MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft and Gentle

4.1

428 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Mica, Dimethicone, Isopropyl Palminate, Jojoba Seed Oil, Yeast Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lauroyl Lysine, Magnesium Silicate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Minerals


on 7/1/2015 4:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like it. gives a nice glow to your cheeks. the only downside is the new packaging that is slightly messy.



on 6/29/2015 1:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After all the hype, I finally went out and got it. Honestly, I do use it but I am not in love with it. I find that it barely appears on my skin tone (light-medium) and I find it rather chalky and glittery. I have over hl in my collection that I much prefer over this one.


on 6/29/2015 1:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm writing this review mostly to leave a dupe, which I think is even better than this actual product. I absolutely love the color of this powder, but the texture of it has always bothered me- I find it really dry and flaky, even for a baked product, and I can never apply it that I don't get chunky glitter all over my face and I just hate that. However, I couldn't find a good dupe for the color. That is, until I found Femme Couture's baked bronzer in Sunkissed. It is a perfect match color wise and is smoother with none of the glitter fall out of Soft and Gentle. It also doesn't emphasize texture or pores the way Soft and Gentle can sometimes do on me and I think it has better payoff. It's about $10 at Sally's and is what I will be purchasing from now on.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It has a lot of fall out...the slightest tap of a brush and hundreds of glitter flecks! But omg!! Its effect is so beautiful. The glitter barely shows up on your face and it looks stunning. Champagne in tone but still flattering on my yellow skin tone. It doesn't emphasize pores or anything and trust me everything emphasizes my acne scarred skin. Definitely a great formula. Its so good that the fall out doesn't bother me in the end. You'd think the fall out would mean it was powdery or chalky. Think again. Blends beautifully. Its so lovely I want to load it on my face every time. Super pigmented and gives a wet looking finish

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2015 12:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The perfect highlighter for me! The particles are distinct in this one, so on the cheeks you'll see a soft warm/bronze highlight mixed in with flattering lighter specks of gold/light pink reflects. This is way more flattering than global glow for my nc35-nc40 skin. i have benefit watts-up, the Mary Louminzier, Becca Opal pressed, Becca rose gold pressed and Becca shimmering skin perfecter opal liquid highlighter. I do like to layer this over the Becca liquid h/l (or benefits watts-up) for a more intense dewy glow.


on 6/2/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought soft and gentle a few moths after I bought mac Lightscapade, which I loved and I wanted to try another mineralize skin finish which could be just as good! Soft and gentle is described as a "gilded peach bronze" and I do agree. It is a bronze colour yet I can't bronze with it, as it is SO SO shimmery however you can highlight with it but it has to be with a light hand or you can look like a glitter ball! Just like with Lightscapade it is super pigmented and very softy to the touch and almost feels creamy despite being a powder.

Some pros of soft and gentle is how I think it is great value for money because since a little goes a very long way for a good highlight it will last me forever, instead of needing to repurchase regularly! Another pro is how it gives a warmth to the face. I find that some highlighters can look harsh and cold but this doesn't! I have quite a pale face and this manages to add warmth for when I don't want to use Lightscapade! I also like how you can see the product through the clear lid.

There are a few issues with this powder such as how lightly you have to apply! Just by looking at the compact the shimmer/glitter is so strong and if you accidentally put too much on.... your in trouble! The only other problem I have with soft and gentle is the packaging, like I said in my Lightscapade review. Since they changed the packaging it can be hard to open since there is no clasp but. It's no major fault but is a little annoying!

In general I think this is a good highlighter if you are looking to add warmth to the face and a highlight. Also if you want a powder that will last a long time and is good value for money!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 12:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Number one in all the highlighters I have ever used. Gives a beautiful dewy finish, is very build able if looking for a wet look which I do likeūüėČ. Defiantly a must have for those who like a dewy finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2015 4:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This highlighter doesn't give me the effect I want. I'm pretty disappointed. The formula is a bit dry but pigmented. It also has a lot of glitters in it which I do not like. Big chunks of glitter is visible on your face and this is where most of the highlight comes from. I just bought the E.L.F pinktastic blush/highlighter so hopefully that will work better. Overall, I don't think this highlighter is worth it because its dry and glitterly.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A very pretty highlighter that I think would suit everyone. Easily applies, blends and is well pigmented. The only thing I donít like is that itís not as finely milled as it could be, you need to make sure itís blended properly or it just sits on the skin, not giving a natural glow. I personally prefer the balm betty loumanizer but I do think this is a really beautiful product. It also makes a gorgeous eyeshadow which is a plus

Pro:
Reasonably priced for the amount of product and how long it will last you
Natural looking colour
Gives a fresh glow without being overly glittery
Nice packaging, simple and easy to use
Can also be used as an eyeshadow

Con:

Could be more finely milled
Not my fav compared to others on the market


on 4/27/2015 8:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I very pleased with this highlighter! I read reviews and watched YouTube videos of this product before buying it. It was a good decision because it absolutely looks beautiful on my skin! I'm the shade Barcelona in Nars and this highlighter compliments my cheekbones and gives me a fresh dewy look without looking too over done with glitter. I use a fan brush to apply the product and it gives me a natural glow. I would definitely repurchase this product!




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top