Unlisted Brand • Homemade Tendskin • Skincare - Body

rated 4.7(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.98%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 newstrms on 1/22/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by newstrms

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I will never buy skin tend again!
Thank god this recipe worked, I was so skeptical about trying it!
I ran out of skin tend and didn't want to re purchase another bottle cause it's so expensive! So I went without it for a month and my ingrown hairs were absolutely horrible! I have the worst in grown hair problem ever, so I finally gave the diy recipe a shot because I really had nothing to loose, especially because I purchased all the ingredients for under $4.00 so two weeks of using it ever day and my legs are smoother than a baby's bottom! If your skeptical about trying this just give it a shot, you won't be disappointed, but like I said it usually takes about 2 weeks to completely clear up maybe that just because I have really stubborn ingrown hairs but I couldn't be happier!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laschnauzer on 8/9/2013 4:08:00 PM more reviews by laschnauzer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OMG I used to get razor bumps around my bikini area every single time after I shaved and it would last a week or more to get rid of them. Ever since I started using this homemade tend skin I haven't had one single razor bump, pimples, or anything like that in my bikini area.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Meiga on 7/13/2013 2:28:00 AM more reviews by Meiga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Hi have a question about this recipe... is pure witch hazel or tonic witxh hazel? What I can do the best? Because some times i saw the pure witch hazel like the one, and anothers say that the tonic is more efective. What can i do?Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sohysterical on 5/5/2013 6:15:00 PM more reviews by sohysterical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is great. I get inexplicable ingrown hairs on my tummy (I don't wax or shave and the hair is quite fine, so I am at a loss!) and have never been able to find anything that works anywhere near as well as this. After about a month, I haven't had a single new one and you can't even tell there was ever a problem. It's incredible! I use it on pimples and after shaving the bikini area as well. Truly fantastic, very impressed. Would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amyaddis on 8/30/2012 2:50:00 PM more reviews by amyaddis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

OK, so I made this without the alcohol, and it's working fine. From my understanding, the aspirin exfoliates and the witch hazel calms the inflammation. I also added some tea tree oil to control any bacteria in open hair follicles.

My skin doesn't react well to alcohol (pretty sensitive), but does react to waxing. Very badly. For me, dispersable aspirin in witch hazel with tea tee seems to do the trick, and gently. I also exfoliate gently daily in the shower, to help things along.

PS, 5 lip pies for packaging, because I put mine in a GORGEOUS bottle! :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MichiLiebe on 8/29/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by MichiLiebe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Years before, I never really wore dresses or short skirts because I was embarrassed that my legs had these red dots after shaving them. I didn't know what to do, so my only conclusion was to wear jeans all the time. Before I knew about this recipe I heard that exfoliation was necessary before shaving so that you get rid of this issue as well as the ingrown hairs. So in the shower before shaving I dissolved in the palm of my hand a few uncoated aspirins, the result worked well on my legs and underarms. However around my private area which I like to keep nice and shaven, (just because it looks nicer and cleaner, and a friend of mine agrees with me too, ha); it was kind of messy and I still developed a few bumps there, not as much as before, but I wanted better results. I'm so glad I found this recipe, my legs, bikini area and pits are smooth and bump free. The mixture smells like cheap liquor, but it's so worth doing!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 7/11/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so suprised this worked! I have never tried tendskin but I was considering buying it because of the mad razor burn I get when I shave my legs. I stumbled upon this and tried it last night.


I didn't think it was going to work. I literally get razor burn as I'm shaving, and I could see the red bumps developing before I stepped out of the shower. I thought it was too late, but I tried it anyway. Let me tell you, it burned like the Dickens! But I was expecting that and just sucked it up. I waited a few minutes, still red..a half hour redness gone...bumps not as formed. This morning, no bumps or redness and it seems to have healed a small cut on my knee! This stuff is great!


It's only after one use, but I think if I continue to use it, my legs will dry out. I read about adding glycerin (didn't have any) or lube like KY which I have, but I didn't want my pores on my legs to get clogged. I might do another batch with the added moisture next go around.


I did the recipe as it said, 5.5 oz rubbing alchohol 2.5 oz witch hazel, which already had alchohol in it..not sure why you need more alcho, and 27 crushed uncoated aspirins. Try this, I think you'll like it!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 5/23/2012 7:52:00 PM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Man, has this stuff saved my bacon. Every time I forget to use it I get terrible ingrowns. If I then get really skippy on using it 3 or 4 times a day, over a couple of days I can actually watch the hairs emerge from the skin where they had been ingrown..


It doesn't smell so great -- lavender or redcedar oil can help with that, if you're not sensitive to them.


I use the recipe with witch hazel and 70% alcohol. I store it in a cleaned-out Eucerin sunscreen pump bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 summerseabreeze on 11/18/2011 3:28:00 PM more reviews by summerseabreeze

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

At last i get to write a review on something i make myself! OK my recipe is similar to that 'preferred' recipe floating round on the 'net. Difference is i don't include 'Cyclomethicone' - i find it hard to get hold of and it works just as well without! Its basically a clear, odorless silicone found in most deodorants, lotions etc that leaves a silky-smooth finish on the skin. I moisturize immediately after so i get my 'cyclomethicone' fix anyway haha!

For those of you unaware of the recipe, here it is:

Isopropyl alcohol 70%
Propylene Glycol 15%
60 uncoated aspirins (works out to about 10%)
Glycerin 5%

This lot goes into a 16fl oz tend skin bottle (or any other bottle you fancy). You can estimate as you pour the ingredients in - what is equal to 70% or 5% etc. Or use a marker for the halfway point on the outside of the bottle. Between that point and the top end you have the 75% mark so you know to pur the alcohol to just below that level. It honestly does not really make a difference if you go slightly over or less, i tried different ratio's and it worked out fine each time.

The result... i get the same benefits as tendskin at approx half the price it costs to buy a bottle. Thats good enough for me! I get exactly the same results as tendskin too. No ingrown hairs or bumps on arms/bikini line. In fact I believe their recipe uses less Glycerine and Propylene Glycol so isn't as moisturizing as my version is! Tip: be sure to shake the bottle each time before you use so that the layer of aspirin sitting at the bottom mixes with the rest of the liquid..

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 robin0575 on 10/29/2011 11:58:00 AM more reviews by robin0575

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Great idea. I noticed the original has glycerin - from natural hair boards I know that lube is glycerin so added some generic KY to the formula to match it better to the original. Seems to work; after this is gone will try it just like formula here, and then put body lotion over, to see which is better. But if you were looking to add glycerin, original generic KY is water, glycerin, propylene glycol, and preservatives, and mixes beautifully into this formula.

Only complaint is mix is a little gritty and asprins don't dissolve completely, but for this price? Spectacular.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Body products