Caudalie • Beauty Elixir • Toners

rated 3.5(199 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 wenyuzhang88 on 10/10/2014 1:53:00 AM more reviews by wenyuzhang88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I like having a small bottle of this in my purse to rehydrate during the day. There really isn't a lot to say about facial sprays like this because they're all just window dressing anyways, but the one thing that I distinctly dislike about this product is its alcohol content. When I get it anywhere near my eye area (and when I say near I mean as far as the brow and the cheek bones), it burns my eyes.

I'm sure there are gentler products elsewhere that does a similar job and doesn't involve alcohol. Will not repurchase and do not recommend.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 organicmakeupjunkie on 9/11/2014 5:18:00 PM more reviews by organicmakeupjunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm calling B.S. on this Caudalie elixir! The first time I sprayed it, my kids were saying, "Ewww mom, what's that smell?? Meanwhile I was not so quietly saying, "Oh, dear Lord, it burns!!" because even though my eyes were closed when I gave that first, minty, herbal infused spritz, it somehow found it's way into my right eyeball. Unfortunately, I also found it smelled highly of alcohol, of which, I'm not a fan, and can consequently it can actually speed up the ageing "look" aspect of your skin. The alcohol in this product is a main ingredient. I can say, it's definitely all hype. Yes, I'm sure that some of the herbs used in the elixir might even be good for your skin, but it's all but destroyed by the sheer amount of alcohol used in this (and by the smell of it, I'd say it's a good amount). As for the smell, looking past the alcohol, it's got some heavier notes of whatever I imagine what 90 year old woman's house smells like. No offense to 90 year old women, but I'll be giving this a polite no thanks in my beauty regimen.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunshinechemist on 8/17/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by sunshinechemist

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for a while now. Not as a toner, because I see no need for toners. I use this as a skin refresher and finishing spray for makeup. I really like the scent now, when I first was using it I didn't love the scent. As for all the comments that use Paula's draconian "rules" as gospel, I simply think that her rules are extreme. That's like a doctor saying all alcohol (drinking) is bad because it dilates blood vessels. There are still benefits to drinking red wine, and I'm sure that many people still enjoy drinking beer or even sugary mixed drinks with much fewer health benefits. I won't even start on the fact that she makes her own products now, which makes her rules even more suspect. In conclusion, I enjoyed spraying the beauty elixir on my face a couple times a day. Do I know if it's "doing" something? Yes, it's making me enjoy my face more often (which is more than I can say for cetaphil or eurecin or any of the other derm pushed brands.) JMHO.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LazyLittleLady on 8/13/2014 12:26:00 PM more reviews by LazyLittleLady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I can't quite figure out what this product does. I use it mainly as a finishing spray but I'm not sure it actually does anything. If anything I think all the alcohol is making my face greasy by the afternoon. It smells very interesting and herbal...lots of rosemary and greens. It is a bit refreshing to spray on in the summer but I don't think its worth the money. I would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ghostwerld on 8/3/2014 5:23:00 AM more reviews by Ghostwerld

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is not for anyone with dry skin. TBH, alcohol in any toner is not for ANYONE'S skin, regardless of oiliness or dryness. This stuff probably does more damage than it does help.

Toners can be good, though this is like spraying methylated spirits on your face and expecting it to be good for you.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 7/22/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Despite the fact that I'm almost finished with my second bottle of this, I was fairly skeptical about this product until very recently because I just didn't use it frequently enough to be able to see any results. However, I have been traveling recently and using this almost daily as a skin refreher after walking in the summer heat for a several hours. In addition to the cooling menthol and herbal scent that I *love*, I am actually seeing changes in my skin, especially since this is the only product that I have been using differently in my routine. While it doesn't clear up my skin or help heal any acne that I have, my skin does always look more refreshed and glowy after using this product regularly. I also just notice my skin looking healthier and brighter. The only reason I didn't rate this as 5 stars is because I do think it's expensive in the US. Although I reluctantly pay it, I always try to buy a bottle when I go to Paris and can stop by city pharmacy. I pay about 6,50 Euros there (less than $10), rather than the $18 for the smaller bottle in the US. I never have enough room in my luggage to stock up on multiple bottles, but I definitely would if it were possible. However, all in all this product has worked well on my skin, depite the alcohol content that some people are so wary of.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 7/22/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is a joke! Alcohol , rosemary, bitter orange,menthol,etc! What the! Are far as irritants go it doesn't get much worse.Alcohol at this level will ruin skin.Even of you can't see or feel the damage it IS happening under the skin's surface.This "beauty" elixir toner or whatever you want to call it will do you more harm than good. Please trust me .This is not skin care!!AVOID!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StupidUserNames on 7/22/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is great I LOVE how this smells it smells exactly like what I imagine herb infused water would smell like I feel like this is refreshing and cooling and to be honest not irritating at all because I've had contact dermatitis since I was a kid and many things give me rashes and this has never done anything but calm and soothe my acne and mosquito bites too so to everyone that's misinformed and obviously reads Paula Begouns biased website you're all WRONG!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 striving on 6/20/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by striving

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this beauty water and it is my morning toner of choice in the summer (Its to drying for the winter).

The glass spray bottle provides a fine mist over the face and you are immediately met with refreshing minty herbal scent. I personally love the smell, but it appears to be marmite with people either loving or hating it. Once the mist hits the face you are immediately left with an icy cool sensation which is lovely for hot summer mornings and combined with the scent certainly helps wake me up.

My skin is left with a glow, which probably comes form the oils held in the beauty water, I have noticed a smoothing of lines and shrinking of pores too but I'm not sure if that's 100% because of this product or due to an serum I have recently started using.

On the flipside this product does contain alcohol so I would never use it in the evenings, or in the winter when my skin is more dehydrated/dry.

Overall love it! And would recommend for anyone with oily skin for the summer months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hanouna on 5/29/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by Hanouna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was excited to try this, since it's kind of a cult favorite product. I received it in a Caudalie favorites set. I use it in the mornings after I cleanse my face (before moisturizing) as a toner/refresher spray. I love the herbal/minty scent and the scent and cooling mist does a good job of "waking me up". However, I don't think this product does much more than that. I've seen no benefits to my skin and I would rather use a regular toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Caudalie products

More Toners products