John Frieda • Luminous Glaze Clear Shine Gloss • Hair

rated 3.4(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 demureninja on 4/15/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by demureninja

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, this stuff really works! To be clear, this review is for John Frieda's Luminous Glaze Clear Shine Gloss (I think the title on here may be slightly different, and the packaging has been updated). I have tried the similar color glaze for brunettes and it definitely deposited a film on my hair that I didn't like--this clear product does not do that. As far as I can tell, it just makes my hair silkier and shinier, and makes it look healthier!

I've ombre-d (is that word a verb yet?) my hair a few too many times, so the bottom half of my hair is kind of fried and doesn't respond well to curling irons or flatirons. Somehow, by using this twice a week, my hair is back to looking healthy and doing what I want it to! Honestly, after just the first use, I noticed my hair was easier to comb out, and didn't frizz out as it dried.

You'll want to adjust the amount you use depending on how fine or thick your hair is to find out how much you need. Mine's thick, with an oily, sensitive scalp (fun!), so I just use a bunch of this on the lower half of my hair, and not near my scalp. Yes, it has a strong perfume-y fragrance, but I feel like that goes away after I rinse the product out of my hair. The only thing that could improve this product would be a flip-top lid, and being able to find it in more stores. I paid $7.99 for my bottle, which I think is a total bargain considering how great my hair looks now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 indiebaby on 2/20/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by indiebaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I expected much more from this product than what I got in performance and quanity apparently.

If you have hair beyond shoulder lenth and a little bit thick, to use this glaze as a weekly treatment on dry hair means an enourmous amount of product. I used almost 1/3 of the bottle. After that I did in shower treatments to see if there was a difference.

The reason I gave this product such a low rating is that it badly dried out my hair.

Virgin coconut oil hair treatments have been far supioeier to this product.

Returned product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 absolia on 1/15/2014 2:11:00 PM more reviews by absolia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The best thing that's ever happened to my hair. This does everything it says. I only wash my hair once a week and this keeps it shiny and voluminous and smelling nice for the first five days. Wildly recommended. So happy with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Firewoman1211 on 12/18/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by Firewoman1211

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really don't understand all the negative reviews. This is the best hair product I have ever used. Maybe different hair types yield different results. I have very fine shoulder length hair. Most shine products just make my hair flat and greasy. Not this product. It makes my hair shiny and smooth and helps tame fly aways. I use it every time I wash, after my conditioner. I never want to be without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeatherDiva on 12/11/2013 6:32:00 PM more reviews by HeatherDiva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The smell is sickeningly synthetic and it lingers in your hair. That alone would cause me not to repurchase but odor aside, this just did not do anything for my hair. It didn't make it feel damaged or greasy, thankfully, but it also didn't improve it in any way. It just made my hair stink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lisa1 on 11/30/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by lisa1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Nah. I put it on dry hair and left it on for 20 minutes. The other way of using this is to shampoo, condition then put this on in the shower and wait 3 minutes. I've done that and it doesn't work. Anyway, so I left this on for 20 minutes, shampooed and conditioned. Dried my hair. Was expecting shine as promised on the box. Ya, not so much. There wasn't even the slightest sheen. My hair feels ticker and less frizzy and has more volume. But that's it. No shine. And it doesn't change hair color or seem to damage it. My hair just feels coated with something. No shine. I won't repurchase. Save your $12 and don't bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Desireec727 on 11/15/2013 12:48:00 PM more reviews by Desireec727

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I have been looking into this stuff for a long time now...for one reason or another, I just never tried it. Finally last weekend I was at my local rite aid and decided to pick it up. There's two ways to use this glaze and I used neither. I knew that putting it on dry hair and washing and conditioning afterwards would strip the glaze from african american, natural 3C hair, and I also knew that putting it on after washing and conditioning would leave my hair heavy and greasy, so I shampooed my hair like normal, but mixed the glaze with my conditioner and then applied. I left it on for about 10 minutes and then rinsed thoroughly...after I got out of the shower...I didn't notice that my hair was any shinier or silkier than it normally would be. But after blowdrying I could tell the difference. It was extremely shiny and had lots of slip...almost too much slip to the point where I could barely grip my hair with the brush. I flat ironed like normal and my hair came out great. Sleek, which is something that I normally cannot get, I can get straight, but rarely sleek. The smell wasn't that offensive to me...definitely old lady perfumey but not bad. The price was I believe $9.99 which isn't that bad considering a salon glaze can cost $80 for similar results. I have very long hair...down to my but so this bottle will probably only last me 3 glazes in total. But other than that I have no complaints at all. I will continue to use this glaze the same way I did every week when I wash my hair and apparently the results only get better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 6/2/2013 6:32:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had shine that lasted one day, and I didn't feel comfortable using this product several times a week. It does condition my hair well, makes it feel soft, fluffy, and rids it of all tangles. I'm unsure if I would repurchase it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hunnybunnyipm on 4/12/2013 11:40:00 AM more reviews by hunnybunnyipm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I keep forgetting I have this stuff, and then I remember, and then I'm so excited I have this stuff!

Doesn't sound very ringing, BUT, it's a great product. It takes some extra steps in the shower, and I'm always in a rush, so that's why I tend to forget about it. But after a week of bleh hair I dug this out, and it's so soft and shiny. Does not smell great, and you need to use a lot, but it's cheap, all things considered.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lavroxanna on 4/9/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by lavroxanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this completely disregarding the bad reviews I saw here, thinking that the buildup some people were getting in their hair was due to not rinsing out enough. I used this product a few times and rinsed out for a good 7-10 minutes. I STILL HAD BUILDUP and I had to clarify the next day. Just to be clear, this may work wonders for color-treated hair but my hair is already shiny, pretty healthy albeit a bit thin and I thought I had the right type of hair for this. Wrong! Just beware when you buy this product. I really wanted to love it but it was a huge disappointment and a hassle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair products