Shea Terra Organics • Rose Hip & Red Bush African Black Soap Face Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.4(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liviiflutelouu on 11/13/2014 12:49:00 AM more reviews by liviiflutelouu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Awesome facial wash if you want to banish breakouts! I use it every night, and it helps keep my skin completely clear. I think if you are sensitive to salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, or you just want something natural - this is a great option for cleansing the skin. The color is black, and the texture is kind of slimy - but it lathers up well and washes away all residue without stripping the skin. You can either apply it and wash it off immediately - or apply it and leave it on for 5-10 minutes for a deeper clean/microdermabrasion treatment. Highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 11/8/2014 9:56:00 AM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this in times where I find myself battling acne. As I do not use it regularly, I cannot speak to its effectiveness in preventing acne, but when I use it during times of breakouts, I find it helps the acne to disappear. It is a little bit irritating if you have any sensitivity on your skin (I had had a runny nose, so around my nostrils was sensitive and when I used this they burned like crazy) so I would recommend only using this when you do not have any issues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dutchessnkiki on 10/31/2014 11:12:00 AM more reviews by dutchessnkiki

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a makeup/product junkie addict = P, I have tried so many products trying to clear my skin up that it was at the point it was ridiculous and I was ready to make an appointment to go see a dermatologist for my acne issues, I am 44 and and I looked at my skin and it's like enough already I'm to old for acne! Well my skin didn't agree and we've been in a battle, that was, until I found this product!!! I am on my 3rd bottle, I've never found any cleanser that I've purchased over and over again like this, and I will NEVER let myself run out of it. Like others have mentioned it's not great at removing makeup so once I remove my makeup then I use this and let it sit on my face for 5 min or 10 if I have the time, I've had no stinging or redness but I do not have sensitive skin at all. I've told coworkers who have teenagers or knows of anyone suffering from acne to just try this as it's been such a miracle for me and the price is affordable the only thing I don't like is the glass bottle as I keep it in the shower so I'm really careful not to drop it on the tile and break it other than that it's a really great product! Not to mention how fast their shipping is!! Hope this helps someone who may be unsure of trying it I know how awful it feels to have acne! Good luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 10/24/2014 10:55:00 AM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A black gel/soap face wash that does not have a pleasant scent. I did not use this to remove makeup but rather as an exfoliating treatment. Massage into skin and leave on 5-10 minutes. It does burn and left my skin feeling stripped and dry. I simply do not like the idea of leaving a soap on my face for 5 minutes. Did not notice any benefits from using this. I would rather just exfoliate my face with an AHA treatment which temporarily stings but does not burn and leave my face irritated and dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WormEatsBird on 8/26/2014 12:02:00 AM more reviews by WormEatsBird

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was super skeptical about all these amazing reviews about this product.

But trust me, just try it and you will fall in love.

Before Shea Terra, my skin was really angry, cysts, breakouts on my neck, overall sore breakouts. My skin has never been so crazy.

I was super desperate, so I bought this off Amazon for $15 with 2 day shipping.

When I first used it I was in awe of the color, I actually do like the smell, I put it on my damp face, with damp fingers (if your fingers are too wet the product will drip down your arms) I left it on for 10 min.
I did feel the slight burning on my active breakouts but nothing unbearable. It also felt slightly itchy.

When I rinsed it did have the squeaky clean feel, but I did not have dryness.

My skin felt very smooth and soft.

Fast forward a few weeks later I'm still having good results with this, I feel like it heals any breakouts I have a ton faster.
So much faster I don't have the urge to pick - and I ALWAYS pick.

This does not remove my foundation, I use 100% REAL evoo, (there are diluted, mixed and generally bad evoos out there)
And then I use this. I have great skin and less breakouts.

Some cleansers leave clogged pores, those stubborn bumps you can feel but can't quite get rid of, but his one does not.

I have oily and extremely acne prone skin that is also prone to dryness if it's stripped.

I think the price is justified for this product, since it is organic and natural it could go bad quicker, hence why it is only 4oz.
And I can totally reuse the nice dark glass bottle.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michellerodgerscts on 8/19/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by michellerodgerscts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! So yes, I am a makeup junkie and I put chemicals on my face almost every single day...but i have largely tried to replace a lot of my maintenance routine with natural/organic products where ever possible. Overall this process has done wonders for my hair and skin. Shea Terra Organics is kind of the last hurrah as far as my journey has come and this brand is amazing...one of the best, if not THE BEST natural product lines on the market today for organic/natural skincare.

