NARS • Cordura Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(63 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BuffyDaLipGlossEater on 11/1/2013 9:28:00 PM more reviews by BuffyDaLipGlossEater

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this duo, and I've found both colors to be very versatile. They work well as a subtle eyeliner, or for a super sexy smoky brown eye. This set plays well with other eyeshadows, especially the cooler brown color.

The texture is as smmoth as silk, the color pay off is incredible, and it applies like a dream.

I will definitely repurchase this if I happen to run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 7/9/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is a versatile eyeshadow duo. I am much more keen on it now than when I first bought it months ago in the Winter.

At first, I was disappointed because the left side was sort of similar to the Nars Fez single, both shimmery warm medium-toned brown. (And hilariously, bought at the same time. Do not ask!) But they're not identical, nor complete dupes if you're a MUAer like me, which... I hope you are, since you're reading this ;) Fez has more sheen and metallic composition in comparison to Cordura's left counterpart.

The right color is a much cooler dark brown. The glimmer particles do not make it sparkle, however give it dimension that Nars Coconut Grove would not. I love this for the outer corners.

Sure, it's not as convenient as duos where you get a light and a dark color, but I can appreciate it's harmony with my other Nars eyeshadows, and other shadows in general and used together for a brown smoky eye.

On days where I'm too lazy to even use eyeliner, I can just use both tones together or separately with an angled brush for a light look. (As light as "eyeliner" can get anyway.)

*Still quite a hefty price tag, but I guess it's just what NARS is priced... at.
*I hit pan on the right side of Cordura, so the darker side is my favourite color by far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 4/5/2013 12:56:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down one of the most beautiful eyeshadows I've ever tried! Also my first NARS purchase.

Price: $45 CAD
Colours: dark bronzy brown and blackened chocolate brown; both with golden shimmer
Texture: super buttery smooth
Pigmentation: very concentrated

It's packaged in a rubberized compact with a decently sized mirror.
While the $40 price tag looks intimidating, it costs less per ounce when compared to MAC or UD (amarixe.com has a great comparison). Also, you only need a dab since it's beautifully pigmented!

Lovely with the lighter shade all over the lid (for the medium to darker skinned ladies) with darker shade in outer V and along the lash line.
Brilliant investment

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 3/4/2013 6:34:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I hem'd and haw'd about this duo so much. I've looked at it and almost bought it 3 or 4 times but every time, the very coppery warmness of the lighter shade made me hesitate. Saturday at Sephora, I must have picked this up and put it back at least 3 times before finally leaving it in my little basket and making my way to the cash. And I am glad I did. I've worn this duo every day since, trying it different ways and also just getting used to it as the shade on the left (the more warm toned colour) isn't a "natural" for me and so experimenting with it is making me more comfortable with this colour.

The "lighter" side of the duo is a warm bronze-brown shade that is nice and not like any other shadow I own. To my surprise, it is more wearable than I expected, though I am still trying to get used to the shade as I just don't think it's my "best colour". The darker shade in this duo is a very dark, cool brown - absolutely gorgeous and so rich and dark that I can use it as a liner and not have to bother digging out another product. It does have a lot of fallout, though - far more than I would have expected, no matter how carefully I apply it. I make a point of holding a tissue or post it note under my eye when applying the darker shade. Pigmentation and depth of both shades is just insanely rich. Both shades have glitter but it's the sort that seems to stay where you put it and it can also be toned down with blending if you want a more subdued look.

This duo is excellent quality - pigmented, with a rich, smooth application - and is absolutely "repurchase-worthy", though personally, since I don't find the one shadow all that great for me, I would not repurchase this duo. And while I know a lot of people don't like Nars's rubbery packaging, I happen to love it (no accidental slipping out of my mitt when I'm in a rush and being klutzy).


Update (4/18/2013) Okay, so after a bit more than a month of owning this, I have found a way to make it work. I was looking for combos to use with MAC's Smoke & Diamonds eye shadow that might be a bit different and kept seeing combos suggesting using it with Glamour Check (which I would never have bought because it's, well....almost identical to the bronze side of the Cordura duo). So for the pure heck of it, and never expecting that it would work at all, I put Smoke & Diamonds all over my "mobile lid" and the bronze side of Cordura in the crease, blended out with a bit of Wedge and then a matte light colour to highlight. SUCCESS! The cool taupey grey of Smoke & Diamonds balanced the much warmer crease shade just beautifully and made for a really wearable look. I still wouldn't repurchase this duo but I am so glad I can now use it without effort.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/16/2012 3:05:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a blue eyed NW10 (NW20 when tanning from a bottle).

This is one of my go-tos for a smokey eye for a date night. I ALWAYS 100% of the time get compliments when wearing this shadow combination. I reach for it so often, my other shadows get jealous. These two are HIGHLY pigmented, so be careful not to overapply. Very flattering for blue eyes. The other NARS duos I have purchased don't even come close, in fact, this is the only one I haven't swapped away. A keeper in my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rangers30 on 10/5/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by rangers30

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite NARS duo for a smoky eye look. The shadows blend smoothly, have excellent pigmentation, and last all through the night. I've never noticed fallout with this duo, unlike my comparable eyeshadow singles in Galapagos and Night Clubbing. The colors are perfect for blue eyes, and despite the fact that mine are grey-blue they always look quite vibrant with this duo. I recommend a subdued lip while wearing theses shadows, because they are intense. However, they blend so easily that I never have to worry about harsh lines or looking overdone. When I go out for drinks or dancing in the city and want to look my best, I always pick Cordura over my other MAC and NARS shadows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missgbaby on 6/27/2012 1:34:00 AM more reviews by missgbaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this thinking that perhaps it wouldn't be as deep as it is. It blends pretty well, and it does make my eyes look amazing. Definitely a good smokey eye palette for the tan of skin and deep of hair color. But it's a bit too dramatic for daytime with my coloring and fair hair.But for the right skintone this would be an absolute must have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diannekaye on 4/6/2012 5:23:00 AM more reviews by diannekaye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This duo has a shimmery warm brown side and the other side is a dark brown with gold shimmer. I love the quality of this duo. Both shades are equally amazingly pigmented. This duo is great for everyday. I'm NC30-NC37 and I think it would look amazing on a lot of skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snozzle on 3/25/2012 5:07:00 PM more reviews by snozzle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These two colors are great for everyday. And I love nars makeup, the colors go on and stay on. The cordura duo is definitely one of my everyday favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CaliforniaLuxe on 2/18/2012 1:36:00 PM more reviews by CaliforniaLuxe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I vary between NC35-37 and NW30-35 and this duo looks great on my Asian brown eyes (double lidded, not mono lidded with a tendency to get oily). The shimmer is noticeable but not over the top and certainly is passable for very conservative environments - just don't go heavy on it. I LOVED LOVED LOVED the color combo, BUT there were major problems with this duo for me specifically. I don't consider myself as someone with sensitive eyes, but from time to time during the course of the day (not constant) I found my eyes getting painfully irritated from the flecks of shimmer (felt like mini thistles stabbing my eyeballs). These episodes of irritation were painful enough that I wouldn't recommend buying this if you have sensitive eyes (and I don't consider myself to have sensitive eyes!), or at least test it out for yourself and see how it goes for an entire day before you do. I used UDPP Sin to try to limit the fallout, but this duo still irritated my eyes. I've found that Blondie/Bali are a good matte substitute for this and they don't irritate my eyes like this duo does. Btw, I've had no problems with other shimmers like Lola Lola, Fez, Ondine.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products