Chopard • Wish • Fragrances

rated 3.5(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 mhubbard on 8/31/2014 8:18:00 AM more reviews by mhubbard

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I am a big gourmand lover and I bought this blind, quite certain it would hit the spot. Unfortunately it was a disappointment, just straight up vanilla and not complex at all. Boring. Generic gourmand if there could be such a thing. Nothing at all like the masterpiece it is sometimes compared to. One could wear this to work and not offend, but why bother? Smells like a 13 year old girl's first perfume. Not bad, but no where near enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 WorthlessWonder on 5/25/2014 2:17:00 PM more reviews by WorthlessWonder

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Wish is, upon spraying, a very sharp synthetic caramel on me. I'm not getting any of the fruity top notes. I don't find this stage very pleasurable and I had to resist the urge to scrub it off. It smells like an overly sweet candy stick that you can buy at a carnival.

Once it reaches the middle notes I do pick up some of the milk and honey. The caramel is still a little overpowering, but it is a bit creamier than in the first stage. The drydown consists of vanilla and caramel on me. The caramel has now become rich and creamy and smells really nice, like actual caramel instead of synthetic one
. Do not be fooled! The caramel is present throughout all the stages. Definitely not a base note only.

I was hoping that this would give me more of the floral and fruity notes. Instead this is mostly a food scent. It's great if you love extremely gourmand scents, but it doesn't work for me. I like my fragrances to be a bit more complex. If I wanted to smell caramel I would just buy it in a candy store or something. That would be cheaper as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 10/10/2013 2:23:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wish for a soft perfume with hints of spice powder and musk, encased in an absolutely beautifully romantic bottle and Chopard delivers. This blue juice is gentle at the top yet becomes more persuasive and stronger as it melds with your chemistry.
The warmer vanilla is the pervasive note but sadly, Wish lingers only for about two hours or so. For me, this perfume rolls to a quick boil, then simmers down quickly.
Fruits of wild strawberry and gooseberry begin this fragrance, while honey adds some sweetness to this mix. Violets, orchids, and amber heavily powder the patchouli to make it a sweet and earthy fragrance.
Chopard Wish becomes cozy and intimate as it blends with you, creamier with a milky vanilla, almost a nutty finish. Brazilian Rosewood brings it all together with woods and mosses.
This is a quiet, genteel fragrance that is classic, sheer and elegant. Perfect for dinner parties, black tie affairs and where refinement is warranted. Wish sits close to the skin, projecting an effortless beauty.
Top Notes: Honeysuckle, Wild Strawberry, Black Locust, Orange Blossom, Coconut, Gooseberry, Brazilian Rosewood.
Middle Notes: Honey, Violet, Orchid, Milk, Heliotrope, Lily-Of-The-Valley.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Patchouli, Vanilla, Caramel, Incense.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilovelavalamps on 5/24/2013 7:08:00 AM more reviews by ilovelavalamps

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this on a if you love... you will love recommendation. Have worn Dior Addict for 10 years so needed a change. I'm used to the heaviness of Addict so only a tiny spray of this and now 4 hours later I think I'm in love. Was overwhelming for the first hour, and has just improved every hour since. I think I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nirhtuc on 9/26/2011 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Nirhtuc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've come to the conclusion that I just don't understand 90s perfumes. That, or somehow NONE of them smell good on me! I agree that Wish Chopard is kind of comparative to Angel, but Wish is not as strong and harsh as Angel. I can tolerate this scent- it's not overpowering, but not soothing or delicious in any way.

I've dabbed this on about 15 minutes ago, and I'm smelling oriental florals, woods, spice, and something creamy. I don't understand why perfumes like this one and Angel are categorized as 'oriental vanilla'. Vanilla is traditionally categorized as 'gourmande', is it not? How are Angel and Wish gourmande? Perfumes like Fancy, Fantasy, and Body Shop Vanilla remind you of food, not these...

I definitely won't purchase a full bottle of Wish- I bought a mini and I adore the bottle, so I'm keeping that. I'm only trying these 90s perfumes in search of a mysterious, wonderful oriental-vanilla perfume that my ESL teacher used to wear (1995-1997). I hope I'll find it someday! :(

Update: I will (sort of) eat my hat! I've grudgingly had this on for about 6 hours now and it smells... really good! I can smell the caramel, vanilla, honey and incense notes and my confusion about the 'oriental vanilla' term has abated. Pity about the patchouli note, which is the offensive (to my nose) dominant top note and remains in the drydown.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nanbri2531 on 6/3/2011 2:13:00 PM more reviews by nanbri2531

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After most of the reviews and of course the ingredients I decided to try Wish. I absolutely LOVE IT!!!! Although most people say's it lasts and lasts, I don't think it does. I am a patchouly oil wearer so I'm used to a strong lingering fragrance. I find myself reapplying this often. Now I'm on the hunt for the perfume version of the scent. I first tried to find powder or lotion for layering, but they just aren't out there. This will be my signature scent until they stop producing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TheShanLou on 4/28/2011 10:02:00 PM more reviews by TheShanLou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I WISH this smell would get the hell off my skin!!! Both men and women I know were utterly repulsed by it. Such a shame as the bottle was so pretty....maybe thats how they lured in so many people to buy this truly horrible scent.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShellyMum on 4/15/2011 5:09:00 PM more reviews by ShellyMum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got Wish for a great bargain price so I thought I'd try it. This is one extremely potent scent with amazing lasting qualities and mega sillage (please use with care LOL). I used 1 spray on my arm and could still smell it the next day on my skin and my clothing. The scent itself is a heavy sweet oriental on me. I get incense as the main stand out smell (mixed with baby powder). I can see the comparision to Angel because of the strength and silver/blue bottle combo. But I certainly wouldn't say they smell the same. They are both individual scents in their own right. Don't buy it expecting a copy of Angel, IMO. Overall, I don't love it but it's a nice warm winter scent to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MyUsername156 on 1/1/2011 8:55:00 AM more reviews by MyUsername156

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate this so much! I don't know what possessed me to buy it. I suppose it had something to do with the fact that it was the topselling perfume at the shop I got it from.. I honestly don't know how that happened. "Bleugh!" is my reaction when I smell this. It smells like.. cheap alcohol? I don't know. The bottle is so beautiful, so I was expecting a bright, fresh scent, but I find this to be very cloying and heavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 9/28/2010 1:37:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am really struggling to love this. Purchased based on MUA reviews, I read all and made mental notes. I have to say that this does open with a sharp pungency heavy on the turpentine, oops, I meant patchouli. The middle notes are softer but the patchouli doesn't really fade enough to allow the mid notes to shine. Those notes include vanilla, a sort of nutmeg and chocolate scent and amber with sandalwood. I see similarities to Angel but IMO Angel is lovlier albeit, overdone. I love cold weather incense laced scents, but this one just seems to try too hard to acheive that. I loathe to say this but I sense a bit of EL Youth Dew in Wish and I'm not happy one bit.( See my review) This, however is not as pungent as YD. I find myself applying Wish with the hope something in the drydown will magically change and suddenly I'll fall in love. This has yet to happen I guess all I can do for now is Wish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chopard products

More Fragrances products