Unlisted Brand • David Babaii for WildAid - hydrating shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 vicci13 on 4/21/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by vicci13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I thgt "wow" smells great, a little thin but no big deal, made my hair smell nice and clean. Half way thru this bottle and I am horrified.
I was at work and scratched my scalp, I found this weird lump. When I pulled my hand back, there was blood. My husband looked when I got home and said it was the strangest thing he'd seen. It was a big sore boil like thing on my scalp.
The oxide that makes the shampoo foam, can't recall 1st part of name, made pustuals on rabbits according to a toxicology research web site I found. If theres more then 3% of it theres a good chance for break out. There are other potentials but this ingredient rose to the top of the list for me as the possible culpret.
Now that they break outs healing I have weird itchy dandruff and cradle cap like substance on my head.
here's the article i found on the lauramine oxide:

Lauramine Oxide and Stearamine Oxide are aliphatic tertiary amine oxides that are used mostly in hair care products as foam builders and stabilizers, viscosity enhancers, emollients, conditioners, emulsifiers, antistatic agents, and wetting agents. Both compounds are susceptible to nitrosation and can form nitrosamines in the presence of nitrosating agents. In rats, up to 40% of Lauramine Oxide applied to the skin was absorbed. In two human volunteers, 92% of the dose applied to the skin was recovered from the skin. The oral LD50 in rats for a formulation containing 0.3% Lauramine Oxide was estimated to be >20 g/kg. At a concentration of 30%, Lauramine Oxide produced severe dermal reactions in rabbits, but at 0.3% only slight to moderate erythema with slight edema, Assuring, and slight to moderate epithelial desquamation were found. Stearamine Oxide applied to rabbit skin at 5% did not cause irritation. Both ingredients caused mild, transient ocular irritation in rabbits. Clinical data showed dermal exposure to 3.7% Lauramine Oxide to be a mild irritant, with a slight potential for mild cumulative skin irritation at concentrations as low as 2%. At 0.3%, Lauramine Oxide was not a sensitizer in clinical studies. Lauramine Oxide was nonmutagenic in the Ames assay, but was mutagenic after nitrosation. Lauramine Oxide at 0.1% in drinking water was not carcinogenic in rats, but at 0.1% with 0.2% sodium nitrate did increase the incidence of liver neoplasms. Based on this animal data, neither ingredient should contain N-ni-troso compounds nor be used in formulations containing nitrosating agents. On the basis of the available animal and clinical data, it is concluded that Lauramine Oxide and Stearamine Oxide are safe as cosmetic ingredients for rinse-off products, but that the concentration in Lauramine Oxide leave-on products should be limited to 3.7% and that of Stearamine Oxide limited to 5%.


This has been an expensive and horrible experience. I got a sulfate free shampoo from costco, it reminds me a lot of pureology for a fraction of the cost. I'd rather send the animals a direct donation then have "chamber of horrors" on my scalp.
Thank you all that posted about your break outs, it was a comfort knowing i wasn't the only one. BY the time the break out happened my hair stopped looking nice too, it looked sticky and dirty. I am very sad. I love the ingredient list in david babaii's shampoo and conditioner but I can't use it.
I have some left but I will use it for my grand-sons bubble bath I guess.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HotWolfie on 3/31/2012 4:06:00 PM more reviews by HotWolfie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my fav of the organic shampoos. It smells nice, lathers well, and doesn't dry out my hair. The only issue I had was that it took a while for my hair to "adapt" to this shampoo. For the first week or so my hair appeared oily (which is a miracle because I have dry, coarse hair lol). After that first week my hair was soft, shiny, and not oily at all! I love it! If it wasn't so pricey I'd buy it all the time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 girlsinlove on 11/11/2011 5:00:00 AM more reviews by girlsinlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo smelled lovely and I thought it would be moisturising but after a few weeks it has started to become TOO moisturising for my scalp/roots and is weighing down my hair. My scalp doesn't feel as clean and is getting oilier! Shame. This shampoo might be good for someone with dry scalp!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ana71 on 6/20/2011 1:37:00 AM more reviews by Ana71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh dear :( Unfortunately this shampoo was a complete waste of money for me. Not only did it severely dry my hair out (I've used it three times to give it a fair trial) but my scalp broke out as well.

Used this for the first time before a big night out; by the time the night was well underway my hair had frizzed beyond recognition (to assist styling I used Babaii's Volcanic Ash Sculpting Clay) and the itching began. Talk about embarrassing.

It's all very well when a shampoo smells nice, but it is the effectiveness that should be more important, yes?

Never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MzSiStarr on 3/17/2011 1:24:00 PM more reviews by MzSiStarr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like this.. It reminds me of Nexxus Therappe 'Poo (HG for Me!) minus the sulfates. It lathers up well and smells deliciously Tropical <3. Major points off for the packaging..my bottle has leaked into my plastic storage containers where I keep all of my Poo's which created a ridiculous mess #Fail! Anyway this leaves my hair feeling very clean yet moisturized. I have the matching Condish but I haven't used it in a while so I'm going to use it this weekend and review.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xcheck on 1/19/2011 8:23:00 AM more reviews by xcheck

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pros: Leaves hair soft and hydrated. No flyaways.
Cons: Hate the packaging. The opening tends to get product around it because of the design.

I would get this again but would not go out of my way for it...there are other shampoos I like better. Would try this if you have coarse, dry hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redheadjane on 11/17/2010 6:51:00 AM more reviews by redheadjane

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been on the Hunt for a good Sulfate free/Paraben free shampoo for some time, mostly dissapointed with what is out there. I picked up this along with the matching conditioner at Rite Aid ($6 a bottle, not bad for a chem-free shampoo). One of the things I like about this hydrating shampoo, is that it really is hydrating. It left my hair very soft after washing even without any conditioner in it. I love the smell, kind of coconut with a hint of floral in it. It lathered really well for a sulfate free shampoo, something that is difficult to find. My hair felt very clean afterward. So far of all the Natural shampoos, it's the winner! I actually think this shampoo is better than the conditioner. And it's animal friendly and free of Petrochemicals!! I will definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marvin1 on 9/25/2010 9:29:00 AM more reviews by marvin1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I put "yes" for rebuy, but it's more like a maybe, or a "not complete no".

I bought it together with the conditioner, and used together, it was awful. My hair was weighed down, and it left my hair really dry. But what I noticed what that the shampoo by itself is actually pretty moisturizing, when you put it on your hair, it actually feels like a shampoo&conditioner together. It is a lot thicker and buttery feeling than most shampoos I ever used. So I ended up using only the shampoo, and it's pretty good! That being said, I heard about this shampoo from a youtuber michele1218, and this shampoo definitely DOES NOT leave my hair feeling the way hers feels.... For me it's nothing to scream for, but not so bad that I would never touch the product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 strawbery on 9/25/2010 2:31:00 AM more reviews by strawbery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good shampoo, my hair is definitely alot moisturised than when I was using expensive, chemical shampoos but still frizzy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 7/14/2010 5:08:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the conditioner so I was excited to try the matching shampoo. It lathers gently and moisturizes very well. It is not loaded with harsh sulfates and doesn't strip color or leave any residue. My hair was left very soft and clean and it was less frizzy when it air-dried. It has a wonderful coconut fragrance that isn't overwhelming. I wish it wasn't so pricey, but I usually find deals some places. I bought mine from Ulta. I think that this would benefit those with dry, thick hair. It does give soem weight without sacrificing too much body.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Shampoo products