John Frieda • Luminous Glaze Clear Shine Gloss • Hair

rated 3.3(45 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 9/23/2014 11:36:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This turns my hair into SILK! The trick is, you've got to use it before shampooing & conditioning, not after- which is what the instructions say. I followed the directions and used this on wet hair a few times and wasn't impressed with the results at all. I honestly didn't see any noticeable difference in my hair. But then I tried using it as a pre-shampoo treatment and Oh My Goodness, my hair was TRANSFORMED. So shiny and glossy and super-duper-soft. Like a deep conditioner with extra kick. I love this product!
I apply enough to saturate my whole head, put on a plastic shower cap and then leave it on for as long as possible. Then shampoo and condition as normal.
I am a bit of a hair product junkie, always looking for something new and then moving on to something else. And that's because most products IME are really just ok and only a few a worth buying again. This is one of those few! I bought this at Ulta for about ten dollars, so the price is reasonable too. Am definitely going to repurchase when my bottle runs out. Recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tswope57 on 9/21/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by tswope57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This did not add any shine or gloss to my hair at all. My hair is in a straight chin length bob, colored with some hi lights - so it has the usual issues of processed hair of being somewhat dry. I tried it using the the daily directions and the weekly directions several times - with no difference that I could see. In fact, even if it did add shine, it was too "heavy" for my hair. Even though I rinsed it out extremely well, I could still feel it as I was blow drying it. I also did not like the packaging, although if it had really worked, that would not have been a deal breaker. It has a twist on/off lid (not a flip top) and for use in the shower, that method is very inconvenient.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 9/9/2014 8:18:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This product does exactly what it says - smooths out my coarse, frizzy hair and makes it so shiny and soft. If I use a straightener after it's dry, it looks like I have Barbie hair. No salon treatment has made my hair quite this soft and smooth without actually depositing color. I started using this when my hair color got too light for my usual Roux glaze and I couldn't find the clear version of it - what that stuff does for my natural color, this stuff does for my now color-treated hair.

There are, however, a couple of caveats. No dealkillers, but definitely some things to consider. First of all, I have incredibly thick, pretty long, pretty coarse hair. I don't follow the instructions to the T - rather, I use about 3/4 of a bottle (half, if I'm being stingy, but honestly it doesn't really get all the way to the bottom layers of my hair unless I use almost a whole bottle) at a time on dry hair and let it sit for an hour or so. I then add the rest of the bottle after things have kind of sunk in, sit for another half hour, and then wash normally. Pretty easy, really, especially if I'm doing laundry or something - I just put it into a bun and put a shower cap on top and do some chores.

While this may seem like using a lot of product at once, I don't wash my hair very often so the effect lasts 3 weeks or so. Since I've developed a really dry scalp and started washing once a week (not counting a dry shampoo spritz here and there), this treatment has become a lot more worth the money and time.

The big thing that bugs me is the smell - not too bad while you're marinating, but afterwards it can get overwhelmingly headachy. I would say that it smells good and no longer overpowering on the 2nd day after washing. It's not a terrible odor, just kind of chemically and really, really strong right out of the bottle. Not worth ditching a great product for, in my opinion, but it definitely puts a damper on the experience and the cause of my 4-star review.

Otherwise, a great remedy for when you feel like your hair color is looking a little dull, or when you're trying to escape a visit to the salon. The softness is incredible - my coarse hair never, ever looks and feels this silky on its own!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hwnpunch on 6/8/2014 12:54:00 AM more reviews by hwnpunch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I tried this I did the weekly 20 min treatment. It did add shine but I really like how it smooths my hair and seriously helps with frizz without weighing my hair down. It also significantly reduces the time it takes to blow dry. Using it after washing is slightly less effective but maintains the weekly dry application. The only reason I can't give this 5 lippies... It literally began to strip my nail polish during a weekly treatment and ruined my manicure. While this doesn't strip or change my hair color I have to wonder how good putting something on my hair that removes nail polish can be over the long haul.

*Update*
This stuff is kind of rough on my hands so it's best to use gloves however I think that this really helps to preserve my color. Usually My roots start looking really awful in the sections that have gone gray after only two weeks and it doesn't matter if I have my stylist do it or I use cheap drugstore color. This seems to really help seal the color in and has allowed me to push a root touch to 4 weeks without me feeling self concious about the grays showing up around my hairline. Saves me a lot of time and $$

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 demureninja on 4/15/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by demureninja

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, this stuff really works! To be clear, this review is for John Frieda's Luminous Glaze Clear Shine Gloss (I think the title on here may be slightly different, and the packaging has been updated). I have tried the similar color glaze for brunettes and it definitely deposited a film on my hair that I didn't like--this clear product does not do that. As far as I can tell, it just makes my hair silkier and shinier, and makes it look healthier!

I've ombre-d (is that word a verb yet?) my hair a few too many times, so the bottom half of my hair is kind of fried and doesn't respond well to curling irons or flatirons. Somehow, by using this twice a week, my hair is back to looking healthy and doing what I want it to! Honestly, after just the first use, I noticed my hair was easier to comb out, and didn't frizz out as it dried.

You'll want to adjust the amount you use depending on how fine or thick your hair is to find out how much you need. Mine's thick, with an oily, sensitive scalp (fun!), so I just use a bunch of this on the lower half of my hair, and not near my scalp. Yes, it has a strong perfume-y fragrance, but I feel like that goes away after I rinse the product out of my hair. The only thing that could improve this product would be a flip-top lid, and being able to find it in more stores. I paid $7.99 for my bottle, which I think is a total bargain considering how great my hair looks now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 indiebaby on 2/20/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by indiebaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I expected much more from this product than what I got in performance and quantity apparently.

If you have hair beyond shoulder length and a little bit thick, to use this glaze as a weekly treatment on dry hair means an enormous amount of product. I used almost 1/3 of the bottle. After that I did in shower treatments to see if there was a difference.

The reason I gave this product such a low rating is that it badly dried out my hair.

Virgin coconut oil hair treatments have been far superior to this product.

Returned product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 absolia on 1/15/2014 2:11:00 PM more reviews by absolia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The best thing that's ever happened to my hair. This does everything it says. I only wash my hair once a week and this keeps it shiny and voluminous and smelling nice for the first five days. Wildly recommended. So happy with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Firewoman1211 on 12/18/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by Firewoman1211

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really don't understand all the negative reviews. This is the best hair product I have ever used. Maybe different hair types yield different results. I have very fine shoulder length hair. Most shine products just make my hair flat and greasy. Not this product. It makes my hair shiny and smooth and helps tame fly aways. I use it every time I wash, after my conditioner. I never want to be without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeatherDiva on 12/11/2013 6:32:00 PM more reviews by HeatherDiva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The smell is sickeningly synthetic and it lingers in your hair. That alone would cause me not to repurchase but odor aside, this just did not do anything for my hair. It didn't make it feel damaged or greasy, thankfully, but it also didn't improve it in any way. It just made my hair stink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lisa1 on 11/30/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by lisa1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nah. I put it on dry hair and left it on for 20 minutes. The other way of using this is to shampoo, condition then put this on in the shower and wait 3 minutes. I've done that and it doesn't work. Anyway, so I left this on for 20 minutes, shampooed and conditioned. Dried my hair. Was expecting shine as promised on the box. Ya, not so much. There wasn't even the slightest sheen. My hair feels ticker and less frizzy and has more volume. But that's it. No shine. And it doesn't change hair color or seem to damage it. My hair just feels coated with something. No shine. I won't repurchase. Save your $12 and don't bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair products