MAC 189 Face Brush

4.8

32 reviews

93% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/26/2013 4:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I love this brush for my foundation - studio fix fluid, matchmaster, pro longwear, it just does the job and blends everything in really well for me. I was lucky to find another in a CCO when I was in the US last summer, so I have 2 of this now :)



on 11/3/2011 6:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I love this brush, definitely one of my favorites.
It applies foundation beautifully so easy and fast and because it's so dense it's amazing for powder too!
I've been using it to apply pressed powders but I'll try it soon for my loose powders as well.
I'm very satisfied with this product.


on 6/5/2011 2:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I do like this brush,its big so applies my foundation very quickly but it doesnt dry for ages after washing and doesnt seem as soft now either.Its expensive but it is good quality and hasnt shed one hair yet.Wouldnt buy again but am pleased I have it,


on 4/25/2011 7:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have sensitive skin and regular brushes cause me to break out. This brush is full synthetic and very smooth! Applies powder or blush flawlessly!


on 4/23/2011 8:35:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a fantastic brush for applying my Mercier Creme foundation (which I mix with a bit of moisturizer, so the texture is somewhere between cream and liquid.) I get a very smooth, even & quick application with this brush. In fact, it persuaded me to stop using the stippling brush because I like this one for the purpose so much better.

The only negative, and it doesn't apply for my purposes, is that it's softer than what you might normally think of as a foundation brush and so not appropriate for heavier products like stick foundation. I use that on my nose, which needs more coverage, and have to use a different brush (or my fingers) but it's worth it.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this brush to apply Mineralize skinfinish natural which I use as foundation.I debated over purchasing this brush for some time and wasn't getting any positive feedback .I have other brushes which I use to apply the Mineralize skinfinsh with but with this brush I get the natural finish I've been longing for.You can apply a small amount for very little coverage and more for a heavier coverage and it blends in very well.Very soft and the size is perfect.I have saved time and money since using this brush as it picks just the right amount of product needed without alot of waste and the big paddle covers a large area. I enjoy this brush so much,I can't wait to purchase another one as a back-up.When cleaned,this brush does take awhile to completely dry.Best brush purchase I've ever made.


on 12/14/2010 6:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Fantastic brush and investment piece that I'm truly glad I purchased for liquid foundation application.
The larger paddle shape makes for quick application and blending thanks to the the bristles being soft, yet densely packed. My foundation looks flawless and not streaky at all. The synthetic bristles wash up easily, retains the original shape, and no issues with shedding.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2010 2:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

AMAZING makeup brush! I have Everyday Minerals and Clinique foundation brushes and they are not good at all compared to this one. I use it to apply Revlon Colorstay (I've tried cheap and expensive...this is HG) and it looks flawless. I go over it with a 187 after I get done and it looks airbrushed.


on 8/11/2010 2:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i LOVE this brush!!
i used to use sponges to apply foundation (i don't wear foundation all the time), but now i can't imagine using anything else but this brush!
it's just so PERFECT. it's soft but not too soft and firm enough to 'paint' on the foundation... lightly, of course. the bristles are amazing and just dense enough.
i can't say enough good things about this brush. it's one of those 'invest' brushes that once you've closed your eyes and painfully handed over your $$, you'll be happy once you get home & use it!
the brush washes well and it is big enough to easily and quickly apply your foundation.
highly recommended!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2010 9:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This brush was used to apply foundation by a MAC artist to a model in a bridal makeup class I went to. The artist said she uses it on her brides for fast foundation application. I was instantly interested in getting this brush for super fast even application of my own liquid foundation. During my last CCO visit to purchase something else, I saw this and instantly had to have it at the 28.00 price. I got it and when I used it for the first time, I was instantly marveled at how quickly and flawlessly I could apply foundation to my whole face. In less than a minute with this brush, my whole face was beat. I even used my HG the more trickier MUFE Mat Velvet, which is not a more liquid like foundation. Everything looks good. Next time I am going to use this same brush with powder to set the foundation.

I have tried many brushes for foundation the 109, 190, 191,131, 130 and 187 and this one, solely because its speeds up my application and provides streak free application, is by far my favorite. i like the 130 for quick things like concealer blending and the 131 is going back to being my blush brush. the 109 is a nice buffer to use after i am done with the 189. The 190, my first foundation brush is strictly for face creams, and the 191 i didn't even buy. i had been looking at it, but the 189 won!

189 is a new HG of mine!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
207 Reviews
Stippling Brush
260 Reviews
Buffing Brush
110 Reviews


Back to Top