With that said...my skin is still adjusting to it, so its not perfect yet...but I understand how the product works (on me). I am hoping that sharing my review may help some who have found that this product has not met their expectations or done more harm than good. I use this product in the evening as my nighttime was routine, and sometimes in the morning if I am not rushing. I first wash my face with Nubian Heritage Black Soap (the bar) to wash off my makeup. I have found that this face wash is not the best at removing makeup...you will need a second wash to do that. After my first wash, I pat my face mostly dry (if my face is totally wet I get soap in my eyes and it burns) and then apply a thin layer of the Rose Hip and Red Bush African Black Soap to my face and let it sit for 5-10 minutes (long enough to wash up). I rinse...pat dry, then follow up with the Shea Terra Ester-C Rose Hip Toner.

The combination is amazing. Some days I do feel like the face wash beads a layer of my skin off my face, on those days I need to rub a little more with my wash cloth, it really does exfoliate the skin. I have found that my dark marks have faded, and the overall clarity of my skin has improved. With that said...my skin is also two weeks into purging. This product has made every impurity in my skin come to head...which i think is why some people say it has broken them out. It has unclogged my pores, which has resulted in a few pimples...that is my only issue with this product...but they go away in a matter of days and it barely leaves a mark. I believe that this product has removed the impurities in my skin because I have had faster cell turnover (my pimples come to head and disappear within days and no more have come), my skin looks brighter, and my pores are much much smaller. I believe that with continued use this product will totally clear my skin. After two weeks, and about 10 days worth of breakouts, my skin is perfect smooth, no bumps of any kind, my pores seem to be shrunken, and the marks I have on my face have lightened drastically. Please keep in mind that I also use a glycolic acid pad a few times a week, and a bentonite clay/apple cider vinegar mask on my face a few times a week...and every night I also use castor oil around my eye area, and shea butter on my entire face. That is my entire skincare routine.

I plan to update after I have used this product for a few months...overall....i think everyone with acne prone skin should try it. It is my hopes that within a few months I will be updating this post to share with everyone that I have flawless skin! Thanks for reading! Message me if you have any questions.

Oh, the one thing I do forsee an issue with is the packaging, I like the dark glass bottle...but I feel like once I near the end of it its not going to get all of the product out at the bottom and I am going to have to drain it into something else to get the full value. Its not a huge deal, I have tons of small containers laying around...but still a bit of a pain. Oh...I also think the price point cannot be beat. For $15.99 (purchased off amazon), I have about two months worth of product with almost twice daily use. I am pretty sure after I finish up the products I have thus far I am going to go to the Shea Terra website and have an automatic reorder every two months so I do not have to worry about going without.

UPDATE: After using this product for a month, I have to say that I am WILDLY in love! It is amazing. My skin looks awesome! My hyperpigmentation marks are hardly noticeable without makeup, I think they will be totally gone in another month or two. My pores seem to be much smaller, and the texture of my skin is so soft and smooth. I love this stuff and I think this is my HG facial wash. I still use other products (ACV in the morning as a toner, castor oil as an eye cream, bentonite clay/ACV facial masks 3 times a week, tumeric/honey masks on occasion) but all in all this in conjunction with other products has completely transformed my skin. I cannot wait to use other products from this line. I have a very long wish list. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 WHITAKER556 on 8/14/2014 9:51:00 AM more reviews by WHITAKER556

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Tried this for over a month and ended up with really clogged pores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lexiilex8080 on 7/25/2014 2:52:00 PM more reviews by lexiilex8080

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this for a few weeks now. It's starting to clear my acne up. You really do need to let it sit on your face for the recommended time to see a difference. Might not be good for some who just want to quickly wash their face and be done with it. It tingles a bit but not an uncomfortable feeling. It can be a bit drying if you don't use moisturizer after or if you have dry skin in general. Overall worth giving a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/29/2014 1:44:00 PM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Results vary from person to person, and you may find this is too harsh for you, but THIS IS THE BEST FACE WASH EVER FOR ME. Yes, all caps. Two uses. Clear skin. ?!??!! I don't really understand, lol. I tried out raw black soap before to see if it would agree with my skin. Well, this is even better than raw. I rub it onto my skin and leave it on for around 8 minutes. Just great stuff....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hotpookas on 6/1/2014 9:34:00 AM more reviews by Hotpookas

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I started using this a month ago and since then 3 people have mentioned how good ny skin looks. I want to try every product from this line now.
Pros:
Removes makeup
Exfoliates without scrubbing
Natural ingredients, no added fragrance (smells like dirt- love it)
I've seen a huge improvement in nose & chin pores, clogs, and hyperpigmentation

Cons:
Pretty messy to apply. With wet hands it all runs down your arms before you can get it on. I started using a fan brush and that works great. Also best if your face is just barely damp.
Maybe a little drying in the beginning? It never irritated my skin but definitely proceed with caution if yours is sensitive.
Not the cutest mask/face wash (looks like dirt!)

I'm terrible at writing reviews but this is an amazing product whether you have issues with acne, PIH, or just occasional blemishes. It's $16 on Amazon. HG cleanser.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shea Terra Organics products

More Cleansers products