Paula's Choice • Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant • Treatments

rated 4.0(946 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ahoymaite on 4/12/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by ahoymaite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Complete HG product for me! I was using Stridex (my first time with BHA's) with great success for several months. Suddenly I started breaking out again, and since I've heard the menthol in Stridex can be an irritant for some people, I looked for a new BHA.

I've heard great things about Paula's Choice, but her products totally exceeded what I thought possible. This BHA makes my skin so, so smooth by the time morning rolls around. My makeup glides on and any acne spots I do have are significantly reduced overnight.

It can be very drying though, so beware. I'm currently using this with Retin-A, so I have to moisturize, moisturize, moisturize. As long as you have the right moisturizer, you should be all set.

The price is a little more than what I'd ideally like to pay, but it's well worth it. Plus you can usually find a decent percent off coupon on coupon aggregating sites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heyred52 on 3/25/2014 12:23:00 PM more reviews by heyred52

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is absolutely amazing! I started out applying every night and within a week my skin was smooth and luminous! I have dropped down to once every 2 days after a couple weeks as it is somewhat drying----I use Cerave (another recent find I consider the BEST moisturizer I have ever used!) in between. I am 61 and have sun damage from 40 years of tanning every summer. It didn't take away the discoloration so much as smoothed everything out allowing my foundation to glide on like silk. I couldn't be more pleased. I have tried everything over the years and NOTHING comes close to whatever magic is in this bottle. HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! (ps--my 2 daughters in their 20's use with same results---cleared up their acne and left skin luminous and smoooooooth).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bchicobraun on 3/21/2014 11:47:00 PM more reviews by bchicobraun

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I recently started using this product after trying literally every product on the market for acne and wrinkles. At 40 years old...having both these issues it's hard to find a product that works for both. Long story short....this is a miracle in a bottle for both my husband and I! In a two week period...we both look 10 years younger. I can't even explain what this has done for us. We now both have flawless, smooth, beautiful skin. The best part is the radiant glow that's achieved by this product! It's beyond believable. We were very close to getting chemical peels and botox...no need for that now. This product has literally transformed our old, skin damaged, dried, large pored skin to that of a 30 year old. Even my hubby said he wants to get a lifetime supply. I can't imagine what our skin would look like if we used any other Paulas Choice products with this! Truly amazing and worth every penny!!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Empyrean_Luminary on 3/16/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by Empyrean_Luminary

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Creamy, smooth, non-irritating and fast absorbing. I alternate this with Paula's Choice 8% AHA and combined they result in smooth, clear skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 3/15/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

After using samples of this for the last year I finally splurged on a full size bottle. I only use it about 2-3xs a week during the day, so it will last me a long time. I like that it soaks right in and can be topped with another moisturizer or makeup without any tackiness or shine. I've tried the 2% bha liquid and gel and prefer this to the other two as I don't notice I'm wearing it after application.

In terms of efficacy, it's done a decent job with helping to even tone and keep acne at bay. I use the 9% bha as a spot treatment for what zits I do start to get and any stubborn areas that start to clog.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bellamoma on 3/9/2014 11:11:00 PM more reviews by bellamoma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Has anyone noticed that almost all of the reviews on the PC website are 4+stars? Or that some of the very things she criticizes in others she does herself? "Xyz ingredient in a cleanser is a waste bc it just gets washed down the drain". Ok, then why are you selling your cleansers with all these "unique" ingredients that will also get washed down the drain? I could go on and on but my point is, tempting as it is, don't blindly trust the brand. Anyhow, I tried this product and wanted so badly for it to work. I didn't mind the gel consistency at all, and I was happy it was fragrance free. My skin seemed happy and I did see a noticeable change on my nose and cheeks- pores looked way smaller. Unfortunately after two weeks I had to stop because my skin just couldn't tolerate it. I may not be someone who can use BHAs. So bottom line: product is effective but probably not for ultra sensitive skin like mine. I've tried tons of products from PC and I break out from all of them.

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 livviep on 3/2/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by livviep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I normally have clear skin and never experience anything other than closed comedones as far as acne goes. However, I am always looking for that little bit of extra help in evening my skin overall. I mainly purchased this hoping to fade some light freckles from the sun on my cheeks and rid my chin of stubborn blackheads. I gave this product over a month, and really tried to stick out the "purging" described in other reviews, but this was just ridiculous! Multiple, painful cysts and pustules that have left scars and not to mention closed comedones that will not go away. So far I've been doing damage control with cetaphil and a trusted AHA. I'm happy to say I have not experienced any new breakouts and my skin appears to be going back to normal now. However, I am beyond irritated that I ever tried this! Now I'm going to have to work on removing these marks for months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vanessakkk on 2/24/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by vanessakkk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

does nothing on my skin,nothing gets better or worse

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Margobot on 1/4/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Margobot

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

So far so good, I've been using Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant for a full week now and I already notice that my skin is more smooth and radiant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fluffysealion on 12/16/2013 7:25:00 PM more reviews by Fluffysealion

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive skin and cannot physically exfoliate because the tiny abrasions from physical exfoliants cause me to break out into hives (as the chemicals from skincare will more easily pass through my skin barrier). So I rely on chemical exfoliants such as this.

I've been using the Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting BHA Lotion for a while now. I use to around twice a week, but may increase or decrease this depending on my skin's needs. It is amazing at keeping my skin smooth and evening out my skin tone. It also seems to brighten my skin and moisturise it. I have dry skin, and notice that this product reduces the flaking. I also have milia, and found that if I dab this lotion just on top of my milia every day, the milia disappears really quickly.

The bottle design is very good, and the pump is very efficient at giving you just the right amount of product. It's also very hygienic which is important since this product will last you a long time.

Overall, I am very pleased with this product, and have not been able to find a better chemical exfoliant. I will be repurchasing this when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products