Rimmel • Colour Mousse 8hr Shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 2.8(27 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 sirenswin on 5/28/2012 7:14:00 AM more reviews by sirenswin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I bought this Black Pearl, and when I opened it the ingredients had separated into a liquid and pigments sitting at the bottom of the bottle. I shook it up and put it in the refrigerator and next morning the same consistency. Color would be beautiful but the product is really bad. Since I hear some people got good products I recommend you definitely ask the SA to let you open the product before you buy it. Shame, I would have given it a 0 if it was possible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LAMBaholic on 9/16/2011 6:31:00 PM more reviews by LAMBaholic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this! it has a gorgeous shimmer but is still sheer and suitable for day looks. also quite buildable. i have it in Glitz, which is a light bronzey brown. looks great as a base or by itself, and lasts all day. i'll definitely by buying more shades

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bululu on 7/5/2011 4:01:00 PM more reviews by bululu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

An excellent drugstore product that does what it says. It's quite creamy and I prefer to blend it with a brush rather than my fingers to achieve a sheer result. I tend to use it as a base and then apply powder eyeshadow on top. Get Fresh n6 is a beautiful shimmery peach, ideal for a bronzy summer look but there are other lovely shades to choose from, Sassy probably the best. It dries out quite quicky so never leave the lid off when applying. It last a good 8 hours without any primer but just a veil of foundation on my eyelids. Overall, truly good. Hopefully other shades to choose from for a smokey eye soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bevvix on 5/31/2011 1:39:00 PM more reviews by Bevvix

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this in Shade 001 Snow Queen. I have no idea what possesed me to by a non-blendable mousse shadow in a white colour but I did. I unfortunately have no use for this colour so I have wasted my money. In saying this, the quality is good and the shadow is long lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tashiegal on 5/28/2011 4:54:00 AM more reviews by tashiegal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So disappointed!

Even though I picked it up on sale, I was expecting it to be in great shape. It was runny and hard to apply and I felt like it was half empty. I'll keep it for lack of being able to return it and will try it as an eyeliner or highlighter but don't expect it to be a great eyeshadow.

I wouldn't buy it again or recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pendoline on 4/7/2011 12:06:00 PM more reviews by Pendoline

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Another brilliant drugstore find. I am surprised at some of the more negative reviews, as I cannot fault this product.

It is worth mentioning that I have extremely dry skin, so perhaps the consistency of this eyeshadow is better for my skin type.

I would describe these shadows as a creamy-mousse. They are very pigmented; a little goes a long way. They are also totally buildable, so if you want a more intense colour, you can apply more product without it caking or creasing.

These really do last for at least 8 hours. They are not waterproof, but they really will stay put until you remove them. These shadows last through intense workouts without being sweated off.

They do dry quickly, so you have to work quickly to blend them. However, they do blend beautifully.

The colours are absolutely beautiful. I started off with Sassy and Mocha, and bought a few more - something I rarely do, but I love these colours and the consistency really works for me.

The textures are all shimmery and metallic.

I think these are very similar to Laura Mercier's Metallic Creme Eye Colours. The Rimmel colour Glitz is a good dupe for the Laura Mercier Creme Eye Colour in Gold. When I swatched them, they looked identical, but on me the Rimmel lasts longer, and most importantly, it does not rub off on my crease - it just stays put.

As with any similarly-textured products (ie creams which set), you have to be careful with the packaging to avoid them drying out. Don't leave the lid off the product. So far none of mine have dried out.

An absolute bargain for a fiver - I would have paid 3x this amount for such a good product!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sasflipper on 2/15/2011 3:43:00 PM more reviews by sasflipper

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this is 008 Sassy which is a metalic soft brown colour. I've read complaints about the texture of the product not being a mousse and see what they mean. Its rather more dense than than a mousse, a bit gel-like and a bit paint pot like. That said, I quite like the texture and you need such a tiny amount for a really deep colour. If it doesn't dry out, it will last for ages. Make sure that lid is tight!

I apply it with a flat eyeshadow brush and it goes on easily, smoothly and doesn't budge all day. You need to move quickly though as it sets fast. It's great used with an angled brush as an eyeliner too.

It's a thumbs up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 irinahanu on 1/2/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by irinahanu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in 006 (Get Fresh!).
Bought a sample from ebay for 2.49GBP, 7ml/0.23fl.oz tube (the pot in the store has 5ml, so I got more for less, in a more hygienic container).
Get Fresh! is a metallic nude pink.Very pretty!I put photos with swatches and the tube.
I have very oily eyelids.
The first day I got it I put it on one eye alone and on one eye over UDPP.It stayed for over 8 hours on both eyes.I was really impressed.
But...The next day I used it alone on both eyes and after about 2-3 hours it creased...
I use it only over UDPP now and it stays for 7-8 hours without creasing or fading.
It is very metallic, it dries fast, and because of this it's not easy to blend.
I spread it with my fingers.Tried with some brushes but I didn't like how it looked.
I use it when I'm in a hurry.
Not impressed but for what I paid is great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pixieedust on 12/29/2010 7:13:00 AM more reviews by pixieedust

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in the shade 005 Glitz and I love it! At first I was kinda annoyed that it costed $13:50, as I was thinking its not like i'll use it every day but I have ben using it since I purchased it and I love it. The colour I got is very natural and when applyed with a fluffy eye shadow brush or simply blended out with my fingers it gives me a night light wash of shimmer, leaving a pearly finish. i love it soooooo much. it looks nice alone or as a base for other colours.. looks super in the corners of my eyes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mzlisaa on 12/6/2010 1:40:00 AM more reviews by Mzlisaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Guys how the hell do you apply this??? I got shade 001. Not a clue how to apply :( fades so quick

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Eye Shadow products