Mixed Chicks • Leave in Conditioner/ Styling Lotion • Styling Products

rated 4.0(46 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ashlyndmarie on 9/27/2014 11:50:00 AM more reviews by ashlyndmarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this on and off in the past. First off the smell to me is weird. It's like a bland lotion scent. I like the definition and softness it gives me. That price tho.....ugh. It's a decent product but that price ain't right. Lol

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brittanysw94 on 9/24/2014 9:19:00 PM more reviews by brittanysw94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used Mixed Chicks on and off for about a year. Mixed Chicks gets the job done, but not alone. In order to tame my curls I had to use a leave in conditioner, then use Mixed Chicks on top of that, and sometimes I even had to add some gel. Recently I kept noticing this odd chemical smell in my hair and I couldn't figure out which product it was. I finally tried a different hair product and that annoying smell was gone! I like to smell good so Mixed Chicks had to go!

I took back all of my Mixed Chicks bottles and exchanged them for something else. The smell of Mixed Chicks and the length of time it took for my hair to dry with it was not worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 4/25/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had tried this product years ago, and yes, I did really like it. But, I ended up hearing others on hair forums and on YouTube talking about these different hair products that they would be trying and bragging on, and I ended up getting caught up in this cycle of buying new product after product. So, eventually, I ended up moving on from the leave in. Not, because I didn't like it, but. But, because I had let myself become a product junkie.

Starting during the middle of 2013, I began doing what i consider to be protective styling. I had become lazy, and really didn't feel like doing all that much to my hair, due to it being extremely hot and humid outside at the time. I would wear my hair styled into a sleek bun every day for months, using Ecostyler and other hard holding gels to do so. My hair to become very dry, brittle, and then started breaking off .To quickly remedy this I had to cut my hair. Before the cut, my hair was at bra strap length. After the cut, it was at arm pit length. I then decided that I needed to give my hair a much needed extended break from gel. I then began using styling creme and curly puddings in my hair, to use it to style it with. I even bought the corresponding shampoo and conditioner to go with each line. But, I still didn't feel that my hair was on the right road when it came to products. For the beginning of 2014, one of my New Year's Resulutions was to find a regimen that would best for my hair to greatly get it back on track. So, i decided to put my faith that the Shea Moisture products could do just that. So, I ended up switching over to using Shea Moisture products exclusively. I used their Curl &Shine Shampoo go cleanse my hair, use either their Deep Treatment Masque or Anti Breakage Masque for thinning hair to condition my hair under my Heutiful Hair Steamer for 15 or 30 minutes, and then I'd rinse the conditioner out, and apply either the Raw Health Butter Transitioning Milk (even though I wear my hair natural) or the Curl Enhancing Smoothie.

However, I happened to go on the Mixed Chicks website, and. After seeing so many pictures of amazing looking curls, and so many success stories, I decided to try the line again. And, I'm ever so glad I did. I actually own both their adult and children version leave ins. As, I found the children version to work great as long as it's not very hot and humid out, as it has a light hold only. Now, that it's Spring time, and the weather is starting to really warm up along with their being rising humidity, I have switched over to the adult leave in, which defines, defrizzes, moisturizes, and provides more of a hold to my curls. With the product in my hair, I don't have to worry about my hair frizzing up at all, even in damp or rainy weather especially. I also use Mixeyd Chicks Replenishing oil. I will sometimes apply a little bit to my hair and scalp at night. Sometimes, I will mix a little bit of it in with the leave in, or apply it to my curls after the leave in has dried in my hair.

I would like to say that Lorraine Massey developed the Curly Girl Method of taking care of her curls out of need. As, a result, she has written two books thus far on this method, and if you want to do it, how you should properly go about doing so. She is a woman who has totally different curls than I have, and her hair's needs aren't the same as mine. Yes, she is against the use of sulfates, cones, and a host of other ingredients being used in the hair, because they didn't work best for her hair. But, that does not mean that those same ingredients wouldn't well for other people's hair. I have tried the CG Method several times, and it really didn't make my hair thrive any better than it was doing without. Also, I want to add that these Curly Girl books that she has come out with are not bibles. Therefore, I am not going to look at it as such. There's only one bible, and God nor Jesus or anyone else in it is speaking about how we all must adhere to the Curly Girl Method, if we have curly hair. I am my own person, and I have the right to use whatever products works for me.

Yes, I have tried Lorraine Massey's DevaCare No Poo. It doesn't have a pleasing smell and it left my hair like i had used body lotion to cleanse it with. As, it left my hair very dry afterwards. Next, i decided to follow that up with her One Condition, which is quite moisturizing, but it has this terribly strong scent of lavender oil, that I didn't find to be pleasing. And, the DevaCare Arc AnGel is one of the worst gels I've ever tried. It made my curls look like ramen noodles, doesn't make the hair feel moisturized in any way, and the more I used this trio of products, the more dried out my hair became overall. I eventually, ended up throwing away all three products that I had ending up wasting a lot of money on. I would pick Mixed Chicks products any day over hers.

Mixed Chicks products can be used by any race or curl type and hair texture. With the leave in, less really is more. As, you don't need a lot for it to work it's curly magic at all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tootswoots on 11/8/2013 11:59:00 AM more reviews by tootswoots

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this conditioner for about half the bottle. I'm not wowed by it. I really like the deep conditioner from Mixed Chicks. I bought this one cause they didn't have the deep conditioner and i thought it may work.. My hair is pretty coarse and curly. Leave in conditioner as a 'styling product' did not work very well. Just made it poofier than I like. I usually use a paste/cream curl product to weigh it down so it's not so voluminous.. For this product I usually wash most of it out and then put in my curl cream as it would be TOO much product in my hair otherwise... I'll probly buy the deep conditioner again and use this for detangling when necessary. It works very well for that purpose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cydney7 on 10/7/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by Cydney7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

AWESOME! Love it! Adds a lot of definitely to my curls and no frizz- a must have for curly-girls!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EllenPeters on 7/14/2013 7:38:00 AM more reviews by EllenPeters

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have very curly hair. This product gives excellent hold and keeps the frizzies away all while still feeling soft and natural. I'm on my third bottle and will continue to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Firefly80 on 6/12/2013 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Firefly80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My daughter has naturally loose curly hair. When her hair is long her curls show through, unfortunately her hair is usually frizzy and makes her look like an 11 year old cave girl. I bought this because it said it will define the curls and take care if frizz. It works!!! It also makes her hair very soft. It is a bit expensive, $20, but it works and my daughter does not cry over her hair anymore.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Xlizagx on 3/9/2013 2:23:00 PM more reviews by Xlizagx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product and only gave it a 4 due to it being quite expensive. My hair is very frizzy and usually nothing controls it except lots of mousse to keep it hard so it doesnt start frizzing! This leave in conditioner is the only thing that defines my curls, making them bouncier and doesnt make it rock hard so it looks wet. I wash my hair, put lots in (i need it!) and let it dry or use a diffuser. It dries really curly and keeps the curls defined. I dont think I could ever use anything else again. Only issue I have is that it IS quite expensive for how long it lasts me. I have been buying the 1litre bottle as I love the pump!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miss_beee on 1/25/2013 11:05:00 AM more reviews by miss_beee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently decided to leave my hair naturally curly (or big ball of poof) as much as I could because the heat was taking its toll and I really want to grow it out. I bought it on a whim because I figured its $20 and its a leave in and if its horrible then I can just use a little and add mousse or gel or something to it so it won't be a complete waste. My hair is 3a according to most websites but super thick and dry and I have A LOT of it. I put this on after shampooing and deep conditioning like usual on my wet hair and just left it alone. It left my hair softer than any other leave in or oil i've used (and I've used A LOT) my hair was a bit frizzy and the curls weren't that defined but I did use it alone and its been rainy the last couple days so I'm not taking off points for that yet....looks great the day after. I just dampened my hair and added a tiny amount. For the first time in a LONG LONNNNNNNNNNNNNNG time I like touching my hair in its natural state. Maybe once it stops raining it'll tame more frizz and define better? I've read its horrible in humidity so I guess I will wait and see but definitely a great product and its the only product I've ever used alone and had good results...will update in a couple days because I think it has dimethicone or something which is bad for curls...but we shall see
+

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Morgan40ish on 1/13/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Morgan40ish

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this on my daughters hair. It's very curly 3a in some areas and 3c in others. Her curls just bounce when I used this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mixed Chicks products

More Styling Products products