Nivea • A Kiss Of Shimmer • Lip Treatments

rated 3.0(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 7/1/2014 1:07:00 AM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm at odds with A Kiss of Shimmer. I like the lip product itself because it is smooth & has moisturizing shea butter & jojoba oil; my issue is with the pearly shimmer. The frosty pink looks strange on my dark (NC45) skin. It both looks too pink & too white at the same time. I know… I'm complaining about the shimmer in a product called 'A Kiss of Shimmer'. I was literally taking it to be that—just a kiss of shimmer, not a glitzy mess on my mouth. It makes me look like I kissed Ke$ha. It'll probably look more natural & not as creepy on somebody else, but I definitely have buyer's regret! All the unnatural pink & glitter just settles into my lips & makes me look like a wannabe Christie (the black Barbie). I'm typically a fan of Nivea & I trust the brand & this is the first & only product of theirs that I dislike. If they'd ease up on the amount of shimmer, I'd reconsider.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lol98 on 4/20/2014 1:53:00 PM more reviews by Lol98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love ittttt!!!! (But not for shaped lips)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cherrybello on 3/30/2014 7:20:00 AM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Now… I have recently become a fan of some of the best Nivea lip products, but this one is not quite there for me. On the package it says that it contains pearls and silky extracts to give your lips a pearly shimmer while providing a pearly shine. Well… I gave it so much chance that I actually went through half of it… but it didn’t quite work in the moisturising department, and the white pearly shine on my lips contrasting my Asian skin it made me look like I needed to be hospitalised, pronto… and pairing it with lipstick… any lipstick… just made my lips peel like there is no tomorrow… so… unfortunately this one I is quite disappointing for me, and it has been sitting in my neglected pile ever since…

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bonitabomb on 2/14/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by Bonitabomb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my go to lip balm/lipgloss/lipstick you name it! I've bought so many lipsticks and lip balms for color and this is hands down the best color!!! It gives such a nice glows pink shimmer and really makes ur lips and features stand out! I find myself always going back to this instead of wearing other expensive lipstick lip balms. Only thing I don't like about this is that it dries up quickly so I always have to constantly reapply but other than that I love this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SoundlySensibleBeauty on 1/25/2014 2:43:00 PM more reviews by SoundlySensibleBeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE THIS SOOOOO MUCH!!! Talk about HG material. I am pale and range seasonally from nc15-nc30. Whether I am pale or "tan" this works fab. I get compliments everytime I wear it. I have spent hundreds looking for the right baby pink/nude lip stick and I found it with Nivea? thats bat sh*t crazy. I do have to reapply but I do with everything. I have a condition where I can only breathe through my mouth 85% of the time so can anyone say dry lips? This works wonders. Wouldnt live without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blueberryfrost on 12/30/2013 9:00:00 PM more reviews by blueberryfrost

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think this has been reformulated. I used to have it and remember it being way too frosty and too slick, and not moisturizing. It smelled gross too, and i tossed it.

Now the packaging is a little different and the balm itself is also different.

Now, it's a bit thicker and more moisturizing. It coats my lips and stays longer. The color is not as frosty as it was...it's more of a pale shimmery baby pink than white 1960s go-go dancer frost. It isn't unflattering like my old one.

The scent is better now, too. It's a soft berry kind of scent, and I think my old one smelled like soap, ugh.

This makes a good base for lipstick and glosses.

Overall, this is an improvement compared to my old kiss of shimmer balm. Not my favorite, as I prefer my Baby Lips or Lip Smackers, but this works if you're in the mood for a shimmery baby pink lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RomaSae on 12/13/2013 12:25:00 AM more reviews by RomaSae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this. Cute packaging, cute idea, respected brand, I love shimmer...

Unfortunately, this does nothing for me. If anything, it makes my lips feel *more* dry and uncomfortable. I apply it and I feel like there's a layer of greasy stuff on my lips. No matter how long I leave it on, or how much I reapply, it just never moisturizes. Then my lips start chapping, and the shimmer catches on dry skin patches, and it just looks horrible.

