The Brush Guard

4.5

53 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 8/6/2014 9:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this product!!! Cute packaging, great design, and it WORKS.



on 3/16/2014 2:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this as part of "clean the ickies" kit that was on the clearance rack/section at my local ulta. What a great find. Kit has brush shampoo, cleansing cup, drying cup, and 6 nylon guards.

Shampoo works well and not over powerful scent. I like the system as I use to dry my brushes flat on a towel. The dry cup along with the guards take very little counterspace.

I find it take a full 24 hour to dry instead of just overnight. But my brushes were clean, properly shaped (didn't' have to fluff them up) and soft.

Will need to buy more guards.


on 2/18/2014 5:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I purchased the variety pack and this was one of the best makeup purchases I've ever made! These hold your brushes together while drying and bring them back to their original state. No complaints here about these!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2014 4:53:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I too love these (bought early summer '13). They do take longer to dry the brushes, but I wouldn't worry about mildew. The instructions also tell you to dry your brushes bristle side down -- it's easy with these if you use the proper size as the brush won't slide down and "smash" bristles. I use a square glass dish that a flower arrangement came in to dry my brushes. Just get as much moisture out of the brushes as you can by pressing with a towel before using the brushguards. If your outside bristles look a little "fuzzy," you can dampen your fingers and press them down before sliding the brushguard on. I keep these on my brushes when I store them (I have duplicates of every brush I own) in a Sephora zipper cosmetic case.


on 2/18/2014 4:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Worth every penny. After you use these, your brushes will look like new. After washing them, i squeeze my brush hairs against a towel before placing them inside the brush guards. It removes excess water therefore reducing drying time. It's best to let them dry overnight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2014 1:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I ordered 2 variety packs off of Amazon - and used them for the first time on my brushes after I washed them a couple of days ago..

First off - I love the way it keeps my brushes shape! I left my brushes to dry overnight and I checked on them the following morning and couldn't believe it! My brushes looked completely brand new! One thing you have to keep in mind when drying your brushes in the brush guard is, that they dry VERY slowly. I checked on my brushes after plenty of time, and most of them were still damp. It's a little worrisome even though it's supposedly "breathable", that it's not thoroughly drying my brushes. I'm scared it can pose a risk of like mold or mildew growing on the inside of my brushes because the hairs are so tightly packed together when their in the guards. But I suppose it's made how it's made to prevent that from happening... maybe I'm just being paranoid LOL

Aside from drying the brushes - it's also great at keeping dirt, dust, bacteria, and in my case, cat hair out of the bristles.

Overall, this is a stellar invention and I would totally repurchase!


on 4/26/2013 3:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

For a few years I've been wanting to purchase these but thought they were too expensive. A few weeks ago I finally made the purchase and do not regret it one bit. The convenience and usability of these brush guards most definitely justify the price. I even think to myself why was I being so cheap before when they only cost $5 w/ free shipping! I purchased the variety pack and although there are some tiny brush guards to hold things like a brow brush or lip brush they stretch to fit regular eye brushes. They keep it's shape after every use and keep the shape of the brush hairs. I plan to re-purchase more variety packs for when I deep clean all of my brushes.


on 12/12/2012 10:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After reading reviews before my purchase, I saw that a few people had an issue with the size of the brush guards. I have about 15-20 brushes right now and decided to test the variety pack to see the actual sizes before purchasing multiple packs. For my ELF and MAC brushes, the shadow size fit for my tiny concealer brushes and angled eyeliner brush. They look super tiny, but they also fit ALL of my eye brushes perfectly. Remember, they're tight yet stretchable to shape your brushes! I hope this helps! :)


on 9/25/2012 2:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had been drooling over these for years, ever since I saw Michelle Phan using it on youtube. Well, a month ago I caved and bought the variety pack. And I don't regret it a bit! I have been using them every time I was my brushes, with synthetic eyeliner and concealer brushes as an exception, seeing as they stay in shape anyway. I just slide them on and put them in a wide cup or something, and let it stay there over night. It takes longer for brushes to dry seeing as the brushes are being squeezed together to create a shape, but the result is so beautiful that I don't mind. I combine this with the brush cleanser from Daiso, and my brushes end up looking like they just rolled out of the mac counter. I recommend buying the variety pack if you just have a couple of brushes, but I am going to order at least two more of these just to have in handy if I decide to bathe my entire brush collection a rainy day.


This is a must have if you buy expensive brushes and you want them to last, especially since bristle brushes tends to lose it's shape over the years.


The price was reasonable, and the shipping was surprisingly fast. A++!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2012 1:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

YOU MUST BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!! Especially for your larger foundation brushes, this will really extend the life of the brushes.
For those of you who haven't used them, you may have noticed that after a while your bigger brushes (think foundation and stippling brushes) may have started to flay and aren't quite as dense as they once were. The brush guard keeps them together and keep this from happening. And they're super cheap, too.
Note: If you travel with them, the mesh will catch the brushes and cause them to splay out. Don't travel with them, period. No matter what the packaging says.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
Derma Roller
76 Reviews
the sponge
the sponge
689 Reviews
Mia
Mia
1060 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
Foreo - Luna
39 Reviews

Top Rated Misc Beauty Tools



Back to Top