Clinique • Different Lipstick - Spiced Apple • Lipstick

rated 4.3(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Canadianpetite on 6/23/2012 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Canadianpetite

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- a bit moisturizing
- smooth and feels light, not waxy
- doesn't feather
- average price for department store product
- lasts 3-4hrs without reapplication (no food, just drink)

Cons:
- too much orange/pumpkin for my liking

Came in GWP so not my choice of colour. Should have gone with the cooler shade instead of following SA suggestion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gingercurls on 4/2/2012 10:59:00 PM more reviews by gingercurls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is non-drying and long lasting. I like this color when I apply only one or two coats of it, if I apply more than that, the color is too brown for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 icloverbby on 2/15/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by icloverbby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Now, I didn't actually buy this product because I was on my lunch break and didn't bring my wallet.


Onto the actual product. I really liked it. Normally I don't go for this kind of red or red at all because I'm afraid that I can't pull the color off or I would end up looking like a clown or attracting too much attention. Yesterday being Valentine's, I suppose I slipped into the romantic mood for a nice shade of red to warm up my lips. My lips have a blue-pink undertone so most of the time Clinique lipsticks don't flatter me very much. However, when I tried this one on at the counter, inside my lips really warmed up from this color. A very pretty shade of brown red (more red than brown on my lips though). When I swatched on my skin (I'm a MAC C2, yellow undertone), it looked beigy red.


Outside under natural lighting, my lip color really popped in a nice way. A soft, warm shade of red that has a very subtle shimmer. It really completes my everyday look (I like to do natural looking eyes, mostly beige to soft brown or mocha).


It lasted pretty long too, more than 2 hours. Granted, I didn't drink, as the lady at the counter said Clinique doesn't make non-transfer lipsticks so eventually all lipsticks wear off (relatively fast) and have to reapply.


In the afternoon, I topped my lips with Peach Glow (a pricey Laura Mercier l/g). Loved how it turned out - still retained that red color (softer now since it's been sometime since I applied Spiced Apple) with added coral pink shine.


I plan on purchasing this lipstick next time I go shopping. Strongly recommend to girls who have pigmented and cold-color undertone to their lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparklehorse on 10/19/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by sparklehorse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a soft, warm brick-y red with a subtle shimmer. Normally the words "red" and "shimmer" together would cause me to run...but fear not. The shimmer is so subtle that it only serves to add a nice depth and dimension. An absolutely beautiful red for fall and winter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lxGossipGirlxl on 10/2/2011 2:20:00 PM more reviews by lxGossipGirlxl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous gorgeous color! I love how it goes on so smoothly, it's pigmented, and the color lasts for a really long time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tiinnhh on 4/14/2011 6:58:00 PM more reviews by tiinnhh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not much to say about this lipstick. Not a super stay color, so it will come off when you eat or drink. I do love the color though, its a cinnamon-y color with a brown undertone. Its a great color for tan skintones like myself. I wouldn't recommend this color if you're pretty pale because it may be a bit too dark.

I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tealeafdoll on 2/23/2011 8:20:00 AM more reviews by tealeafdoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently couldn't get hold of my HG sheer,red lipstick (Stila Jo) and so went looking for a replacement.
This seemed like a good choice and sure enough it works really well with my warm coloring. In fact I actually prefer it to my Stila one! The texture is sheer: not so much that it leaves you wondering where the color has gone, but enough that it looks natural.

There is a slight shimmer, which I was initially hesitant about, as I don't like frosty lipsticks, but it actually just helps to give the lips a moisturized appearance.
Overall, I can see myself re-purchasing this in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bluemousy on 9/8/2010 8:22:00 PM more reviews by bluemousy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I actually got this as a promotion for one of their things and I'm glad I did. I love the color on my lips and it lasts for quite a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juan54juan on 6/30/2010 1:00:00 AM more reviews by juan54juan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is pretty cheap cos I got it as part of the Clinique Apple themed travel pack. Especially compared to my fav Lipstick Queen Medieval, which costs almost twice as much as the whole pack!
The clour is natural enough for work, but is not completely matt - it has a very subtle shimmer which gives you this moisturised look. But that means it makes you look more moisturised than you feel...so dab on a tiny bit of balm (I use the lucas papaw ointment cos it doesn't change the colour and doesn't add more shine) and you're all good.
It wears beautifully and somehow manages to look better the longer you have it on so that it looks like your lips are actually that colour...which is a bit freaky but great!
You can also put on a high shine gloss to make it pop at night, so it's a pretty perfect lipstick as far as I'm concerned.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GinaM98 on 5/18/2010 10:38:00 PM more reviews by GinaM98

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on the fence about this one... I tend to stick with MLBB shades and I wanted to break away from that for a while so I decided to try red. I always have trouble finding flattering lip colors, so I knew I needed a warmer shade of red- Spiced Apple is definitely very warm but I can't seem to make it work for me. I'd describe it as a rust color, but it pulls too orange on me. I'm going to experiment with some liners and glosses before retiring it to the back of my makeup drawer though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products