Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash Pink Grapefruit Facial Cleanser

2.5

599 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (2%) Inactive Ingredients: Water, Sodium C14 16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Linoleamidopropyl, PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Polysorbate 20, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Flower Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, C12 15 Alkyl Lactate, Cocamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Polyquaternium 7, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Benzotriazoyl Butylphenol Sulfonate, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, PEG 80 Sorbitan Laurate, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Benzalkonium Chloride, Red 40, Violet 2, Fragrance


on 3/23/2015 10:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i've been using this cleanser for years. i wouldn't necessarily say it helps with acne, but i still have continued using it because it makes my face feel refreshed, does a good job of taking off makeup, and i love the smell. it's slightly expensive for a soap in my opinion but a bottle lasts a while because you only need a small amount of cleanser for each wash.



on 2/20/2015 1:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was recomended this product and I was so excited to buy it with all the good reviews, but much to my despair after using it it left me with horrible dry skin. I had peeling dry patches and red rashes and I am not allergic to any of the ingredients! The dry patches took up most of my face and took atleast 2 months to return to normal. It takes a long time to foam and is hard to wash off. I'm very disappointed with this product :( it did leave my face clean though, but so do all cleansers I guess!


on 1/27/2015 8:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I have been using this for a good 3 weeks now, I really like this it helps with my oily skin too, smells great and really cleans your skin, skin feels smooth & deeply cleansed. I only brought this product because I really love the neutrogena pink grapefruit moisturiser. The one I have got is the exact same as this but it doesn't state the word 'acne' on the bottle, but it's the exact same with the pump bottle. This really helps to prevent spots, it does this by drying out the skin so probably not a good thing if you have dry skin to start with, but should be fine for oily/combination skin types.


on 1/27/2015 8:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for years now but it's a bit of a hit and miss for me.

It does seem to dry out my skin, however if I use a moisturiser in another brand it evens it out. It can be quite hard to wash off too because of the thick consistency of the product, however it does leave my skin feeling clean.
I really wish that the packaging was travel friendly. It's been so annoying having to keep it in resealable sandwich bags, and even the bottle gets sticky from the pump pressing down in the bag. Very unpleasant.

As for my acne, it does slow it down quite effectively. I notice that with daily use my skin is settled, and if I do start to break out it will only last a couple of days. Sometimes in the morning my skin feels kind of oily, which using this is a quick solution. I don't need much of it to wash my face with either, meaning that one bottle has lasted me for well over 2 years. I love the colour and smell too, it's very refreshing!


on 1/18/2015 9:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a very sensitive and oily skin, but if there's an acid that helps me keep my acne under control, it is the Salicylic. I usually use the Effaclar Deep Cleansing Foaming Cream, but as I live in Brazil and I can't find this product here, I decided to try this Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash Pink Grapefruit. Well... I must say it was the worst choice I've ever made. There's a famous saying here in Brazil that says: Don't make any changes on a team that's winning... And well... I should've trusted it. I used it 4 times and at the beginning I actually thought it was a great product, until my neck started to get really red and itchy. As it was only my neck and not my face, I thought it was due to the high temperatures we're facing this summer, so I used this product just one more time... It was enough for me to get tiny bumps aaaaall over my face, followed by redness and itchiness on the most sensitive areas. It's not comfortable, I couldn't sleep at night due to the itchiness and what's making me even more regretful is that I've been on this situation before and I remember that it ended up giving me the worst breakout I've ever had. I really do not recommend this, to some people it may actually work, but to those who have sensitive skin, there are other products better formulated and not that harsh on the skin... Don't make the same mistake I made. I've never written a review on MakeupAlley before, but I felt that I needed to alert people about this terrible face wash...


on 1/5/2015 9:42:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I love this product! Really helps to make your skin more even and soft - even helped calm down my breakouts a bit!

The only thing I'd say is that it won't make your spots/acne disappear completely but I've noticed that it's reduced mine significantly.

I will definitely keep repurchasing this!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was horrible. My skin was clear at this time. I used this product two days (morning and before bed) and when i woke up my face was so itchy and wouldnt stop itching. FYI, i used a moisterizer with this. The next day i woke up my face was scaly and red, also still very itchy. I stoped using it and had to go to the dermo. So this produch was a horrible experience..


on 12/15/2014 5:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this after seeing it was highly recommended by one of my favourite YouTube gals, Sinéad (aka TheMakeupChair). She raves about this wash in her videos as it being the only thing that helps with her acne and breakouts, so I was eager to give it a go. I quickly found a reasonably priced listing on eBay and bough it along with the moisturiser from the same range.

And then I came to MakeupAlley and read the reviews, and I was scared out of my mind. Oh *%$&, why had I wasted my money?

Thankfully my experience with the product is nothing like most reviews here. After reading the warnings about how it dries out the skin, I decided to follow an advice given by Sinéad in her videos: I dilute the product as much as I can. Meaning, I get my face dripping wet, and then I use very tiny amounts of product. I've been using it for a week and a half following this method, and I absolutely love it. It cleans my skin, hasn't caused any kind of irritation or dryness so far, and, most importantly, it clears my spots overnight. I do not have aggressive acne, but I tend to have small "colonies" of spots in my chin and forehead, and this has greatly helped to reduced them. I was especially impressed when it shrunk a huge red pimple I had growing on my chin - and this was the very first time I used it.

The only downside to this gel is the scent. It smells very "chemical", very artificial. It doesn't bother me so much as long as the product itself does what it should, but still, not pleasant. The packaging on the other hand is great, very hygienic.


on 12/12/2014 9:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This made my face feel dry if you have oily skin maybe this will work better for you


on 12/12/2014 11:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I need a good face wash that cleans off my makeup residue and doesn't irritate my skin. This irritates my skin and clogs my pores I would rather use water than this.


Back to Top