Dabur Vatika Hair Oil

4.2

50 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Coconut Oil, Neem, Brahmi, Extracts of Amla, Bahera and Harar, Kapur Kachri, Henna, Milk, Rosemary Oil, Lemon Oil, TBHQ, Fragrance


on 2/20/2010 1:06:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I last used this about 5 years ago when I first tried Indian hair care products. If I remember correctly it worked ok as a pre-wash oil and as an after wash oil. I may go back and try it again but there was a sour smell to it if I remember correctly.


The main reason I wanted to write this review is to clear up a misconception about one of the ingredients.


T-butyl-hydroquinone(short for tertiary butyl-hydroquinone or TBHQ for short) is an aromatic organic compound which is a type of phenol. It's used as a highly effective preservative for unsaturated vegetable oils and many edible animal fats. Yes, it is derived from hydroquinone but is not used to bleach skin and doesn't change skin color(the same way most bar soaps are derived from beef tallow but aren't edible like beef). I'm not saying that TBHQ is good for you. Like most preservatives, it isn't. But it's not skin or hair bleach in this formulation. The lemon juice can lighten your skin and/or hair. So if you have any lightening, it's from that.


No need to stop using it out of concern for the TBHQ bleaching your skin or hair. It's just a preservative.

P.S. I've found that most forms of Indian hair care work better with each other than mixed with Western hair care. I've never had a problem with dryness or leftover oil when I was using Hesh Shikakai after oiling. However, I experience both dryness and oiliness when I try to shampoo oils out with typical shampoos. If you can get a hold of the herbal powders along with the oils, then you should give them a try. They may not work for everyone, but when they do work they're like magic!!!

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.



on 2/6/2010 5:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've used this hair oil ever since it came out, which is over 10 years now, but I stopped using it a few months ago, just because I wanted to try something else. I think that's the best way to find out if something actually works. It's no better than regular coconut oil at making hair softer, but when I stopped using Vatika, my SD got out of control and I suddenly realised my hair was thinning. I started using it again recently, and already my scalp feels and looks better.It helps my hair be less frizzy too. The directions suggest leaving it on overnight, but I don't think that's a good idea, because you can catch cold, especially in winter. Research says coconut oil in general is almost completely absorbed in 2 hours, and I usually leave it on for 2 to 4 hours. It smells of herbs (no added perfume) and can be a little hard to get out of your hair if you don't work shampoo into your hair properly. I don't want to stop using this again. A lot of younger Indian women don't think it's cool to use hair oil, but I've discovered the hard way that hair is much better off with it, and this one is the best mass-market one available.

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2012 3:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the Holy Grail of hair products. I always suspected Indian women's beautiful hair was not genetically given. There is a trick, a cheap trick, and it's called Vatika hair oil. After 2 applications, the 1st I washed out after a few hours. The second treatment I left on overnight. My hair is fabulous. Full, shiny, bouncy, beautiful, and all for $4.99. I can't say enough good about the product. How much money I have spent for products which didn't work half as well. I would give it 500 lippies if i could.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2010 8:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Dabur Vatika oil on my hair and scalp for over three years, during which time I stopped using it for about four months. After about one month of not using this oil, my hair definitely looked and felt different, and not in a good way. While using the oil, my hair was glossy, lustrous, less frizzy and my scalp was calm, as in no itch, no flake, and shedding of hair was normal. After about a month when I stopped using Vatika oil, itchy and flaky scalp returned, as well as lots of shedding. My hair didn't look as glossy, and frizzes became a daily issue no matter the weather. I went back to Vatika oil and once again my scalp is healthy and my hair has a sheen and shine to it that is not the result of oiliness or added styling products.

I use Vatika oil in small amounts on the scalp and hair. I massage my scalp, then cover my hair with a couple silk scarves. I also lay a towel over my pillow when I use overnight. The next day I shampoo it out (I do this every three days or so). I either shampoo with hair conditioners (conditioner washing, or "co-washing") or I use a shikakai hair shampoo bar. I also use amla and brahmi herb powder paste to shampoo the oil away.

