Blistex • Ultra Protection • Lip Treatments

rated 2.6(25 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PALEGRE3N on 9/6/2014 12:39:00 AM more reviews by PALEGRE3N

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't get the hate on this here at all. This is a very sensible choice for those of us that NEED a high protection SPF lip balm. It has 5 different sunscreens in the active ingredients, and is water resistant for up to 80 minutes. I am a scuba instructor in a cold and harsh climate - wind, sun & waves all day every day!!! Water resistance is definitely a big bonus for me. It's one of the only balms I've found that it stays on even after eating. As far as I can tell its virtually tasteless/scentless and does not taste chemically at all when you lick your lips. Easy 5 stars!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ravenn on 1/8/2013 8:05:00 AM more reviews by Ravenn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Everyone that knows me knows that I'm the "Lip Balm Queen". I've tried almost every lip balm I've laid my eyes on. And this is one of the worst ones I've tried. Not moisturizing at all, icky consistency on lips, smells sickly sweet and tastes weird. The only thing going for this is the SPF 30. But you can get that from so many other better lip balms. I do not recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MelissaNZ on 7/16/2011 2:07:00 AM more reviews by MelissaNZ

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been having really dry chapped peeling lips lately and usually I use my Nivea Repair and Protection lip balm or my Nivea Hydro Care one and they are my favourite lip balms, so I always rely on them to make my lips feel better and moisturized.

But this morning I woke up with the most horrible dry lips ever and I used my normal lip balms, but they didn't work.

so while I was shopping with my mum at the grocery store, I picked some of this stuff up because it seem like what I needed, and because I love the smell of Vanilla, so this was a perfect combination, it was also on sale for $3.50 NZD.

I just wanna say this stuff is AMAZINGGGG!
My lips are ultra smooth and better than ever!
This is going to be my new everyday lip balm from now on.

Also the cons are:
- It doesn't really smell like vanilla that much and it kind of has a weird sweet taste on your lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Georgeous on 4/21/2010 4:21:00 PM more reviews by Georgeous

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Never again, yuck, waste of $4.49.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 somethingforsam on 3/23/2010 11:05:00 AM more reviews by somethingforsam

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This moisturises my lips for roughly an hour or so at a time. I don't believe the amount of bad reviews, because it really isn't all that bad. I do agree with the waxy feeling of the product but I find it's necessary as it seems to keep the lips moist for a reasonable amount of time. I don't really mind that it's waxy anyway. I put this on before I got to bed and find my lips ready for lipstick in the morning. Also, it doesn't taste like sunscreen (I've never tasted sunscreen) instead it has a light vanilla smell with no strong taste. Extremely cheap, and I would probably repurchase.

EDIT: I dropped from 4 to 3 points. There is a odd taste which is stopping me from touching this product. And I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allieswasteland on 12/23/2009 10:04:00 AM more reviews by allieswasteland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand all the unfavourable reviews ... like seriously. I love this stuff because it reminds me of my dad, when I was a kid and he used to let me borrow his lip chap, he would lend me this one.

Anyways, this is one of Blistex's better formulas. First of all, it doesn't smell like sunscreen at all. It has a nice, sort of banana/vanilla smell that isn't harsh or overbearing. It's pretty moisturizing in comparison to other stick forms of lip chap and it has spf.

Anyway, I would recommend this lip chap to everyone. It's my favourite out of the Blistex line. The reason why I won't repurchase is because I have too many other lip chaps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 googler on 12/7/2009 5:34:00 AM more reviews by googler

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This lip balm has a terrible taste and smell! It's only redeeming points are the SPF 30 and that it is a little moisturizing. I especially went to buy lip balm and ended up getting this because of the small collection my college drugstore has. However, I hate the taste and smell so much that I can't stand to have it on my lips. I tried to like it, but I wiped it off soon afterwards. I do not recommend unless you enjoy the sunscreen type taste and smell. I will not be repurchasing and will need to run off ASAP to get another lip balm with SPF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angeljoy86 on 5/29/2009 1:57:00 AM more reviews by angeljoy86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don`t mind this product so much. I like the smell of sunscreen since it always reminds me of summer, that`s why I would re-purchase this and on top of that it`gives you spf 30 for ultra protection. I would agree, you definitely need to put this on first and then apply your favorite lip gloss on top of it.

I have no problem with it since it leaves my lips nice and soft. I don`t find it that waxy at all as everyone claims. well that`s just my 2 cents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prettygerbera on 4/29/2009 2:57:00 AM more reviews by prettygerbera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my preferred lip balm. I've tried a few different brands and this is by far the best. Works quickly, and protects from the sun.

Packaging isn't very nice.. but it works so I'll continue to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jadekisses on 5/28/2008 4:34:00 AM more reviews by Jadekisses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Something may have changed, but this is still the waxy mess it always was it just has a better smell. But i don't think i will be buying again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Blistex products

More Lip Treatments products