John Frieda • Luxurious Volume Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.6(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 5/14/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this recently on a trip to NY. I stayed in a Club Quarters (never again) and they had shampoo for the guests but no conditioner (awful). I selected this conditioner because it was the cheapest one I could find. I was so relieved that I could actually get a comb through my hair that I didn't notice how bad this conditioner smells. Like rotten flowers. It also left my hair looking dull and greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paperdoll66 on 5/1/2014 4:25:00 AM more reviews by paperdoll66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this conditioner with Herbal Essences' Totally Twisted Shampoo. That shampoo is a little drying, so I needed a conditioner that added moisture without weighing down my curls. This worked really well. It does come in a smaller package than I would normally like. I use a very small amount, so it lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iszeto on 2/24/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by iszeto

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Can a shampoo and conditioner pair give you a forehead full of acne? YES.

This John Frieda shampoo and conditioner Luxurious Volume pair gave me a raging case of acne all over my forehead. I had explosive whiteheads, large pimples and blocked pores. My skin was obviously blocked from one, or more, of the ingredients in this shampoo.

I threw both out and would NEVER buy it again.

I don't have any existing acne or pimple problem, and haven't had any breakouts for the last 20 years.

It took several months and an expensive doctor's prescription of acne medication to clear my skin. I was totally embarassed by my suddenly totally zitty forehead and it took almost 3 months for the pimple marks to disappear.

What kind of a chemical bath is this stuff?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 6/20/2013 10:55:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like other Volumizing shampoos and conditioners, I find this duo has a split personality. I have to wash my hair almost every day as it is incredibly oily, fine and (most recently) also thinning slightly. When I use this shampoo and conditioner my hair is either full of shine and volume OR lank, flat and dry at the ends. I alternate with the much pricier Philip Kingsley and I find that with both shampoos I need to use a small-ish amount and emulsify with warm water in my hand to produce a slight lather before I massage it in to my wet hair. It's taken a while to master but I still cannot rely on either of these ranges. With volumizing/oily hair shampoos I find they start off great but over a short time the results are very variable. I've also tried a very expensive Kerastase shampoo for oily scalp and hair, with the same results. I alternate with a mild clarifying shampoo once a week so I'm not sure what else I can do!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bornbackwards on 6/8/2013 2:00:00 AM more reviews by bornbackwards

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just grabbed this conditioner because I had a coupon for it and I didn't expect it to be really amazing or anything, but it actually added some volume and successfully hydrated it so I like this. The best part though is the smell, for some reason I love it and can't stop smelling my hair now. I might buy this again in the future but I like trying out different shampoos/conditioners for my hair. I would suggest it for people with fine hair of course that tends to go flat, like mine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shinyandiknowit on 5/20/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by shinyandiknowit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this because I have fine, dry hair, and since I had only been addressing the dryness issue, I had very flat hair and a lot of product buildup. I genuinely enjoy both this and the shampoo and am dedicated to continuing use of it as my hair has perked up immensely and has acquired much less damage over 3-4 months of use than I've had with any other S&C. There is a tad bit of dryness to my hair still, but its nothing intolerable, I have gone swimming several times lately so chlorine is more responsible I think, and overall my hair is still in very good condition. That's pretty miraculous for me. I don't find I need to use heat as much as I used to; my hair just has that blown out volume. The packaging is excellent for my current shower as I stick it upside down between a little bar and the wall so no water gets in and no product leaks out. I do like that you can literally get all of the product out without much trouble. However, I have had issues in the past with their packaging opening easily and leaking out when stored upright. If you don't have the little bar in your shower, I suggest placing it upside down in a caddy. Anyway, I have used it with great success in daily washing for months and though I am tempted to try Root Awakening for its tingle, I don't see myself straying from this for long, and will make an effort to always have some on hand. For those concerned about the price I got 11 oz. each in the 30% more limited time bottles for 4.95 a pop, and after 3 or 4 months, I still have half the tube of shampoo, and a touch over a quarter or so of the conditioner. The price at my local store is still the same, but it is the normal size now, so 8.45 oz. for 4.95 (still plenty of product). Not bad when compared with some of the pricier brands, and considering I didn't have to buy six bottles of other products to address problems caused by this one. I would not recommend this for all hair types, but I do think it works wonders on many fine-haired people.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emvee on 5/2/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by emvee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Used this with the shampoo but I returned both after a few days because it made my hair dry, limp and gave me serious flyaways. I have never used any hair products that messed up my hair as quickly as the John Frieda voluminous stuff. Thumbs down!! Too bad zero isnt an option for overall rating because a one is too high for this crap. Only good thing about these products was the packaging because the tubes allow u to get all the product so nothing is wasted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poncholefty on 4/14/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by poncholefty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Along with the Full Splendor shampoo, these are my new go-to products. I love the scent, and for daily shampooing, it leave my hair clean, soft and easy to style. I highly recommend it for fine hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 3/31/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was horrible, what a waste of money! It left my fine, straight hair completely flat and it looked greasy. I used it with the matching shampoo but never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thiebautrenata on 3/14/2012 10:49:00 PM more reviews by thiebautrenata

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is very heavy and it has not much volume. The conditioner is lightweight And gives good volume to my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Conditioner products