I absolutely love what Vatika oil does for my hair and scalp.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2009 1:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i use this and parachute. yep im an indian girl through and through, but this never fails when i want that deep oil scalp massage. living in the uk the dry cold weather really ravages your hair. this really soothes and relaxes me, but i always wash it out after a particular time. not something to wear in your hair normally. it really is a great herbal conditioner, i will continue to use. the smell doesnt bother me but would bother most, but hey you get gleaming lustrous hair as the end product, so whiffs here i come lol
EDIT: i feel like im being a b*tch to my hg product, but it was only when i came to the end of my product during usage i wondered what, t butyl hydroquinone is, and hek no it is a bleach type ingredient used to lighten the skin tone, and is in large quantities carcinogenic!!!! no wonder after goin through a whole bottle my hair was 2 shades lighter! and i must say i think it is this that made the two white hairs sprout at the back of my head!!! im very cautious about ingredients like this coming near me.
this is what the product meant when it said prevents oxidisation of the hair, i.e ill lighten your lovely mane with my bleaching properties. i dont bleach my skin tone im happy with my tanned features, why the hek would i lighten my hair with that ingredient.
sorry vatika but for this u lose lippies!!

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had to chuckle at the comment by an MUA reviewer who thinks most Indian women rely on using budget hair oil as the secret to beautiful hair - by and large, our hair tends to start off naturally shiny and healthy anyway, so I'm afraid it IS largely down to genetics. Having said that, we too can have our share of hair woes later in life (a common one being thinning, which I'm currently experiencing myself). There are several varieties of this hair oil that you can use to enhance/rescue your locks if money is tight or you don't have time or the knowledge to blend your own. I am not a snob when it comes to such things, I have my own array of blended drugstore-bought hair oils, mainly for my teen daughter's use, although I will always forego mineral oil in favour of coconut oil (which, incidentally is always solid unless it is fractionated - just pop in the microwave for 20 seconds to make it easier to squeeze out). On the whole, this oil is very good for the price, hence it gets four lippies from me.

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2010 10:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love,love, love this product.
I bought a bottle of Dabur Vatika Hair oil on a whim when the local Indian grocery first opened up about two months ago. I have very long straight hair with a very fine texture, so I am always looking for ways to increase the moisture content, and strengthen the strands of my fine fragile hair. I use this oil as a pre wash hot oil treatment about two to three times a week before I shampoo. I heat a cup of water in the microwave for about a minute or so, put the bottle in it for about three minutes to liquefy. I then apply the oil heavily to my scalp, and to the first few inches of hair. I then clip it up out of the way, cover with a shower cap, and leave on anywhere from a half hour to overnight, washing it out with shampoo, and following with conditioner. This product has done wonders for my hair- my flaky scalp and dandruff has lessened, due to the lemon and neem, it is shinier, due to the henna, and the amla extract seem to have strengthened the roots of my hair. I used to have horrible shedding in the shower, which is down to a fraction of what it was two months ago. The reason why I gave this oil a four star rating was because of the weird smell, which I think is due to the neem and amla. It kinda smells like lemons and coconuts, but not really, and the longer you leave it on your hair, the worse it gets. This product also contains milk (and soy extracts in the reformulated oil, which I have not tried) so if your hair reacts badly to products containing too much protein you might want to skip it.
Sadly, my family did not like the icky smell that was rancid coconut oil plus Indian herbs, and my mother went through my hair care drawers and tossed all of my stash. :-(

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2009 10:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I initially started using this product to add shine to my hair and it has accomplished that 100 fold. My hair is both silky and shiny without being flat or limp (and I have very fine hair). I love the shine and health it has given my hair.

What I didn't expect was to see so much growth! My hair has been growing like a weed ever since I started using this 2-3 times a week. Additionally, I have visible new growth along my hairline. I didn't think I was losing much hair, but I can actually see where it's filling in what must have been bare areas along my hairline.

