John Frieda • Luxurious Volume • Shampoo

rated 3.1(32 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* briloveschocolatebunnies on 6/14/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by briloveschocolatebunnies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Pros: Does volumize (fair job), lathers very well, no obnoxious fragrance (in fact, no detectable fragrance at all)

Con: Probably too drying for very frequent use

This shampoo is pretty average---it does do a fairly decent job of adding volume (and I have very fine hair), but the cost is that it does seem to dry hair out. It's not as excessively drying as some volumizing shampoos, but I really miss the "Brilliant Brunette Shine Release Volumizing Shampoo." That one always gave me great results, but unfortunately I can only find the moisturizing Brilliant Brunette line (and that's definitely not what I want).

Overall, this is a decent shampoo and not expensive. But it will not likely be a HG shampoo, and there are bound to be better volumizing shampoos out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 5/2/2014 8:03:00 AM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It is an average shampoo. Could not notice any extra volume provided. Yet doesn't strip my hair or make it too dry. No particular smell detected. Creates a decent amount of foam.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iszeto on 2/24/2014 1:09:00 AM more reviews by iszeto

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Can a shampoo and conditioner pair give you a forehead full of acne? YES.

This John Frieda shampoo and conditioner Luxurious Volume pair gave me a raging case of acne all over my forehead. I had explosive whiteheads, large pimples and blocked pores. My skin was obviously blocked from one, or more, of the ingredients in this shampoo.

I threw it out and would NEVER buy it again.

I don't have any existing acne or pimple problem, and haven't had any breakouts for the last 20 years.

It took several months and an expensive doctor's prescription of acne medication to clear my skin. I was totally embarassed by my suddenly totally zitty forehead and it took almost 3 months for the pimple marks to disappear.

What kind of a chemical bath is this stuff?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinksexyhair on 11/13/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by pinksexyhair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Holy grail. I always keep this shampoo on hand. Whenever I want a simple and basic shampoo that just gets the job done, I reach for this. The Luxurious Volume shampoo and conditioner leave my hair soft and fluffy.. Just absolutely weightless. I love it. If you are someone that has hair prone to build up or gets oily quick, this set is for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dejr8fans on 11/7/2013 1:25:00 PM more reviews by dejr8fans

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have super fine, thin hair and I have tried just about every shampoo out there that promises volume. To give you an example of just how good this shampoo works for me, I just purchased by third tube. It's rare that I even use an entire bottle of shampoo, much less buy it three more times. This shampoo has a nice, clean, light scent. It lathers nicely and rinses out well. While this shampoo doesn't give my hair extreme volume, my hair definitely feels fuller after I use it and it's easy to manage. I also use alot of hairspray and this shampoo cuts right through the gunk as well as any clarifying shampoo that I've used. This shampoo costs about $5.50 at Wal Mart - for the price and the results, I'm very happy with this shampoo.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Majuriel on 5/4/2013 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Majuriel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

UGH! This left my hair a sticky gummy mess with no shine. This was so bad after 3 tries I tossed it in the garbage, horrible stuff....save your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 baby_doll007 on 9/13/2012 5:56:00 AM more reviews by baby_doll007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have very fine, very thin hair and have experienced some hairloss due to a medical condition so I need all the body I can get for my hair.
I brought this shampoo and the matching conditioner in the hopes of making my hair look like fuller, thicker, denser hair. I didn't have very high hopes for it because it didn't have many positive reviews, but I love John Frieda's Brilliant Brunette line and Luxurious Volume was on special for $10AUD each so I decided, what the heck I'll give it a go. The first time I used it when I blowdried my hair it looked and felt thicker. I styled it and later in the day when I put it in a ponytail, my ponytail actually felt thicker. And since using the shampoo and conditioner, I've had to use LESS styling products to get the volume I need! It really does volumize your hair and is safe for color treated hair! I also like the fact that it's a clear shampoo so it doesn't weigh your hair down and feels like it really cleans and removes any dulling buildup/residue. Kind of like a clarifying shampoo but not harsh at all, gentle and nourishing. The matching conditioner is light yet still a good detangler. I'm going to keep using this set as long as it keeps providing the volume I desperately need. I currently rotate it with Herbal Essences Hello Hydration to keep my hair moisturised and also so my hair doesn't get used to the same brand. Plus I like variety in my shower =) The fragrance is very mild, pleasant, soapy, clean smelling. I'm definitely going to buy the Root Booster/Lifter from this line also, because its alcohol free and I've read good things about it. I recommend this shampoo and the matching conditioner to those women who have thin, fine or straight hair with absolutely no volume on its own.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sparkle24 on 7/7/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by sparkle24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This shampoo is by far the best shampoo for my straight limp hair!

It lathers really well, my hair feels clean and I love the subtle smell. It does give body to my hair, but not as much as I expected. I use the same conditioner afterwards, and the duo works together really well and gives body, shine and softness.

I have already bought my second tubes, and when they run out I will go back to it again after I have used something else in between (I tend to change my shampoo brand every few months).

Overall, a very good shampoo in affordable price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emvee on 5/2/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by emvee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Bought this with the conditioner and first time I used it, it worked! My hair had more volume and felt really soft. Second time I used it, not as much volume, but hair was still soft but I noticed more flyaways. Third time, zero volume, limp, dry hair and serious flyaways. Thank goodness for ulta's return policy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poncholefty on 4/14/2012 6:36:00 PM more reviews by poncholefty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OMG - I love this stuff. Everything about it. The scent, what it does to my hair. When I use it, my DH spends the evening with his nose in my hair - he loves the way it smells. It does seem a bit drying (I use the condtioner in this line also) but once a week I use a treatment and my hair has been awesome. I'm trying some new things right now, but I have a feeling I'll be going back to this often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Shampoo products