By Kilian • Straight to Heaven • Fragrances

rated 3.2(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 8/9/2014 7:49:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have sampled all of the ten By Kilian Oeuvre Noire fragrances and I ended up loving (and buying!) a few - Black to Black, Love, Amber Oud, Sweet Redemption - and liking the rest of them. Except for Straight to Heaven which is the odd man out - the one Kilian I truly dislike. I found the note description tempting, a creation around Rum, but quite frankly, this is not what happened when this scent meets my skin. I did detect a very sharp, almost unpleasant Cedar note, which lingered and drowned out any subtleties, and what I think is supposedly the rum flat out smelled like sharp alcohol. There is no sweetness or spiciness, or anything else to that fragrance and I applied in hot as well as colder temperatures. Needless to say, I'll pass, but given the price tag of By Kilian fragrances that is a very good thing for my wallet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gmstrack on 2/2/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by gmstrack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Headline: Woody Oriental Drinks Rum in Hamster Cage.

Straight to Heaven by Kilian is pleasant, but donít expect to have your world rocked.

After reading several reviews, it seems like this fragrance is in a special purgatory: too conventional for some and too medicinal or dirty hippy for others. I definitely fall in with the too conventional camp, but at the same time, I find Strait to Heaven very comforting. Maybe childhood memories of playing in a cedar swamp have something to do with this. The patchouli could be dirtier, the cedar turned down just a tad and, oh yes, dump in something interesting (rum doesnít count). Heh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miele2007 on 8/25/2012 3:54:00 PM more reviews by miele2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I waver on my opinion of this. On the saleswoman at Saks, it smelled soft and sweet. On me, too much of the sharp cedar hangs around. If you really want to know what this reminds me of, it's LUSH's "Silky Underwear" powder. Vanilla mixed with an almost damp woodchip smell. Odd, but, sexy and intruiging for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 11/10/2011 8:25:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My opinions on the By Kilian typically waver between indifference and derision, having tried all of the L'Oeuvre Noire collection and finding myself only liking three of the ten. Straight to Heaven is one of the dislikes. It starts off with a piercing cedar note that quickly disappears to be replaced with a strident booze note. I'm assuming that's the rum, but on my skin it's so overwhelmingly alcoholic I might as well have doused my skin in Everclear or straight grain alcohol. All of rum's typical spice notes are muted and virtually non-existent compared to the screechy alcohol. This remains until Straight to Heaven evaporates into a puff of generic skin musk. Honestly this is more akin to Straight to AA rather than Straight to Heaven, the booze note is so strong.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 macaddict92881 on 8/20/2011 11:47:00 PM more reviews by macaddict92881

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ditto the comments by volguy85. This is by far my fave in the Kilian line (and I have several of their scents). I wear it daily; have repurchased twice at Saks on the FNF sale. Always get compliments on it from both men and women when I wear it. A real go to for me. Love it and will continue to buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 8/16/2011 11:48:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Boozy! More like cheap & sweet liquor, or a medicated cough syrup. I suspect the "rum" and sweet patch. At least at the opening doesn't last! The cedar doesn't sit well with me. After an hour or so, it settles into a nice - albeit slightly sweet - skin scent. Maybe an anti-perfume.

I'd pass this by at $20. For $200, I just think what-the ?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DebbieB43 on 7/13/2011 9:18:00 PM more reviews by DebbieB43

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I adore Kilians, but Straight to Heaven just doesn't agree with me. i was in hopes that the rum would be a major player, but not on my skin. I get cedar, patch, and although it's not listed, a faint picklish sandalwood vibe. Another reviewer noted a herbal vibe, I agree. Sadly, no vanilla, fruits or musk comes out. I really think this leans towards the masculine side. All of Kilians work is superb!! I need to spritz this on my hubby!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flybaby on 6/16/2011 7:15:00 PM more reviews by flybaby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Body chemistry plays such a big role in how a fragrance reacts. The rum disappeared almost immediately, leaving behind a bit of smoke, and predominantly cedar, somehow it seems powdery to me. It does not dry down to a sweeter scent, which the majority of fragrances do for me. Its somewhat masculine. It does have great lasting power and sillage. I was happy to have tried a decant, but would not consider purchasing a bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 volguy85 on 5/30/2011 12:49:00 AM more reviews by volguy85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love quite a few By Kilian fragrances (Cruel Intentions, Back to Black, Rose Oud, and the incredible Incense Oud) but this is by far my favorite. It opens with a blast of wood chips that quickly subside and some dried fruits and rum come to the party. And a party it is. One of the most boozy scents I can recall (apart from the wine and roses atrocity West Side) but the rum is totally charming to me. The dry down highlights a very transparent cedar and rosewood to me. The scent lasts and lasts. This is top 5 fragrance territory for me; completely masculine but approachable and much less raucous than most woods this manly. Stately, rowdy, and yet still pretty. Casual enough for every day but plenty of structure for special occasions. I'm in love and will definitely be refilling my bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 4/12/2010 1:34:00 PM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Expensive rum/patchouli/amber type thing. More for colder weather or evening, it still feels classic somehow. Nothing particularly special however for the high price tag. UPDATE: Although I myself see nothing special re: this fragrance, it draws compliments galore. So I am upgrading it from a "3" to a "4" for crowd appeal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More By Kilian products

More Fragrances products