MAC • 181 small buffer brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.5(55 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 doris98 on 12/25/2012 10:24:00 PM more reviews by doris98

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in a kit from Nordstrom (with an MSF and blush, I think) some time ago so I can't remember exactly, so the price was great. I use it for many things: buffing out too-strong contours, MSFs, blush, even mineral powder, and I love it. It's so dense that colors are diffused and look very natural. I would definitely search this out again if I ever lose it. I've had it for years and it has stood up well to multiple washings.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marsqurine on 1/20/2012 12:18:00 AM more reviews by marsqurine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this small buffer brush! It retailed for SGD$64 when it was being sold locally. This is my favourite makeup brush from MAC. I was looking for a kabuki brush but something smaller than MAC 182 as I realized that I have small loose powder containers which this MAC 181 fits perfectly! Due to the small size, it gives the user better control of the brush and it is able to reach any small areas and corners of the face. I had washed this and it does not shed at all, and I put it in a kabuki brush guard to reshape it, and it looks like new :) However it dries quite slowly due to the density of the bristles, and it needs about 1 day to completely dry. I recommend washing it regularly as after prolonged usage its hard to get the brush completely clean. I don't know why but even using MAC Brush Cleanser doesn't get the bristles completely clean. Maybe I should try Michelle Phan's method of using Antibacterial Soap and Olive Oil? MAC 181 is often compared to MAC 182 and the latter is said to be softer and most people prefer that, but I guess that I am in the minority. This brush was released 3 years ago in the MAC Sonic Chic Collection in 2008. I will be very happy if its part of the permanent collection as I bring this brush out for touch ups everyday and I will not be able to repurchase even if I lose it. I will recommend this to everybody who likes small kabuki brushes and I will definately repurchase this (but sadly I can't)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jod84 on 7/17/2011 2:49:00 PM more reviews by jod84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

i got this brush about 3 years and have washed it like a 100 times since and it still sheads i gave up on useing this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissShellDawn on 7/19/2010 6:44:00 AM more reviews by MissShellDawn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This brush is such a cutie! It's super soft and blends blushes and bronzers very well! I got this in the MAC Magic, Mirth & Mischief Collection: Mineralize Pinkzapoppin'! Face Kit! I use this to apply, shade and blend blushes and bronzers. I love the dome shaped hairs, it helps so much! The regular brush is $45, I think. But if anything ever happened to mine, I would repurchase!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lfnjmakeup on 7/7/2010 6:57:00 AM more reviews by lfnjmakeup

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Just got one for a very good deal at the CCO. It's the perfect size for mineral foundation, bronzer or contour. I found mine to be very well made in that it hasn't shed one fiber. Excellent buffing qualities also. Not sure what it's made of but it does really do a great job of buffing so that there's a nice glow that emanates from the mineral formula. This is a lot better quality than the 181SEs from the mineralize kits.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fibergash6 on 6/16/2010 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Fibergash6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

Great for travel, super cute and sturdy, but the hairs are not that soft. A few washes with conditioner should help though. Great for on the go touchups.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mimifrenzy on 5/16/2010 7:05:00 PM more reviews by mimifrenzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Funny story: I hate doing laundry. I pretty much do the bare minimum. I don't check pockets, flip things inside out, or every zip and latch things. I just separate whites and colors. So i was washing my clothes, and when i went to get them from the dryer i saw my little 181 sitting on top of everything. I couldn't stop laughing. It's a bit scratchy now but still completely in tact.

So i guess this brush is very durable but not a necessity.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chickatthegym on 5/12/2010 2:31:00 PM more reviews by chickatthegym

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My HG brush for mineral foundation and studio fix powder:) I LOVE IT! This is the best if you use any kind of powder that you need to buff into skin. It's super soft, and the size is just right to get around the eyes and nose. Worth every penny! I got it in a set with a bag and some other stuff so the price wasn't bad at all. I have a back up and want to get another back up to the back up:) Only problem is that I wish I would have kept the plastic container it came in for travel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hemiller9181 on 5/7/2010 10:31:00 PM more reviews by Hemiller9181

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This brush is great! I use it to buff in all my foundations. I mix all my foundations with whatever moisturizer I like at the moment along NARS primer. I just put a dab of all 3 on the back of my hand and swirl it together using the 181 and buff into into my face. I get a flawless finish every time. I also use it to buff in NARS powder foundation or Chanel's. If I am not in the mood for liquid. It does shed, but I was told by a MA that it will stop over time with more washing. But it is so dense and really works product into your skin, some kabuki brushes are too soft and don't buff it in, or too harsh and hurt my skin! I've washed it a few times and it has popped right back into shape! I save the plastic tube it came in to store the brush so the packaging sucks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenja536 on 5/7/2010 7:41:00 PM more reviews by jenja536

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this on a daily basis to apply powder on my face to set either my liquid foundation or just a face powder. I am able to apply light to heavy coverage with this brush depending on how many times I swirl this brush into the powder. It does a great job of buffing the powder into my skin to provide the type of coverage I want. Great brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products