Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal

3.5

2767 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water - Aqua , Paraffin , Potassium Cetyl Phosphate , Beeswax - Cera Alba , Carnauba Wax - Cera Carnauba , Acacia Senegal Gum - Acacia Senegal , Glycerin , Cetyl Alcohol , Hydroxyethylcellulose , Sodium Polymethacrylate , Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil , Hydrogenated Palm Oil , Phenethyl Alcohol , Phenoxyethanol , Steareth-20 , PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone , Polyquaternium-10 , Silica , Soluble Collagen , Simethicone , Panthenol , Disodium EDTA , Iron Oxides - CI 77499 - CI 77492 - CI 77491 - May Contain , Titanium Dioxide - CI 77891 - May Contain , Ultramarines - CI 77007 - May Contain , Chromium Oxide Greens - CI 77288 - May Contain , Chromium Hydroxide Green - CI 77289 - May Contain , Manganese Violet - CI 77742 - May Contain , Ferric Ferrocyanide - CI 77510 - May Contain , Mica - May Contain


on 3/22/2015 1:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my second tube of this mascara. The first one I used was almost perfect. it volumises but also adds great lenght. Overall very good, although I'm not a fan of such a big wand.
My second tube of this mascara, a different story completely. It is very dry to the point that you can see small black particles under your eyes falling down and ruining your concelear after application. Very annoying.
In both cases, the mascara's life span is very short. It dries in a blink.



on 3/22/2015 12:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Yes this is a mascara I finally like. It seperates my eyelashes well enough and it thickens while putting on a second layer of mascara. Nice black intense colour.

This is a good everyday mascara and I'm sure I will remain using it, but if there's another good mascara on the market - this one will go.

Overall I would give this an 8/10. I just don't think it's my holy grail mascara.


on 3/20/2015 2:16:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My second fav mascara after CG's Lash Exact. I always buy the Glam Brown which is a brownish black color. This gave me volume and lots of it. It does clump a little at first, but I layered over with the Lash Exact to comb them out. It does get better when the mascara dried up a bit. Love the lilac smell too. Love the brush, not too fat and a wire spoolie!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2015 2:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is one of my favorite mascaras! Makes my lashes long, black and dramatic. The smell is lovely as well, smells like honey.


on 3/16/2015 11:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love this mascara, and don't understand the negative reviews. I mainly look for volume when I purchase a mascara, and this one has not disappointed me. The length is good as well. There has not been any smudging, fallout, clumping, or anything of that nasty stuff. I recently got a high end mascara (that was obviously fairly expensive) and I think this Maybelline one was far better. I bought my first tube of mascara when I was twelve years old, many years ago. I have come to realize that price doesn't always mean something is the best quality. Here is my relatively inexpensive Maybelline, and it just performs far better. In general, I think drugstore makeup has come a long way. I'm going to stick with what works for me, and this is it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It doesnt work for my Asian short, straight eyelashes very much
Not too much volume nor length
And worst of all, it doesnt hold the culr at all!!


on 3/12/2015 12:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

the mascara itselff is a pretty decent, average mascara. the wand shape is nice and gives good length and volume. however, the smell is so bad i could not stand to use it. would not buy again only becausr the smell is so horrible


on 3/7/2015 7:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my go to mascara. I buy it all the time and love it. For my lashes it definitely volumizes and lengthens. I've gotten asked many times if I was wearing false lashes or if those were my real lashes, and what mascara I was wearing. I do have long lashes but this mascara definitely takes them to another level and I love it!


on 3/7/2015 11:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have repurchased this so many times. I love it
It adds volume to every mascara i put on top of it!
I purchase the waterproof version bc it stays all day, although I wouldn't swim in it. Also, I don't have to tug to get it off which is a big plus
it doesn't clump on me at all.
very easy to find this on sale and use coupons to make it even cheaper

I put their illegal lengths mascara on first, then this on top and my lashes look soooo good. I've been doing that pair for YEARS and no other mascara has come close to the same look.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am a mascara floater, my lashes are naturally pretty long and thick so my usual way of purchasing a new mascara is to scoure the drugstore shelves for those on offer (I occasionally treat myself to a high end mascara).

About a year and a half ago I purchased Rimmels Scandaleyes Lycra Flex mascara and fell head over heels, I wouldn't touch any other mascara. A few months ago I ran out, frantically drove to Boots only to find it was out of stock, weird for a mascara I've never had trouble getting hold of, so I went to Superdrug, the same problem, and I think my worst fears are reality..I THINK ITS BEEN DISCONTINUED!

Ever since I've been on the hunt for something to come close to that mascara. Then I came across Maybelline Colossal and it was like rewinding back to my high school days! This was all the rave back in 2011/2012, everyone I knew used this mascara and we all loved it! My best friend still swears by this mascara and it was on a classic 3 for 2 offer so I thought why not?!

I love this mascara, partly because it reminds me of being back at school and the old, carefree me but mostly because it gives such amazing length and volume! I can now see why this mascara is still such a popular one!

Very black, easy to apply, very dramatic finish and overall such a great great mascara! Don't over apply though as this mascara can and will go clumpy if you apply too much!

Still not as breathtaking as my Rimmel Lycra Flex but it's a really great temporary replacement until I find my one and only and I'm really glad I repurchased this after such a long time of forgetting about it!


Back to Top