Not to mention, if I put any more than one sheer swipe on my lips, it completely washes me out. No pretty pink shimmer here...more like a "there's no blood in my face but hey at least my lips look like snow" kind of situation.

Will not repurchase...can't even make myself use it. I'll give it to my sister or something.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baby_grazi_x05 on 11/13/2013 5:16:00 AM more reviews by baby_grazi_x05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I got this on a whim at CVS and should have grabbed A Kiss of Moisture instead. It doesn't moisturize my lips. It just sort of puts a layer of shimmer on my lips and before I know it, they feel dry again. The smell is only okay. I use this under my MAC matte lipsticks to keep those from looking so dry. But as a treatment? Not so much. Plus, if you're not careful, the product rolls down in the tube if you press it on your lips just a little too hard. Umm. No. But I'm a fan of A Kiss of Moisture! Very nice!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kirito on 10/29/2013 2:26:00 AM more reviews by kirito

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this randomly when it was on clearance at Target for $4.15. (The pack of two) I really hate lipstick, so I like to try out different tinted lip balms. I've been on the hunt for a mostly sheer baby pink color, so I decided to pick this up.

It is quite moisturizing, very comparable to the Maybelline Baby Lips. The color is sheer, which I like. I just hate how the product feels gritty when you rub your lips together, which is from the shimmer. I'm glad that the shimmer isn't overbearing, but I would like this product a lot more if it didn't feel so gritty on the lips. I don't care for the scent either; but then again, I dislike most scented lip products.

If it wasn't on clearance, I probably would not have purchased. I'm hoping to try the milk and honey version of this lip product, though.

I plan to just throw this lip product into my purse as a back up in case I misplace my EOS lip balm.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 10/20/2013 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really love Nivea's "A Kiss of" lip care line, and, in addition to Shimmer, have tried Mint, Milk & Honey, and Cherry so far. A Kiss of Shimmer was a gift from Mom, and at the time I was not wearing much more than clear or tinted lip balms, so this was a nice change. Although this lip balm is somewhat of 'the odd one out' than the rest of the Nivea lip care pack, it is a sweet balm for every day, and I quite like it in my makeup wardrobe.

The texture of Shimmer is a lot thicker than most Nivea's lip care products, which makes me feel like I am using a pearly lipstick rather than a lip balm. While this balm looks pigmented in the tube (peachy salmon color), it comes on only as fine white shimmer and enhances the natural lip color that way. Although it was Mom who gave me this balm, when we went out once, she noticed me wearing it and exclaimed, "You lips look so soft! What are you wearing?" She thought it was lipstick, and was very surprised when I said it's A Kiss of Shimmer she gave me.

Quite a few reviewers noted that this product is better suited for a tan skin, and I will agree. However, I find that it also looks pretty on fair skin, especially if facial features are defined with a soft blush or a light bronzer. I posted a pic of me wearing it, and it is true that it looks like lip gloss upon application. It does lose some of the glossiness as it is absorbed, within an hour. I will also agree that this lip product may settle in lines, so it is better for lips to be moist and plump before applying. I don't mind the berry scent of this product and overall it feels tasteless; however, at certain times it will taste like a bug spray (so strange!). I saw that it did to several others too (feels like "eating perfume" or bunch of chemicals). It's not overbearing to me, and happens rarely, but this balm certainly has more taste than others (lippie off for that...).

As the ad says, Shimmer is "formulated to provide hours of moisturization, so you are always ready to let a great kiss happen." I do appreciate how this lip balm keeps my lips moisturized for hours. It does not seem to collect, no matter how much I apply, and fades pretty evenly. Formulation includes rich ingredients, as the rest of Nivea's balms (beeswax, shea butter, jojoba, sweet almond, and grape seed oils, plus glycerin). I also enjoy that this one has hydrolized pearl and silk powder. For a lip balm and for the price, it seems to be a luxurious treat. I have since started wearing lipsticks and may not repurchase simply for that reason, but it is worth repurchasing, so I will say yes. It sounds like it may not work for everyone, but if you like a little pearl and your lips are generally moist, I would give this a try! Seems like it is not be a good suit for lips that need deep nourishment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nivea products

More Lip Treatments products