It is easy to use, natural and WORKS. I cannot recommend this enough!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2008 4:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Now, on with my hair oils. After trying Dabur's Jasmine Hair Oil and finding it good enough, I bought a bottle of Dabur Vatika Hair Oil. Simply because it contains far better ingredients. It's based on coconut oil and is enriched with a mass of herbs and other delish stuff (see below). I mainly got it because it includes Brahmi, a herb that I find to be exceptionally good on my scalp which is hyper sensitive.
The oil smells slightly lemony fresh but still distinctly like coconut oil. It has a yellow-ish tint and feels soft and almost creamy to the touch. Very different from other oils. It's best to keep that in mind when using it as a leave in on damp hair because a very small amount is enough. Since coconut oil is usually solid when cold, you have to warm the bottle in hot water for some minutes. The opening is small enough to allow careful dosing. It goes on smooth and really easy. It doesn't take long at all to work it into scalp and lengths. For best results it's supposed to be kept on for an entire night, though I haven't done that yet. I usually only keep it in my hair for an hour or two and then wash it out. Another great thing about this oil is that it comes off easily and with only washing twice. Usually I would need to wash my hair three or even four times to get all of the oil out. It leaves the hair shiny and smooth, perfectly nourished and slightly fragrant. Perfect. I also use it as a leave in for my ends and they will look incredible when dry! The hair slightly curls and forms lovely, defined strands. Adorable!
I know a lot of people who say Vatika is the best hair oil there is and so far I'm willing to believe it. It does wonders for scalp and hair, has an adorable smell and fantastic ingredients. The only negative thing I could find: The bottle isn't see-through so you will never know when it comes to an end. That's kind of a bummer, really. However, since it's solid plastic, it's also good for putting into hot water over and over again. Anyway, will certainly buy again!

Ingredients: Coconut Oil, Neem, Brahmi, Extracts of Amla, Bahera and Harar, Kapur Kachri, Henna, Milk, Rosemary Oil, Lemon Oil, TBHQ, Fragrance.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2015 6:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Oh my gosh... how did I ever forget about this lovely product?! I used it years ago when I was in junior high! I "borrowed" it from my mom, and after finishing it I wasn't sure if it was available in Canada since my aunt bought it from India, while on a trip there.

Years later, I was looking through old photos and noticed the blurry bottle. I searched and searched trying to figure out the name. The photo was too blurry to see. Finally when I was randomly looking at weird products at my local Asian grocery store, I saw this! Oh thank goodness. Finally!

I absolutely love the smell of it. Some reviewers here aren't too fond of it, but I even open the bottle randomly to sniff it. It's like my drug!

It leaves my hair silky smooth, soft, shiney, and beautiful. You only need a very small amount, especially if you have thin hair like I do, with Sahara desert dry ends.

I also use it as a deep conditioning treatment once a week, rotating it with my other oil mixes (so one week Vatika, the next week my oil mix, repeat). I cover my head with a plastic bag, wrap a towel around it and let my hair soak up the goodness for as long as I can (a minimum of 2 hours, and up to all day sometimes).

Of course you don't need to use it as a deep conditioning treatment like I do, it works great using a little and working it into your ends.

I've read about the benefits of alma, and henna, as well as other ingredients in this bottle that may promote hair growth. I'm not sure if it will or not, I'll update after some use.

The only two annoying things about this product are:

1. Coconut oil hardens at room temperature so it requires heating. I just put the bottle in a bowl of hot water and wait a few minutes. It's actually better to use oils when they are warm, but it may be annoying to some so I thought I'd mention it.

2. The lid on the bottle popped off while I was trying to squeeze the bottle, I was in a rush and didn't leave it in the warm water. The oil gushed out and I lost quiet a bit due to my impatience. The lid is annoying either way though, I hope they change it!

I highly recommend this product, it's everything you need for healthy hair. I love the Vatika line, and have purchased their black seed hair mask (see separate review). This oil is one of the oils that does NOT contain mineral oil from the Vatika line. Most, or all, have mineral oil which I don't like. I can't wait to try more products and review them. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top