China Glaze • White on White • Polishes

rated 3.1(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 eaorb on 8/31/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by eaorb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

White on White was very disappointing to me. I own over a dozen China Glaze nail polishes and none of them have been like this. White on White goes on very streaky and it has a thick consistency. I needed 3 coats to get it completely opaque. I never wear white nail polish alone, and so I purchased this product to use as a base color to layer other nail polishes over top of it. Due to the thick formula and having to put 3 coats of it on, it doesn't give me much wiggle room to keep my manicure from appearing gunky and unattractive. I will not be repurchasing this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 7/30/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I agree with the reviewer below me: whites are a hard color/formula to get right. There will always be a little bit of streaking and you have to learn the best way to apply each individual one. That said, White on White is a pretty good one. Is it the best?--let's just say for $5, you can't really go wrong if you're looking for a bright, not too stark, true white. Of course the first coat is streaky, so just do your thing and don't worry about that first coat. The second, however, evens it all out and makes everything ok, as long as it's on the medium thickness side. Surprisingly, there's a decent shiny finish, but I always top with Poshe quick-dry top coat to speed up dry time and add that extra, gel-like finish. My most recent bottle of White on White was pretty goopy, so I poured a little bit out and added some thinner (Salon Secrets from Sallys) and it's back to where it should be. Dry time is slightly longer than average without a quick-dry top coat and wear without a good base coat, is average on me (a few days before chips/peeling starts).

What I like best about White on White is that it dries flat, so it's good for diy, free-hand (no guides) French manicures; there's no bump at the tip of your nail where you've applied it…I mean, unless you really goop it on…which in that case, you should probably practice a little bit more. ChG's thinner brush helps out when free-handing the tips, but it's less than desirable when covering the whole nail.

Overall, if you're looking for a solid, no frills white, check it out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 9/29/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been polishing my nails white since forever, so I've used/tried countless different brands for white polishes. Believe me when I say ALL white polishes are going to be somewhat streaky & need at least 2-3 coats. It's not because the formula is bad, it's because that's just what the color white does in general. It's probably if not the hardest, one of the hardest colors to make opaque with one coat...it's pretty much impossible to find that in a white nail polish. That being said, this white was no different (but I already know this from experience with this color, so I expected that realisticly). The only effective way I've found to help this problem, is to first paint a base coat in a neutral color...once dry, start painting over it with the white. It will be less streaky & become opaque easier/faster. This white is a great formula (for a white). It dries pretty fast & doesn't chip too easily. I would definitely buy this again. Only thing is you have to understand what to realisticly expect when you use a white polish....IT WILL be somewhat streaky, they ALL are.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kaylaaa22 on 8/25/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by kaylaaa22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was my first white nail polish. I got this in the mini size and couldn't wait to use it, knowing China Glaze was a good brand I expected it to be a good quality white. I was wrong. I don't like the formula at all. It's thin, streaky and clumpy. It's VERY streaky, and VERY thin. It takes me about 3 coats to get it a nice solid white color and its really clumpy. Even after the second coat I can still see streaks. Not worth the money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 moniib on 1/6/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by moniib

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love china glaze and i love when a nail polish is easy to use and has a really good formula that i dont have to stress about because i'm not the best nail polisher. This one is average, not as good as "sexy in the city" but definitely better than sally hansen or in my experience, OPI. I don't think its the best white i could fine but then again this is the first white polish ive ever had so maybe im wrong. I havent tried it on french tips but ill update if i do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jazzygirlxoxo on 12/27/2012 4:25:00 AM more reviews by jazzygirlxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down the best I have used for French tips, flowers, decorating your nails, or if you just want to paint your nails this color I highly recommend this product and I love using it it rarely chips and is lightweight. I make it a point to get any china glaze nail polish they are such beautiful colors and so fulfilling they can be a bit pricy but are totally worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 12/11/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not a big fan of white cremes, but I got this for nail art (as a base and as an accent). I also wanted to try real, old-fashioned, full-on French tips. For that purpose, I have not been disappointed with this, but I can't imagine wearing this on its own.

This can be streaky, particularly for the first coat. I find this has complete opacity in two coats, and a nice, creamy, bright finish, and by the second coat, the streakiness (which isn't always apparent) has sorted itself out.

The colour is definitely white-white-white, and the name is entirely appropriate. It's actually somewhat stark because it is so very white. This is so white it makes my pale skin look positively tan (which is not what I want it for, but it does have that effect).

As a base for nail art, it works very well, although I do like to cover most of it because it is so very white and looks a bit odd with my pale skin.

I also sometimes use this to lend brightness to other layers. I recently tried a coat of this under a medium silver and got toenails the colour of aluminium foil, very light-bright silvery. (That wasn't the look I was actually wanting, but it was interesting to see it.) It also works to make other colours a bit brighter. I've used it under red, orange, and yellow to make them really pop (was doing a "Skittles" pedicure).

I do find this polish to be pretty awesome for stark, white French tips, with good coverage in two swipes and the very bright, unmistakably white tips of a classic French manicure. (That look, unfortunately, doesn't really work on me, but this polish definitely delivers!) If you like that look, this polish is a great choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 11/9/2012 5:46:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

China Glaze's White on White is a basic white nail lacquer from their core collection. I grabbed this polish a few months ago, I'd never had a white polish before and thought it would be handy to have around. China Glaze is by far my favorite nail lacquer line. The China Glaze formula contains "China Clay as a nail hardener, the same material that gives porcelain it's shiny finish. All China Glaze polishes are free of formaldehyde, dbp, and toluene, though they do contain formaldehyde resins. I bought my bottle of White on White at Sally's Beauty Supply for $5.25. China Glaze lacquers contain the standard 5fl oz (14ml). This is a cruelty free brand that makes their enamels in America.
China Glaze polishes come in a round glass bottle with a tall, black plastic, texturized cap. The China Glaze logo is embossed on the top of the cap. The logo can also be found on the front of the bottle along with the product name. Some company info and warnings were included on the back of the bottle. The shade name and full ingredient list are on a sticker on the bottom of the bottle. White on White's brush seems a little think than other China Glaze brushes, which apparently have 440 bristles each. This particular brush is quite thin, long, and flat with an average amount of flexibility.
I'm going to spend about as much time describing the color of White on White as I did choosing it. It's white. Plain, stark white. Cream finish. No yellow, blue, or grey tinge. Its basic and needs no further explanation. I will say that the creamy finish is particularly glossy and shiny. I hate the look of plain, stark white nail polish, so I much prefer to use this color for nail art or layering under glitter or crackle polishes.
As you can expect from any white polish, White on White's application is pretty troublesome. This polish needs at least three thick coats or five thin ones to achieve opacity, and we all know what happens when you need that much lacquer to get full coverage. A goopy, streaky finish and short wear. I usually get fantastic wear from China Glaze polishes, some last me over a week, but White on White only gives me two fays of wear tops. Unfortunate. This is the first China Glaze polish to disappoint me both in application and wear. It's not all bad though, White on White is easy to take off.
I have mixed feelings about China Glaze's White on White nail lacquer. Its a good, plain white for nail art, but it just doesn't last for me. Application takes too long for my liking, because it needs to be applied thicker than I prefer to, it takes forever to dry. I'm not sure if I should even be complaining though, does a good white nail polish even exist? It doesn't seem like it. I don't recommend this polish and I more than likely won't buy it again. Can I get some recommendations for a good white polish, if there is one?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JGuan56 on 8/16/2012 7:50:00 PM more reviews by JGuan56

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Its too sheer! Read my FULL review here! http://unmaskedcanvas.blogspot.ca/2012/08/china-glaze-white-on-white-review.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 siobhanerin on 5/6/2012 8:25:00 PM more reviews by siobhanerin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a good white to use as a base in some nail art designs and I went for China Glaze, assuming it would be a good choice. The formula is hard to work with but after a few coats it looks fine. The polish doesn't last very long at all and is hard to do nail art with because you need so many coats to make it look decent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More China Glaze products

More Polishes products