Orly Purple Crush

3.0

11 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/28/2013 9:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Looks purplish on the bottle but on the nail its a juicy magenta pink jelly (you can see the difference in the photos above). Very flattering on a warm skintone.

1st coat is streaky but the 2nd smooths it all out. Takes longer to dry than my other Orlys. I love this shade but get a little frustrated as it is VERY prone to chipping, often as early as the 2nd day.



on 10/14/2013 12:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

More of a magenta shade rather than purple as the name implies. Applied two coats, then used bubble bombshell over this, then two layers of top coat over that. Had it on for over a week and there was some very minor chipping, but not bad considering how much I use my hands at work.


on 5/13/2012 3:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

hmmmm. I'm suprised at the many reviews complaining about this color's formulation quality. I just purchased my bottle of Orly Purple Crush yesterday at our local Sally Beauty and the formula I have is perfection! The polish is not thin, yet not gloppy. It went on smooth as can be, and leveled out beautifully even when I was a bit heavy handed on certain areas of the nail. No streaks or other issues at all.

I'm wondering if my success with the application has something to do with the basecoat I used? I used Top 10's "No More Wraps", which is actually a split nail "mender" and nail reinforcer. I know I have had issues in the past with other nail polishes when I've used my Orly Bonder -- so maybe that's the difference?

As to the color, I LOVE Purple Crush! It's the closest I can get to a neon, without looking foolish. lol I would say it's a red-violet or a magenta shade. I'm always drawn to warmer pinks/coral pinks, but they always make my cool-beige toned olive skin look sallow-yellow-green. This cool toned vibrant magenta, though, is very flattering against my skintone, even when I'm without a tan as I am currently, so YAY for that! :-)

The only negative I have about this particular nail polish shade is that it does dry down dull. I wouldn't say it was a "matte" finish, however. What's frustrating is that on the orly site, this collection (Hot Stuff collex) is described as being "high shine". ??

EDIT:
I used Poshe topcoat over it (I had originally mistakenly said I had used ChG Fast Forward! FF is actually a super shiney topcoat,and I will review it later!), and it (Poshe) did add a bit of shine, but not as much as I had hoped (but the dry time is fab!). Next time, once I buy some more, I'll use CND Super Shiney as my topcoat (that one always delivers!), or I will use ChG Fast Forward.

I should take off 1 pt for the dullness factor, BUT I'm soooooooooo excited to find a BRIGHT pink/red/violet toned np that actually works with my skincolor, that I am willing to forgive the finish. :) A swipe of Solar Oil, after applying the topcoat, adds some temporary high shine.

If you are cool to neutral toned and are looking for a VIBRANT cool toned reddish-violet np, I think you would like this color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2012 9:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

You definitely need to master a sort of technique with this one. Have a lot of polish on your brush, and quickly paint your nail with it: else, polish begins to dry while you paint and leaves a very nasty textured finish. Color is awesome and true, however I wouldn't wear this if you like the elegant look. The texture gives it sort of a "younger" appeal. Matte


on 3/24/2012 9:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow you guys were not kidding! This stuff is really bad. The color is gorgeous and for me it looks the same on my nails as it does in the bottle BUT it dried matte (nowhere on the bottle does it say this is a matte polish ) and it really does peel off in sheets. I did a pedi just yesterday and today my two pinky toes are without half their polish. Just peeled off somewhere, somehow. I've never seen anything like it. This totally sucks. Great color but what good does that do me if it doesn't stay on? Big fail Orly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2011 12:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First of all, I thought the color was a perfect match right out of the bottle; following the instructions by applying 2 coats of paint. It matched well with my skin tone (I have a golden undertone). The color was vibrant and cheerful and to get it shiny I also used a top coat. Problem was, it did chip after one day of applying. I thought it was a problem with the top coat as I was using SH No Chip Acrylic Top Coat. The paint came off in pieces no matter what I did! Back to the point, I bought a really great base coat and in combinaton with the top coat (no matter what brand), the polish now lasts me 1 week. No chipping and no flakes of paint everywhere..
So if you decide to buy any Orly nail polish..make sure you have a good base and top coat.


on 7/21/2011 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love Orly but HATE this colour. In the bottle it looks a vibrant fuschia-purple, yet when painted on it is a MATTE, thin, flash-less bore. Apply 2 more coats & the colour intensifies, yet it is still matte/NO shine. Needed top coat for shine. Began chipping almost immediately then PEELED off in larger pieces. The only Orly colour I have ever returned. Stay away from this colour.


on 4/22/2011 3:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I thought this was terrible. When applied without any base coat, it will literally peel off in about a day.. note that I wrote 'PEEL' not 'CHIP' off. So sad about this, it truly is a gorgeous colour!


on 3/27/2011 12:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

this comes out more purple on me but it's not an HG or one of my faves. it can be fun for summer on my toes


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this nail polish hoping for an awesome purple that's bright and flirty. Instead, I got RED!!! The color is not true at all. After I put on the first coat it was not purple, it was red. So I decided that maybe the second coat would do it, but I was wrong because it got even more red. I will NEVER repurchase this again. If I wanted a red colored nail polish I would a buy a red nail polish. Not something that looks purple but comes out red. Orly really failed on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
131 Reviews
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
345 Reviews
Nail Polish
213 Reviews


Top Rated Orly Products

image

Bare Rose

31 reviews
Back to Top