MAC • California Dreamin' • Lipstick

rated 4.4(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 DarkSideChic87 on 11/12/2011 5:27:00 PM more reviews by DarkSideChic87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a swap a while back. This is my absolute FAVORITE lipstick. It's the perfect pinky/nude shade for my lips. So sad that it was limited edition. I would buy a million of these if they brought them back LOL.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 9/13/2011 4:00:00 AM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a nude lippie junkie, so when i first received this, I had high hopes based on how it looked in the tube. This lipstick though, was a total letdown. I find MAC lustre lipsticks to be incredibly hit or miss. Pigmentation on the lustres are all over the place, and this one definitely has little to no pigment on my lips. Even with a primer, this is incredibly unimpressive on my NC40/42 skintone. It appears like a perfect pinky/nude in the tube, however upon application, I get mostly shine/gloss with very little if any color. Thankfully, I didn't shell out money for this and was able to swap for it. This one is definitely bound for the swap list. Not worth the hype, or the ridiculous $ it goes for on ebay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yessisbfc on 6/20/2011 2:49:00 PM more reviews by yessisbfc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just got this in a swap and I'm in love with it! It really is the perfect colour for my lips. It creates an 'I've made an effort, but not too much effort' look. It's quite natural and sophisticated rather than a bold bright lipstick statement. I'd definitely have to get another one of these if I could!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PenelopePitstopKYD on 2/25/2011 5:43:00 PM more reviews by PenelopePitstopKYD

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a very tan (i.e. Revlon in Rich Tan or HD Ginger) and this color is awesome on my for a neutral pink moisturized look. This is a color that you can wear alone, with or without liner and gloss. Or glam it up and wear all three for a gorgeous lip!

I was fortunate enough for one of my friends to give this to me because she's a red head and doesn't like the way pinks look on her. Well, I love the way pinks look on me and am glad to have California Dreamin', especially since I was born, raised and still live in Cali! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sheng315 on 6/15/2010 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Sheng315

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this as a sheer gloss type, but as far as lipstick and color payoff not so much. But it is a nice color when swatched though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 izzeee on 4/18/2010 7:58:00 PM more reviews by izzeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

California Dreamin' is a fun and easy color to wear on any occasion. It doesn't stand out too much, but neither is it nude. It glides on smoothly, too! I am just happy to get it for free during the giveaway couple years back.

I am sad to hear that this is a discontinue product since this lipstick is a very safe color and product in general. If it was out in the market I would repurchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunfish211 on 3/3/2010 5:50:00 PM more reviews by sunfish211

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok ladies...the hype was just too much for me so I finally caved & found a way to get my hands on one. I was a little disappointed b/c it reminded me so much of Creme Cup. I heard it's a near dupe of Snob & Angel. BUT I think the name alone makes you WANT & NEED this one. LOL Add a little gloss to this shade & it is a very pretty color. Here's another one to add to my ever growing MAC collection, folks!!

(For reference, I'm an NC25/C3 with yellow undertones)

*NOTE: The closest shade I have found to this is MAC's Lazy Day (To the Beach). I compared the two side by side & both of them are very close. Too bad both are L/E's. :(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skylinejewel on 1/12/2010 1:45:00 AM more reviews by skylinejewel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this a lot. If you like noticeable color, this probably isn't the one for you. This is for the "I wear a lot of makeup but try to pretend I'm not wearing anything" people. This color is nice enough that you can wear alone, but for a lil extra oomph you should try it with a clear gloss over ... or a clear lip plumper just in the middle of the lips for a super seductive look. I always get a lot of compliments whenever I wear this. I like this so much that I want to use it everyday but am reluctant to because I heard they no longer carry these ...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indahlovesmakeup on 12/24/2009 2:44:00 PM more reviews by indahlovesmakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm in love with this lipstick! It's a nice nude pink colour, and it glides very smoothly as well. I'd definitely repurchase but since it's discontinued, some people sells this and charging waaay to high for this lippie, but it's worth it though. I still haven't used all of them but I already think of buying another one for a backup :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* medicredfearn on 10/16/2009 10:33:00 PM more reviews by medicredfearn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of those lippies I had to have because I grew up in CA. I honestly did not think it would look ok on me. I'm NC40 and alone this lippie makes me look like death! Too pale for me. But after experimenting with different glosses, I realized that I could get a really good nude look with this! It works with Local Colour Dazzleglass, Boy Bait Cremesheen Glass and Eurobeat and Smile Dazzleglasses.


Don't know if it's worth hunting down or not, I think it's quite ridiculous to charge so much for it when it was a free item. But then again I myself swapped away quite a bit to get my grubby little hands on one. I can however say that like most MAC lipsticks, I do love the lustre formula. It's sheer yet buildable, smells nice and wears for a while without needing a touch up. I hear it's dupeable, but the fact is I don't use colors like this often enough to warrant needing to find something similar or a backup. Here's a pic of it when I first got it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products