Shiseido • Majolica Majorca Mascara Base • Mascara

rated 3.4(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Euphoria93 on 12/14/2014 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Euphoria93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the Lash Bone Black Fibers In mascara base.

This was actually the first mascara base I ever owned. I had recently started getting into Korean makeup brands, and I read on a couple of blogs that they recommended a mascara packed with fibers for the ultimate volume and length. That kind of surprised me, because I do not know how some people can operate those glue like mascaras that's packed with a crapload of fibers. I had tried some mascaras in the past that was extremely high on the fibers in the formula, and they always made my eyes really sore and was a pain to apply and a pain to remove.

So instead of going for a mascara I googled away to find a fiber based base to use under my favorite mascara. This one got good reviews, and seeing as this brand is Shiseido's "baby", so to speak (their underbrand aimed at a younger consumer group), I immediately went on ebay to buy it. The price was incredibly fair, 15 - 17 dollars is not that bad for a makeup product, considering how much drugstore makeup goes for in my country.

The packaging is pretty nice, it does almost resemble a bone in construction and color. Asia has a thing for cute packaging, I kinda like it. The wand is a flat, slightly rounded off feathered thing. I hate this wand type for mascaras, but for a base it's pretty good. You can really wiggle the product into your eyelashes and spread it from root to tip. The base itself is this off white color, reminds me of glue, and in it is a lot of small, black fibres in it. What I do before I put on any base or mascara is to curl my eyelashes - then I apply this base, an even coat from root to tip on upper and lower lashes - the trick here is not to let the base dry too much, because then it becomes a nightmare to apply mascara. It just feels dry and gritty, and looks clumpy. But if you do it quick, like half a minute after you have put on the base, then it really does make a difference. The curl lasts longer, the mascara gives more of an impact in both volume and length, and there's no panda eyes or flaking in sight. You can't spot the base or the fibers, they just stick to your eyelashes. But it works really well for something that becomes so invisible after application.

The only downside is that it's kinda hard to remove, and you have to use something oil based to completely get it off. If you don't have a makeup remover that works well enough, then just use olive oil or any oil really. It works!

So conclusion:
Pros: Inexpensive, makes the mascara last longer, makes the mascara perform better in terms of length and volume.
Cons: Impossible to work with once dry, hard to remove.

The pros make up for the cons, so I'll re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jmferrarese on 6/21/2014 12:10:00 AM more reviews by jmferrarese

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I usually don't leave reviews, I rather read them, but this mascara base is really the best I tried and I think it deserves higher ratings. Before finding it out I thought the lancome base to be awesome, but this MM really surpasses it. I tried mac, estee, lancome...no one gets closer, because this guy not only lengthens, but thickens, and it does it sensibly. And it is cheaper than the department store brands mascara bases I mentioned before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jltful89 on 11/29/2012 11:23:00 AM more reviews by jltful89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


It's the mascara base for all the MJ mascaras. All the older MJ mascaras (i.e except Lash King) that I have tried need this as a base to work well.

You know when you have too much of a good thing it becomes a bad thing? True for this product. I have to keep telling myself to "use sparingly" but it's just too tempting when I see my lashes getting longer and having a nicer curl with every application!!

With two coats I get a lovely curl that lasts for 6 hours or so and double eyelids(= strong formula).more than two coats, I will get strange white tips on my lashes and balls of stuff? That looks like dried glue. Not a pretty sight, definitely not a pretty experience too when I try to comb through my lashes. Now I literally see why greed is a sin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chochonui on 9/22/2012 2:29:00 AM more reviews by chochonui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Just like any other base, it makes ur lashes longer.
it's quite hard to wash off.
I like estee lauder's base more than this one

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caitlyn99 on 5/17/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by Caitlyn99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first mascara base that I own. Fairly satisfied with it. Only complaint is that it clumps on 2nd coat and only lengthens my lashes slightly. It still looks natural after I've applied the actual mascara. So, not bad, but I think I could just apply a few more coats of mascara for that length. If I ever need to purchase again I think I'd rather purchase another tube of mascara as this cannot be worn on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cherrybello on 5/10/2011 10:30:00 AM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Bought this in Japan with the mascara counterpart. I can not say the proper product name with a straight face, it just sound so funny! That aside, I love the MM mascara packaging! Its so adorable! I really like this base because it lengthens and makes my lashes look fatter when I put on the lash expander. You have to be careful with this product though, about one or 2 layers of this stuff before it gets clumpy after the mascara goes on it. Love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 junycherry on 8/20/2010 6:40:00 PM more reviews by junycherry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first mascara base, and I have to say it's been such a disappointment. I am still using it up since it's a waste, but I will not be purchasing again. Mascara still smudges and product is clumpy, making it hard to apply evenly on lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misodisko on 8/8/2010 3:48:00 PM more reviews by misodisko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really really like this mascara base. It lengthens a reasonable amount but volumizes amazingly (my lashes are okay length but quite thin). It's now part of my everyday routine; I find this extra step to be totally worth the time and effort. I've tried this both in the white and black fibers, both are the same to me, and dry to a whitish finish (ie neither can be left as it is, must be covered by mascara). I don't find it difficult to remove at all, I remove all my makeup with an oil cleanser and this is taken off easily. However I do tend to stick to non-waterproof mascaras, so maybe that's the reason. Definitely will repurchase, probably multiple times a year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mickey5252 on 7/23/2010 1:02:00 AM more reviews by mickey5252

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My lashes are reasonable in lengh and thickness, therefore when I have applied this mascara base I didn't see much of a difference.

However recently I was doing a makeup of a friend with lashes that are shorter and thinner, and after application I've seen a huge improvement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lullabydevamp on 7/22/2010 10:13:00 PM more reviews by lullabydevamp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have used one tube of the old version(comb applicator, white base with thin white fibers) and I also tried the new one(comb applicator again, white base again with BLACK fibers), and they are no difference to me.
It gives my lashes really beautiful defination, it curls, lengthens, thickens. Does a very good job as a base. And its super water and smear-proof even I use a non waterproof mascara on top of it it will still be fine cuz with the base my lashes will keep its curl for whole day so its not likely to wear off even though its a non waterproof one. Best effect I ever had with all the mascaras I have tried.

I will never buy this product once I used it all up cuz its superduper hard to remove no matter I use eyes n lips makeup remover or cleansing oil whatever its just so hard to get rid of and I ends up pulling some of my lashes out. Anyone considering buying or trying this product pls be aware that it(or all MJ mascaras) is THAT hard to remove.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Mascara products