down n shoulder length in ponytails

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raboazul on 12/5/2013 4:02:00 PM more reviews by raboazul

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

With chemically treated hair for a good dozen years I can say I've bought and tried everything fortifying and restructuring that ever was,french Caritas hair mask was OK,,but became impossible to get,almost buy once a one hundred dollars Alterna caviar treatment and so on.At first there was this huge retiscence about buying a treatment that clearly states that its main component is,in all the creation,silicon ,I had the worst experiences with silkening finishing products,that sucked the life of my hair due to the silicones in them.So after much thinking ,given that the price is tolerable even for a faliure product,I dared.First time of use was really uncommon,the smell of it was at least overpowering,thought it was indescently cheap stinking and was fearful it could be detectable,on the other hand my hair was softer and more healthy,it took me a few weeks to walk past the prejudice .Still a great effect on hair tresses..there is another two varieties the one with bamboo protein and the powdered pearl,they do not smell so loud but aren't as good as the original one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 11/2/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not the worst conditioner out there but left me with rather unimpressive results and I just couldn't get passed the smell which lingers for days after. I will not purchase again and would not recommend it to anybody to use as there're just far better products out there than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mariae1 on 8/18/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by mariae1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Horrible product...super bad strong smell..I was about to faint and vomit...terrible headache..i rinse my hair more than 10 times to get rid of the smell but was really impossible...when my daughter arrive to the house she felt the same way as me..Mom, what is that terrible odor in the house?....Please, If you still want to buy this product, try it first in a strand of hair and decide....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meowkitties on 6/27/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by meowkitties

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Sweet salvation! My hair is tough to work with. I have dark wavy "normal" type hair and finding conditioners that don't add a weird rough texture to my hair is hard. This stuff makes my hair super SILKY, shiny and manageable. And silk doesn't come naturally for my dry hair, let me tell you that. I used it for years and then ran out and stopped and decided to give others a shot, like lush products, organic methods and even going conditioner less. Everything else just leaves my hair dry and frizzy. I don't know what it is but i cannot use just any ol' conditioner from the supermarket. It's a total pain to find a beauty supply store that sells this stuff but i'll definitely go out of my way for it. It's super cheap too, like 5 bucks. What some people are saying about the smell is true, it's strong but i don't mind it because i think it leaves my hair smelling nice afterwards.

Re purchased this baby recently and realized i should have just stuck with it. It would have saved me money and torture. Dominican products saved my hair and i trust in them. I'm using this stuff for life. If it works don't try to fix it and this stuff works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avastefani on 5/19/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by avastefani

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My hair story is a total disaster after I hit the age of 14. So I've damaged my hair by bleaching, coloring, ironing, more bleaching, and more ironing and my hair looks like a hair ball if I don't blow dry it. To get to the point this saved my hair and I noticed a drastic change over my 3rd time using this deep mask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mwebba1 on 2/12/2013 2:19:00 PM more reviews by mwebba1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ya know, I really wanted to try this for the longest. But it just didn't live up to the hype. I get better slip with Aussie Moist conditioner. Mineral Oil doesn't bother me in theory but I expected this to make my hair feel like butter based on what others have said. It did not. Detangling was ok but it's not like the comb slipped through super easy. The smell was a bit too strong for me. It is an intense baby powder smell. I expected a sweeter smell based on what others said but *shrug*. I will finish this but I won't repurchase. I will be trying the Silicon Mix bambu very soon, though. By the way I am African with 4b natural hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RustGospel on 2/6/2013 2:31:00 AM more reviews by RustGospel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Though there has been much raving about Dominican products amongst those with curly and kinky hair (both relaxed, natural, and somewhere in between), I really can't say that I was impressed by Avanti's Silicon Mix.
I purchased this product hastily and definitely against my better judgement. At the time, I was attempting to follow the Curly Girl Method to see if perhaps it would work on my s-shaped, dense, long 3b hair. Adding this deep conditioner to the mix really set me back and had me caught right back up in the stripping cycle of silicones and shampoo. BUT, in my desperation to try a Dominican product, I caved.
This seems to hydrate best when I've simply left it on while showering versus sitting under the dryer with it on. Either way, the results really aren't anything notable. My hair seems to react the same way to other more available drugstore conditioners like Aussie Moist or Garnier's Triple Nutrition. While the silicones in this do provide much needed slip for detangling, I don't find that this really helps my hair stay hydrated. If anything, this really bothers my scalp. I've been having to wash my hair more than usual because I'm tearing my scalp up by scratching at it.
If you are someone who is bothered by scents in products or you especially detest strong, powdery, floral, "mature" type fragrances, this DEFINITELY isn't for you. Silicon Mix has a very potent scent that hangs around long after it's been washed out. It's so bad that even if this product did work for me, I wouldn't repurchase it because of the smell.
Over all, Silicon Mix was a total miss for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MorganAiden on 6/21/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by MorganAiden

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I hated this. I am not very sensitive to odors and fragrances. But this conditioner smells so strong I had to follow it with another conditioner just to mask that strong perfumey smell. It also wasn't super effective for me, I wasn't too impressed. Although, even if it did work wonders for my hair that odor is too much for me. Never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products