MAC • Overrich - Heritage Rouge Pigment • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 12/11/2013 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I must be on a packaging rampage. I don't quite understand why the manufacturers always settle on the least user friendly packaging.

In my quest to shop my stash recently, I was looking for a reddish burgundy shade and dove into my piggies drawer. And found this beauty. I have used it wet -- for a very dramatic look. I don't want it to be this dramatic for now so I did a very soft matte eye with my UD Naked matte palette and kept it super matte and soft. On the bottom eyelid I used a dab of the Heritage Rouge, right under the iris as a kind of spot which blurs into the browns and taupes.

I must say I did a great job... lol. It is a fabulous pop of color, just don't be afraid of it and as with all piggies watch out how you open.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Devildog4025 on 10/30/2013 7:51:00 AM more reviews by Devildog4025

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So... I marked that I wouldn't purchase this again.. but I am in between, and don't know why. I LOVE the color.. it is sort of dramatic, but man, it is so different. It glides on seamlessly and lasts all day AND night (as most of MAC's pigments do). The color is a pretty dark ruby/medium burgundy color, with a good amount of shimmer. I like to apply it, and brush 'Beauty Marked' velvet shadow (also by MAC) in the out corners and it becomes the perfect compliment to heritage rouge.
I do have to say however, that I work for a company that allows people to pretty much do what they want BUT, when it comes to makeup, they prefer a toned down look. And I wore this to work and was immediatley told by my supervisor that I 'wasn't allowed to wear it again' (keep in mind, I am the queen of the smokey eye and crazy colors, and have never been told my makeup wasn't up to standards). So proceed with caution if you work in an environment that is more conservative. Otherwise, it is a FANTASTIC color... love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caligallola on 1/9/2012 9:38:00 PM more reviews by Caligallola

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite MAC pigments. The color is just a beautiful rich burgundy like color extremely pigmented. No fallout, glides on nicely, looks great when applied wet/damp. My favorite look for this is goldmine on inner lid, heritage rouge on outer half of lid blended up into crease with a little carbon blended into otter v. Just looks stunning. NW25 for ref.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kpennock on 12/31/2011 4:38:00 PM more reviews by kpennock

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this color. It has a very high color payout though so be careful or it comes out super dark. I love to pair it with melon..they compliment each other very well. It also works as a great liner and makes blue eyes pop. I didn't have too much trouble with fallout, which is a plus because the last thing ya need is maroonish/burgundy stripes on your face.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/29/2011 7:37:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

It's a pretty color but I don't really see anything unique enough to justify the price. It's a shimmery maroon color, that I don't imagine would be too hard to duplicate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leguizombie on 8/4/2011 2:54:00 PM more reviews by Leguizombie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

After purchasing a sample size believing the Heritage Rouge was limited edition, I spoke with a MAC artist on their site, and found out that Heritage Rouge is a permanent PRO color. Woohoo! Full sized here I come!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RainOnMyParade9351 on 7/6/2011 2:10:00 AM more reviews by RainOnMyParade9351

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far the best pigment I've ever tried! The color payoff is amazing and it blends like dream. It's also a gorgeous color that can be a really dramatic rusty color or be sheered down to a nice medium brown crease color for everyday. The only thing bad I can think to say about it is that it can be a bit messy, but that's generally the nature of all loose pigments. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bambie_Blonde on 3/1/2011 7:22:00 PM more reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

This pigment is just AMAZING! This is one of those pigments I really wish that I had purchased in the full size jar- Heritage Rouge is the most perfect crease or lid color. I was not interested in MAC when the Overrich collection came out, but that collection released two of my favorite pigments (the other one being Blonde's Gold) .....I recently discovered The Beauty Sampler and I purchased a huge amount of Heritage Rouge based on swatches and EOTD's I had seen on blogs. To me, this is a mixture of purple and rich burgundy- it looks gorgoeus with seriously every single color on the lid! anything from Gold to Taupe to Bronze. I normally opt for Gray, Black, or brown shadow on my crease- but as of late, I have been getting tired of that look and Heritage Rouge is the perfect change of pace. It doesn't look to bright, or to purple. If MAC ever re-released this I will be purchasing a full size. For now, I'm happy with my sample size :) luckily with MAC pigments, a little bit goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dianeluis on 2/14/2011 8:26:00 PM more reviews by dianeluis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love Heritage Rouge! I usually wear this for a smokey eye and I always get compliments on it. It is very true to its color on my tanned skin and really makes my brown eyes pop. I would repurchase but I was lucky enough to find a jar at my CCO after I wasted my sample so hopefully it will last me a lifetime!
I wish MAC had some type of program where customers could vote for which pigments they would like to keep in the permanent collection. They always seem to get rid of the ones with the best overall ratings. Maybe to make more money on their LE sets?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyers2 on 12/20/2010 7:00:00 PM more reviews by amyers2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last year and I love it. It can look pretty intimidating in the container (reddish purple) but if applied correctly it can really make eyes pop. I like to wear it for more sophisticated looks.

I use a brown base underneath it (MAC paint in bamboo) and it gives it a nice reddish brown hue.

A little bit of this product goes a long way. The container will last for years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products