Smashbox • Sheer Focus Tinted Moisturizer SPF 15 • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(228 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Bluebriar on 6/27/2014 12:41:00 AM more reviews by Bluebriar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I never wear foundation (unless I'm going to be on stage) but I wanted something that would even out my skin and be light enough for daily wear. This was not it! I would never use the word sheer to describe this product. In my opinion this was just a foundation with poor coverage. My skin is on the drier side and this highlighted areas that I didn't even know were dry, like my nose. On to the next one...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katiepoodle on 11/14/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by katiepoodle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! As always with me, however, none of the shades are fair enough for me, but when I use it I'm just careful to blend it in really well around my jaw line, hair line, and around my ears. It gives my skin a wonderful glow. Does not give heavy coverage. Did not upset acne.

Who should use it: dry/dull skin not in need of heavy coverage.

Complaints: Did not last long on my skin, needed a lot of reapplying!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smplyro on 8/26/2013 1:25:00 PM more reviews by smplyro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this TM faithfully for probably about a year. I love how sheer it is, but it still gives great coverage. Very blendable, a little goes a long way for me. I do have severely oily skin though, so priming my skin before and setting my face after is a MUST. I use my MAC Pressed Blot Powder, along with my Urban Decay De-Slick, and I'm set for the day. To keep my skin extra matte, I sometimes use Milk Of Magnesia. I also use concealer to get those spots that the TM can't cover as well as i would like. I'll definitely admit that it is a bit pricey but until I find something to replace it, I'll continue using it. I use the DARK shade & it matches my skin PERFECTLY.


(I also believe they stopped making this for some odd reason, so I will continue to order it online until they run out I guess. They replaced it with a BB Cream but they don't even have it in my color and I heard it sucks "/.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blw0312 on 7/24/2013 9:38:00 AM more reviews by blw0312

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this tinted moisturizer. I've been looking for a good one forever, either they break me out or they're too cakey. Finally I find this, it's light weight, it actually has good coverage. I apply it with my fingers and set it with MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural. The only downside is I don't know how well it would work for super pale people. I'm a NC15 in winter and NC20 in summer and I got Fair. I probably could do light now that we're in the middle of summer, but in winter if you're lighter than NC15 I don't know how well this would work. Aside from that though, I highly recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nostradamus on 6/8/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by nostradamus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After trying a plethora of foundations to cover up my uneven, acne-prone skin, this is the product I've felt most comfortable using for everyday wear. Goes on smooth and blends well with a moisturizer or over primer; with a brush or simply with fingers. I like that it's oil-free and has SPF (although it's relatively low). Still, it *is* sheer, and on the days my skin is extra dull or my hyper-pigmentation is more pronounced -- concealer is a must. My biggest complaint about an otherwise great product is that it is not friendly to those with oily skin. I've found that using a mattifying primer and/or a finishing powder, such as the MUFE Microfinish powder, contributes greatly to a more matte and even finish. For those who are blessed with spot-free skin, this is a great product for evening out skin-tone, and providing a layer of sun-protection without parabens and fragrance.

FEB 10/14: One of the SA's at my Shoppers told me that this product has been discontinued. Sad. However, as I've used this product for the past 5 years, this marketing decision gives me incentive to explore other products. If you love this TM and want something comparable to it, try the ones by Tarte, which to my knowledge, does not test on animals and is not owned by a big parent company.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wintermilk on 6/4/2013 9:07:00 AM more reviews by wintermilk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for a while now and I can't live without it!

As someone quite freckle faced with ginger hair I can't wear foundation because it covers up too much. I also can't wear too many powdery products because I have extremely dry skin. I was looking for something to give me a bit of sheer coverage and keep my skin hydrated. The SPF is a must because I could get a sunburn at midnight at the bottom of the ocean.

I bought this product on a whim with shoppers points. It's not something I would normally spend so much on because I thought it wouldn't last. Boy was I wrong! I've had it for almost a year, I wear it daily and I use it on my entire face and neck.

The packaging is just fine to me. To shake it I hold it by the end and wave it like an oatmeal packet before I open it. The product itself is very thin but I wouldn't say runny unless you take out a lot all at once. I use it after I put on my regular moisterizer which helps it go further. I put dabs on my finger about the size of a pommegranet seed and them blend them into my checks, chin and forehead. I find the consistency to be creamy and pleasant feeling, not at all heavy.

This is enough to cover my face and it blends out to a nice healthy even skin tone that doesn't cover my freckles. To be honest at first try I thought it was too dark for me even though I bought "fair" which is the lightest shade but because it spreads out so nicely it actually allows me to bridge the gap between ghost pale and fake orange! This product allows me to looks like I've finally gone one shade past pasty!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vivala on 5/16/2013 1:18:00 PM more reviews by vivala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Mixed Review! Overall it's a great product for coverage and gives a nice dewy look on it's own

PROS:
Coverage is great
Lasts a long time
Blends well

CONS:
Consistency is almost a little watery sometimes - it separates quickly
Coverage is a little too good (almost like a foundation)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tat7386 on 4/17/2013 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Tat7386

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this at Ulta and it was recommended by one of the girls there (not doing that again) I have a light-medium skintone and bought this moisturizer hoping it would give me a bit of a glow...when I got home the product was alot darker than what I tried at the store..I tried to lighten it with my actual moisturizer and when I put it on...I looked ORANGE! it just didn't flatter my skintone at all....the product was also really watery and with the way it's packaged shaking it won't really work. it's 32.00 which is average for a higher end beauty product but there are some better tinted moisturizers out there...laura mercier and benefit for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mewmewkazoo on 3/31/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Mewmewkazoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

What I don't understand from the people who gave low ratings is that they expected this tined moisturizer to give coverage when in fact the product name itself is SHEER Focus. I really expected it to be sheer. I just bought it, so far I am loving it because I just needed something that evened out my skin tone. It says it is oil free but my skin is extremely oily, like after 1 hour after I wash my face I feel really oily again. Anyway, I bought it on sale, which is the only reason I am not repurchasing. I bought it in the shade fair because light was way too dark for me. In the lighting in the store, I thought it was too light but in natural sunlight (and after it set) it matched my skin tone perfectly.
A pretty good tinted moisturizer, but waaay overpriced.
I will update soon when I find something worth mentioning about the product.

--------------------------------------
I haven't been using it everyday, so I can't say that it hasnt been breaking me out. I still get regular breakouts now and then.

So far not bad.

After I apply it using my fingers, I blot it with either tissue or Kleenex Blotting Paper, the purple one. Afterwards I put on theBalm translucent powder.
-> this is usually done in the morning around 6am.
My skin is extremely oily and I live in a tropical country so I really expect my skin to be really shiny by noon. I haven't found a single product that stops my oil otherwise.

-May 27, 2013
--------------------------------------
oookay I'm Back! I have been using it everyday since I ran out of bb cream and haven't bought a replacement. I am reconsidering repurchasing because I think it is a great product! I haven't been breaking out aside from some small ones I get on a regular, monthly basis (ahem ahem) So I think I am compatible with this product.

-Aug 6, 2013

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bethanyz on 2/21/2013 11:20:00 AM more reviews by bethanyz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on the recommendation of the "makeup expert" at the store. I found there wasn't enough coverage and it didn't seem very moisturizing for my dry skin. I'ts not that it's such a bad product, but for the price (over $30) I definitely expected more. Additionally, the last 25% of this moisturizer was the consistency of water and I couldn't even use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Tinted Moisturizer products